We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Deco hotel in town centre”
Review of Hotel Jolanda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Jolanda
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Art Deco hotel in town centre”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a 1920s-1930s Art Deco hotel. I found the décor overpowering, but my wife liked it. To judge for yourself, look at the visitors' pictures on this site. Good beds in a smallish room (but rooms are small in Italy) and good bathroom. Breakfast was sometimes rather crowded indoors, due to cooler weather, but the restaurant had closed (for the winter? - nobody explained). Breakfast was orientated for North Americans, with much sweet food - not typically Italian. Not far from the promenade, but the location is noisy from passing traffic all day long, though not apparently at night. Well used by groups. Hotel organised transport from Genoa, which was excellent. Good in may ways, but somewhat disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertfromDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    184
    50
    12
    2
See reviews for
75
181
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maltby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Hotel as good as I remembered went 15yrs ago it was clean staff and service very good. Breakfast was good it is the only place I have ever been to that has crouisents with jam in the middle and that is why we went back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is in an ideal location and has a very helpful staff. However, don't get a bedroom facing the street.....it is very loud. And the water pressure in our shower was down to a trickle. Breakfast is good without being special. Since this hotel is a bit larger than some of the others you may run into a tour group on your stay. Rooms were clean and overall a good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with friends. A small hotel and rooms varied within the same price range. Staff were helpful at all times. Breakfast was fantastic, especially as it was included in room rate.
We found a fabulous bar to have an evening drink, just near the old castle tower on the beach front road. Best bar in town with only a few seats but an unbelievable view and great service.
The only disappointment was our friends were robbed by gypsies as they boarded a train.easy walk to the hotel from the station, don't pay the €15 taxi fare. We left at 7am and had to pay €20 because it was early morning, even though the driver was not on time, 10 minutes late in fact!
Despite that, we would definitely recommend a stay at Hotel Jolanda.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor would be noisy so choose one at least on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneG546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We took a short holiday at the Jolanda in September. it was a Frantour arrangement and very good value. Its a very pretty hotel - the room itself was fine but was on the ground floor overlooking the street at a busy and noisy junction - so I would definitely ask for a room in a quieter part another time. Santa Margherita is lovely - one day we took the train to the Cinque Terra which was rather a way by train - about an hour, then walked between Vernazza and Corniglia (steep steps but stunning views!) which took us 2 hours, then on to Manarola by train. We decided that another time we would do the villages by boat - waiting sometimes 3/4 hour to get to the next village by train in the heat in the small train stations is not much fun! Only Corniglia cannot be reached by boat. The villages are very pretty but we were pleased to get back to Santa Margherita. That evening we had supper in the hotel and the food was good and not expensive.
The hotel staff were all extremely helpful and pleasant.
Breakfast outside on the beautiful terrace was a treat.
The train station is a 10 minute walk from the hotel.
A boat trip to Portofino was lovely and lots to visit there.
I wouldn't hesitate to return if I could get a quieter room.
All in all it was a beautiful trip. Thanks Jolanda!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank readytogoSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel is located less than 10 minutes' walk from the train station (downhill). Don't bother taking a taxi as it is not worth it (€12-€15), and the hotel is well signposted and easy to find. The hotel is very close to numerous restaurants and bars, and the sea is only a few minutes walk away too! Great location for exploring the town. All the staff are very friendly, and speak English. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but noting special. Breakfast is a decent European continental breakfast, and will certainly set you up for the day.
We were under the impression that Santa Margherita is a good location for exploring the Cinque Terre (CT), but it is actually over an hour away by train to Monterosso (the nearest CT village), so if your objective is to visit the CT, then I'd recommend you stay a little closer. But Santa Margherita itself is a lovely town, and there is plenty to do in the immediate area, so if that's your plan, then the Hotel Jolanda is a great choice and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barryjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hotel Jolanda reminds one of days gone by. Santa Margherita is a small town and the best way to get to the hotel from the train station is by taxi. If you have any kind of luggage at all, I recommend you take the taxi. The rate is fixed - €15 and it is hardly a five minute ride. Most streets seem to be going up or down! It is an interesting walk but not with a piece of luggage. The taxi drivers are extremely fastidious; if you get too close to the car (often a Benz) they are afraid you will scratch it.

Our room was of nice size. But the gold colored fixtures were a bit gaudy. The bathroom is of a decent size but we had real problems with the shower. It is a 2 feet square prefab stall and two doors open half way from the corner. But it is difficult to walk into the shower and you have to kind of slide in. Once inside it is difficult to turn inside. A bottle of water is provided free each night and additional bottles are charged (probably €5). The Sun poured into our room in the afternoon and the only way to keep out the light and heat is to use the metal shutters (which we found in almost every building). One of the staff showed us how to operate it and you should practice it! Our mattress was a bit soft but not uncomfortable.

The breakfast is one of the best with fresh fruit, eggs prepared according to your desire, bread, croissants, yoghurt, juices etc. Although one or two receptionists did not seem to be all that attentive, overall the service is very good. They recommended some nice restaurants, interesting walks etc., all of which we enjoyed.

Santa Margherita is close to Cinque Terre by train. One can leave in the morning and come back by the evening. After seeing the tourist crowds at Cinque Terre it seemed to us that Santa Margherita is the ideal play to stay and visit the villages. Santa Margherita is a quaint little town, with lovely parks, the ocean view, nice restaurants and evening concerts. And one can easily spend a week or more there.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Hotel Jolanda and definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pksubramanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Regina Elena
Best Western Regina Elena
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tigullio et de Milan
Hotel Tigullio et de Milan
#14 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jolanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jolanda

Property: Hotel Jolanda
Address: Via Luisito Costa 6, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jolanda 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Jolanda is an enchanting three star hotel located just minutes from the beach in Santa Margherita, near the port of Genova on Italy's northwestern coast, which is often referred to as "The Italian Riviera" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Jolanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolanda Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing