We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Jolanda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Jolanda
Certificate of Excellence
Rennes, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very nice hotel and a great location for visiting the town of Santa Margherita & Portofino. We used the hotel's bikes, but everything was so close by foot. parking is a bit expensive, but is obviously a premium in this area. so it was nice they had arrangements with a parking garage across from the hotel. Breakfast was good and the breakfast staff attentive and friendly.
Our room was spacious and comfortable for 3 of us. And we loved the added touch of slippers and bathrobes! Would stay again if we have the opportunity to return to this beautiful part of Italy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakrovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    198
    55
    12
    2
See reviews for
82
193
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very comfortable hotel with delicious breakfast fresh and plentiful. The reception clerk was very friendly and helpful on our arrival. However, we were taken back a bit by the surly attitude of the
maitre'd in the morning this being the reason I did not rate it 5 stars. But overall a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank siamjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a nice old hotel at the center of Sta. Margherita, Ligure within 7 minutes walking distance to the downtown beach area where a boat could be boarded and be in beautiful Portofino in 45 minutes.
5 minute walk to the train station to board and arrive in Cinque Terre in an hour.
Lots of nearby restaurants around but the hotel has a very nice restaurant with an old school Italian service, with a Maitre d', with a second and third helper. Food couild be served indoor or in a very nice patio.

Building is probably built in the early 20th Century and as such smaller than the American hotel rooms but the place is clean and the antiquarian decorations are very nice. Walls are not sound proof; one elevator holds 4 people and since it was built in the early years - it is not completely automatic. There is no machine for making hot water in the room. But all of this is overshadowed by the very courteous and helpful staff who are quite eager to assist and make you have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week and found it a very pleasant and nicely decorated hotel although looking a little tired in places, it is very convenient for the beach, the train station and the ferries.The staff are very friendly and helpful especially if you want details of how to get to other places they will run off iteneraries, train and ferry times for you.The breakfast was really nice with a good choice and served outside in the small courtyard under the orange trees which was very pleasant The only down side to the room that we was in was that the room was overlooked and you felt that you needed to keep the curtains closed when getting dressed and the wifi wasn't great,lots of people seemed to be having problem connecting but overall we were satisfied with this hotel and enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poochette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This warm and friendly hotel was truly a delight..The receptionist spoke good English and was really helpful from the outset of our arrival. The hotel resembles someones beautifully decorated home, with antique furniture and paintings on the walls.. The breakfasts were served outside in the intimate courtyard area and the hotel is equipped with an elevator and sauna/gym.
Our room was large enough for 3 of us to share and clean very clean. The walk from the hotel to the ocean front was around 5 minutes and 7 mins to the station.
Cinque Terra is just 90 mins by train and the delightful Portofino is 45 mins away, if one chooses to walk along the stunning coastal road. Public transport is also available.
Santa Margherita is a lovely, small, attractive, bustling town, with great shops and a market on Sundays..I would definately return here next time we visit this gorgeous part of Europe.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor, so our view from the bedroom/bathroom was great..Traffic not really a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dianeperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

...though we were upgraded to a superior double so I can't comment on the other rooms. Our room was large, clean, well presented and had a fantastic bathroom. The hotel is situated about 7 mins walk from the front and is about the same walk from the train station. Considering the location and date of travel ( August bank holiday weekend) I feel the hotel represents good value for money. We booked via Expedia 3 weeks in advance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnorkelWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herzelia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

breakfast o.k. air-conditioning good.

The price is very high for that kind of hotel. We got a small room.The floor was dirty especially in the bath-room.The maid was sent to clean it only after 19:00

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orlymarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tigullio et de Milan
Hotel Tigullio et de Milan
#14 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sant'Andrea
Hotel Sant'Andrea
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jolanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jolanda

Property: Hotel Jolanda
Address: Via Luisito Costa 6, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jolanda 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Jolanda is an enchanting three star hotel located just minutes from the beach in Santa Margherita, near the port of Genova on Italy's northwestern coast, which is often referred to as "The Italian Riviera" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jolanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolanda Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing