We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Jolanda
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Tigullio et de Milan(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Annabella(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
Hotel Sant'Andrea(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Albergo Fasce(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lido Palace Hotel(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Vela Hotel(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Helios(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Laurin(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Blu di Te(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveler rating
174
210
62
12
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
210
62
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationstay there againwrap around balconysized roomthree starwonderful townearly septembershops restaurantslovely hotelreception staffsea frontstar hotelnice balconygood sizeair conditioningexcellent locationper day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 460 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel is located less than 10 minutes' walk from the train station (downhill). Don't bother taking a taxi as it is not worth it (€12-€15), and the hotel is well signposted and easy to find. The hotel is very close to numerous restaurants and bars, and the sea is only a few minutes walk away too! Great location for exploring the town. All the staff are very friendly, and speak English. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but noting special. Breakfast is a decent European continental breakfast, and will certainly set you up for the day.
We were under the impression that Santa Margherita is a good location for exploring the Cinque Terre (CT), but it is actually over an hour away by train to Monterosso (the nearest CT village), so if your objective is to visit the CT, then I'd recommend you stay a little closer. But Santa Margherita itself is a lovely town, and there is plenty to do in the immediate area, so if that's your plan, then the Hotel Jolanda is a great choice and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barryjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hotel Jolanda reminds one of days gone by. Santa Margherita is a small town and the best way to get to the hotel from the train station is by taxi. If you have any kind of luggage at all, I recommend you take the taxi. The rate is fixed - €15 and it is hardly a five minute ride. Most streets seem to be going up or down! It is an interesting walk but not with a piece of luggage. The taxi drivers are extremely fastidious; if you get too close to the car (often a Benz) they are afraid you will scratch it.

Our room was of nice size. But the gold colored fixtures were a bit gaudy. The bathroom is of a decent size but we had real problems with the shower. It is a 2 feet square prefab stall and two doors open half way from the corner. But it is difficult to walk into the shower and you have to kind of slide in. Once inside it is difficult to turn inside. A bottle of water is provided free each night and additional bottles are charged (probably €5). The Sun poured into our room in the afternoon and the only way to keep out the light and heat is to use the metal shutters (which we found in almost every building). One of the staff showed us how to operate it and you should practice it! Our mattress was a bit soft but not uncomfortable.

The breakfast is one of the best with fresh fruit, eggs prepared according to your desire, bread, croissants, yoghurt, juices etc. Although one or two receptionists did not seem to be all that attentive, overall the service is very good. They recommended some nice restaurants, interesting walks etc., all of which we enjoyed.

Santa Margherita is close to Cinque Terre by train. One can leave in the morning and come back by the evening. After seeing the tourist crowds at Cinque Terre it seemed to us that Santa Margherita is the ideal play to stay and visit the villages. Santa Margherita is a quaint little town, with lovely parks, the ocean view, nice restaurants and evening concerts. And one can easily spend a week or more there.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Hotel Jolanda and definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pksubramanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

If you have one carry-on or no luggage, Hotel Jolanda is a short walk from the train station. Otherwise, treat yourself to a 15-Euro taxicab ride. Enter the hotel to a beautifully decorated lobby, helpful concierge, and small but welcomed elevator. It’s a great place to stay as you experience this luxurious eastern Italian seaside resort.

The comfort double with balcony is more than adequate with a very nice bathroom. If you want extra space to spread out, a superior double is the answer with a sitting room and small walk-in closet. Beds are comfortable and showers great. Enjoy the full-complimentary breakfast buffet, including special desserts and cappuccino, on the quaint outside courtyard. The waiters are dressed to a "T" and gladly serve your requests.

Hotel Jolanda is conveniently located a block away from the main street that’s lined with pizzerias, fruit stands, restaurants, gelato bars, pastry shops and stores. It leads to the center of town about 150 meters from the hotel. If plans include train rides to other cities, stop at the local travel agency to purchase tickets and avoid the lines. It’s well worth the 3-Euro service fee.

The center of town meets the Gulf of Tigullo at the sandy-pebbly beach and grassy park, where you may hear live music flowing on weekend evenings. It’s also the spot where you can take a crowded 20-minute bus-ride on the narrow Cornich road to Portofino. Don’t listen to anyone who tells you it’s in walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Well, this may be our 6th visit to the town and 4th stay.... Still will recommend the place. This time, we took a junior suite as we only have 1 of our kids with us. I would totally recommend the upgrade if space and location is an issue for family.
There's a very nice balcony for evening after dinner drink, we had the room on the 4th floor. Reception was great and follow up was good via email. I had to cancel 1 room because 1 of our kids couldnt make it and instead ask for an extra bed. Reply was prompt and clear. Location is good. Very near to train station and good restaurants.
There are 2 exceptions, shower room is abit small, and the head waiter was rather unpleasant for a mistake I made during breakfast. I place the croissant into the toaster and he came up to me rather rude and ask. I apologized though the croissant went thru the toaster without and issue but he was slamming the plates and cutleries when I was walking away. Maybe I should not have apologize if he is so petty to vent his temper that way..... So anyone who wants to take the dinner package beware, don't make any mistake to cross this guy.....you will recognize him immediately....

Otherwise no complains and will totally recommend families with kids. However 1 drawback with the junior suite, wifi is nearly non-existent in the room.

Room Tip: If preference is for space, take the bigger rooms and higher floor especially corner rooms. For family with Travelling with 1 teenager, it's better to take the bigger room than a double and single for space and location wise.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Jolanda for 3 days for my best friend's wedding in Portofino. The concierge was very resourceful and helpful. My bag didn't arrive on time and they took care of repeatedly calling the airport to ensure my bag got to the Hotel at time for the wedding. The rooms are small, neat and very European. Hotel provides breakfast every morning and both the food and the service are very good. My only criticism is that the WiF Internet is very slow and sloppy, but come on, you don't go to Europe to sit in your room surfing the web. Strongly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suits are large and have a nice urban view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abrito2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews