We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best Resort Hotels In Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropole
Certificate of Excellence
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the Best Resort Hotels In Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Having spent 2 weeks in Italy, My wife and I decided to spend our last night in a Luxury Hotel.
As we were travelling by Motorbike, we were not the smartest of potential guests, but were greeting with coutesy and a reasonable room rate compared to the other local 4 star Hotels
Our room was excellent, and was on the sea side of the building, a pleasant outlook, well air-conditioned, and contained all the extras that could reasonably be expected from a 4 star Hotel
The Sea Pool, Swimming Pool and Spa were well maintained, clean, and fully staffed, and were run to a very high standard, the extra charge for a sunbed was a little unneccerssary, but deck chairs, changing facilities and towels at the Beachside area were all free and in very good condition. The sea swimming was very good indeed, so much so that I revisited that facility at 07-30 before breakfasting, and the lifeguards were already on duty and preparing for the day.
Food and Service in the Restaurant Very good indeed for both Dinner and Breakfast, go for the half board package, it is by far the chaepest way to stay in this Hotel.
Customer service and general attention to detail was exceptional, a five star recommendation without hesitation. Price is high, but you do receive value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duncanmoffatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    248
    59
    18
    7
See reviews for
133
400
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Lovely rooms w/. patio/balcony on beach. Great breakfast buffet on patio w/ spa and pool. Close to train, buss, downtown. Can't wait to go back. Service was exceptional.

Room Tip: Go ahead and get the nicer room w/ patio - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbe570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

The wife and I spent 4 nights last spring and enjoyed our stay.
We arrived by train and asked a cab driver how far the hotel was and he said about 10 minutes but it was really a short walk down the hill from the train station.We walked.
The hotel is a well managed classic European hotel with an excellent location that puts on a good feed for breakfast,has a gym and is right on the Med with very nice gardens.
There is a bus stop right outside and you can walk to town in a skip and a jump away.
The owners and staff were nice and helpful and the off season price was fair.
We surely would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zermatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Booked after reviews in tripadvisor & wasn't disappointed. 5 mins stroll into centre, 5 mins the other way to the train. Huge garden room given as we had 2 kids, which meant having our own 15ft x 15ft garden to ourselves- not secluded, but a very welcome addition. Spotless hotel, with great bathroom amenities, slippers, robes etc, beds sadly rather hard, but 2 enormous bedrooms, with electric shutters to block out any noise. Breakfast was a huge buffet- the warm choc croissants were to die for. Lovely pool & a great spot right on the beach. Car was returned to us with a huge scratch on the side, but we were too late for our flight to " discuss this". Very attentive staff, and although a little dear considering we spent all of our time in SML, portofino and the cinque terre- we would definitely use this hotel again if we returned.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireMrsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

It may be old but this is a hotel in a very good position with views over the harbor. Its a five minute walk down to the centre and the same to the ferries, but being out of the noise was welcome. Our spacious room was in the annex and fronted the public swimming area. Noisy during the day but quiet at night. Food was Ok but not memorable. I'd recommend it for the position.

Room Tip: Get a front room so you'll enjoy the views. The back rooms are on the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby21Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
162 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

This hotel was fantastic, very old fashioned decor (in a good way - nice tall ceilings, tall window shutters etc). The hotel itself was in a great location right on the waterfront with fantastic views straight across the harbour. It was an amazing view first thing in the morning. Parking was a little cramped but manageable with great breakfast choices and really helpful staff.

I would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly re-book if we were to ever go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Carlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geelong
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

Great position max 5 min walk to train station, to town and to the beach , lovely rooms and great breaky in great location
Very very happy with our stay here

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#11 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole

Property: Metropole
Address: Via Pagana 2, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel dating from 1900 with modern amenities; situated in a serene garden setting with private beach, facing the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Santa Margherita Ligure
Metropole Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing