We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Metropole
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The staff here were so helpful and friendly. It's located within 3 minutes walk from the train station and has a private beach and pool, and beautiful gardens. The breakfast spread is very good - lots of fruit, pasties, bread, cold meats, cheese, etc. rooms are well appointed, very clean and large. The bathrooms are also big and the water pressure is good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taylime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    243
    59
    18
    7
See reviews for
130
387
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here in August 2013. We loved SML it was absolutely beautiful and the perfect way to spend as many nights as you can spare.

We had trained from Roma and planned to return to Cinque Terre for a day trip, but SML was simply too good. We did manage to drag ourselves away from the sun lounge area for some fantastic food in the centre of town and a boat trip to Portofino, which was very worthwhile.

The Metropole however was ok, but overpriced. I know it is the Italian Riviera and expected to pay a premium, but the rooms were dated and the service stale. I am not sure whether the staff are trained to prioritise the older guests who come back from Milan every year. However, I can say that as two young Australian travellers we felt that we were in a time warp and noone was to eager to assist with recommendations, bookings and general pleasantries.

The positives are definitely the swimming area and the breakfast. The pool is also immaculate.

I suspect that a lot of the accommodation in SML is targeted toward an older audience, but it is no excuse for average service. We are all paying the same amount for the same rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBuddies13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have just returned from a two week stay at the Metropole and I begin by saying what a lovely well run hotel it is. Santa Margherita seems blessed with a number of similar hotels, all seemingly good, but to enjoy the experience you need to discriminate.
Santa Margherita sits on the road that leads to Portofino, a such it is immensely busy in high season at all times of day and night. The road runs behind and then alongside the hotel property and if you have a room in the main building it means that with the doors open there is constant traffic noise, the same if you sit by the swimming pool. That being said the double glazed doors in the bedroom eliminated nearly al the sound.
There again nearly every other hotel in Santa Margherita has the same problem.
The standard of housekeeping is exceptional, the swimming pool area is outstandingly clean.
When we first arrived we were put in a third floor room opposite the lift, I m afraid it was tiny and there was no way we would manage two weeks in this.
We asked to move and we were moved, one floor down to a room 50 per cent larger. These are their normal size rooms.
The standard of waiting staff whether at breakfast, down by the beach at lunch or in the main restaurant in the evening was very good. Friendly, helpful service, the food was generally good albeit one or two lapses. we wish they would have served the evening meal on the outside terrace, the indoor dining room is limited, whereas the terrace would have been perfect.
The hotel grounds are immaculate as was the beachfront area.
The hotel is a 10 minute downhill walk into town, while it s convenient for the station it is a steep walk uphill from the Hotel.
Our overall conclusions are that it is an ideal hotel for a 3 to 5 day break but any longer and it becomes limited. That being said we were very pleasantly surprised by our bill at the end of the stay.
Things to Beware, local taxis are hugely expensive and seem to operate a minimum 20 Euro fair even to go one mile, taxi fare from Genoa Airport is 100 Euros which is about the same as we would expect to pay in South of France for an equivalent journey.

Room Tip: avoid hotels in man building opposite the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enmac53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skaneateles,NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location, small but very adequate rooms, helpful staff, very good break fast
Pool and sea access were a plus
We stayed for two nights and left from the nearby train statio fo cinque terra only one hour by train

Room Tip: Room 120 at end of hall was bigger with a pleasant terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elad3444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We had the good fortune to stay in the metropole, all I can say is wonderful breakfasts, possibly the best continental breakfast you will get, very friendly staff, and the perfect location for a hotel in Santa. I only took a star away because you have to pay extra for a sun bed.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Several friends from home recommended this hotel, and I am sure glad they did. We had a quiet, upper floor room with a balcony overlooking the sea. It's location is very convenient to the train station. The staff are very knowledgeable with planning day trips. We stayed here 3 nights, and this was our base for exploring not only Santa Margherita by foot, but also a couple of day trips, one to Portofino, and one to Cinque Terre. Of these 3 excursions, Cinque Terre was my least favorite, but that is because I am not a big fan of hiking. The ferry rides were all a blast though. The on-site restaurant offers a delicious breakfast buffet, with the room rate. The wait staff are very professional and attentive. We did not have time to lay out on the little beach area but if the weather and water is warm when you go, this is another bonus for staying at this hotel. Thanks, Kathie F., Austin, TX.

Room Tip: A room facing the sea is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hotel location was near the railway station and not far from the town centre. Hotel staff at the reception and restaurant were polite and friendly.
The view from our room was very nice. Photo attached.
The sun beds on the hotel's sea front had to be paid for, a flat fee for the whole day. One towel was free, extra towels had also to be paid for. Deck chair and one towel were complimentary. We did not use the Fitness and Wellness services. Open space parking was available inside the hotel grounds but again had to be paid for on a daily basis. Cots for children cost extra again.
Wifi had a weak signal in our room and could not be used most of the time. The signal in the lobby was acceptable but again was not very strong.
The pool was fairly small and more for cooling down, not swimming. The water was salty. It was more suited to children. The young pool attendant seemed bored and rude.
Buffet breakfast was quite good baring the choice of bread which is usually very dull in Italian hotels. The fresh fruits were very tasty.
Our double room was fairly large with a small balcony and a very pleasant sea view. It was quiet with air conditioning, telephone, TV, trouser press, safe, minibar, sofa, writing desk and slippers. It was clean as were the bed linen.
Bathroom was of good size and looked new and fresh. It had a bath tub and bidet. There was a telephone extension, hair dryer and make up mirror. Towels were clean and changed upon request. Adequate soap, shampoo/body gel were provided.
Metropole hotel is fairly good but may be a little pricy when little extra charges are all added up.
Imperiale Palace which is a next door hotel seemed very nice and classy. We had dinner there and the food and atmosphere were very pleasant. It should be much more expensive than Metropole hotel. Photo attached of the view from its terrace.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea have a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahvazi028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole

Property: Metropole
Address: Via Pagana 2, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel dating from 1900 with modern amenities; situated in a serene garden setting with private beach, facing the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Santa Margherita Ligure
Metropole Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing