We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We loved this hotel, everyone was friendly and helpful. Did not realize we had paid for dinner, but so glad we did. The food was great and service was perfect. Love this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thornhillontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 797 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

Arrival by car was a breeze. Parking is available for a fee. Lucky for us we received an upgrade to a beautiful room with a view of the sea. Our room and bath were renovated and immaculate. The tall windows allowed maximum light & a splendid view. Breakfast was excellent with many choices. The capuchino was delicious. Massimo, at the front desk was extremely helpful with directions to our next destination. The hotel is close to boat & bus to Portofino. We enjoyed the outside patio area and relaxed in their comfortable lounge chairs. It's obvious this privately owned hotel is well kept. The flowers and grounds are charming.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gram E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I have just returned to Australia from europe where we spent a couple of days at the metropole. We fell in love with the region and we had much to compare it against as we had travelled almost all the major coastal attractions and towns around Italy and this was our final untouched region. The service was amazing and the enthusiasm totally contagious from Alice, Antonio and Anna as they shared their knowledge of their region to us. I spent a lot of time researching for the best possible accommodation experience and was not disappointed with our choice. The rooms were typical European size and atmosphere but the views made up for everything. As we were there a little too soon for the swimming and sun loving we were unable to fully take advantage of everything the hotel can offer.but having said that we had a good look around and decided that if we were to return in summer, we would definitely come back because of what the hotel offers. Our rAte included breakfast and dinner and we were also pleasantly surprised as it was our only silver service under chandeliers and bow tied waiters. The food was exceptional and the wines incredibly affordable. We will come again. Thank you Metropole

Room Tip: Happy with room with view. Look at meal and room rates. We're good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo1891964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed here just one night, but loved it. They were very friendly and accomodating. This is located a bit up the hill and away from most of the other hotels but everything is very close in this little town. Easy to find from the train station, many great restaurants nearby, and a great value for the money. This felt like a higher star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

As part of a tour group, we were given a room on 2nd floor with a large bedroom and a very large patio (incl chairs, table, and 2 lounges). The room itself was fairly noisy, both from inside hotel and out, and the bed was very hard for us, but was otherwise clean and had plenty of closet space. A/C worked well. Hotel has a small pool (closed even at end of April), a lovely small garden area that is well-maintained, and a large stone 'patio' on the water with plenty of lounge chairs. Location is great for the 200m walk to center of town and harbor.
While we found the room only average, the restaurant was terrific (4+ stars for us), from the great buffet breakfast to the great dinners - with impeccable service, well presented and prepared food, and nice décor.

Room Tip: Try for higher floor away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed in this hotel l in may 2014 and the location is amazing. Make sure you ask for a water view and easy parking if you have a car. easy stroll into the town. It has a wonderful water front area where you can sunbathe and have lunch and the breakfast is one of the best we have had with waiters in their long jackets and on the verandah. Highly recommend this hotel and santa margherita in general

Room Tip: choose a room with a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damianc641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

When we told friends we were planning to travel around Italy for our honeymoon, everyone told us we had to visit Cinque Terra. And to stay in the romantic, coastal town of Santa Margherita. And they were right! A travel agent suggested Hotel Metropole and it was a great suggestion. It is a larger hotel, a block from the train station, and up the hill from the main part of town. We had a room on the first floor facing the ocean and it was a beautiful view! The room was great, nice size bedroom and bathroom. No complaints about the service, the staff was really nice, very friendly and helpful with suggestions. The free breakfast was a beautiful spread of food as well! It was a little chilly, so the pool wasn’t open yet. But people were lying on the beach in the back. We took the train out to Cinque Terra and it was very easy. About an hour to the first village, and you can easily visit all 5 from there. The hotel staff was great in helping with train times. My only complaint was the Spa. I booked massages for my husband and I, but they couldn’t accommodate a couple’s massage in the same room. So we had them separate. They were ok, not great. We didn’t know the masseuses wanted cash from us to pay. It was 120 Euro and we just didn’t have that on us. So we had to argue with them and they finally let us charge the massages as part of our hotel bill. The staff should tell their guests the spa is cash only. Otherwise, I highly recommend Hotel Metropole!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view, it's beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margherita Ligure
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
916 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperiale Palace Hotel
Imperiale Palace Hotel
#8 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
354 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole

Address: Via Pagana 2, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range: $122 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel dating from 1900 with modern amenities; situated in a serene garden setting with private beach, facing the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Santa Margherita Ligure
Metropole Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing