We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“At center of town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jolanda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Jolanda
Certificate of Excellence
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
409 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“At center of town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a nice old hotel at the center of Sta. Margherita, Ligure within 7 minutes walking distance to the downtown beach area where a boat could be boarded and be in beautiful Portofino in 45 minutes.
5 minute walk to the train station to board and arrive in Cinque Terre in an hour.
Lots of nearby restaurants around but the hotel has a very nice restaurant with an old school Italian service, with a Maitre d', with a second and third helper. Food couild be served indoor or in a very nice patio.

Building is probably built in the early 20th Century and as such smaller than the American hotel rooms but the place is clean and the antiquarian decorations are very nice. Walls are not sound proof; one elevator holds 4 people and since it was built in the early years - it is not completely automatic. There is no machine for making hot water in the room. But all of this is overshadowed by the very courteous and helpful staff who are quite eager to assist and make you have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    164
    42
    12
    2
See reviews for
60
153
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week and found it a very pleasant and nicely decorated hotel although looking a little tired in places, it is very convenient for the beach, the train station and the ferries.The staff are very friendly and helpful especially if you want details of how to get to other places they will run off iteneraries, train and ferry times for you.The breakfast was really nice with a good choice and served outside in the small courtyard under the orange trees which was very pleasant The only down side to the room that we was in was that the room was overlooked and you felt that you needed to keep the curtains closed when getting dressed and the wifi wasn't great,lots of people seemed to be having problem connecting but overall we were satisfied with this hotel and enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poochette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This warm and friendly hotel was truly a delight..The receptionist spoke good English and was really helpful from the outset of our arrival. The hotel resembles someones beautifully decorated home, with antique furniture and paintings on the walls.. The breakfasts were served outside in the intimate courtyard area and the hotel is equipped with an elevator and sauna/gym.
Our room was large enough for 3 of us to share and clean very clean. The walk from the hotel to the ocean front was around 5 minutes and 7 mins to the station.
Cinque Terra is just 90 mins by train and the delightful Portofino is 45 mins away, if one chooses to walk along the stunning coastal road. Public transport is also available.
Santa Margherita is a lovely, small, attractive, bustling town, with great shops and a market on Sundays..I would definately return here next time we visit this gorgeous part of Europe.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor, so our view from the bedroom/bathroom was great..Traffic not really a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dianeperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

...though we were upgraded to a superior double so I can't comment on the other rooms. Our room was large, clean, well presented and had a fantastic bathroom. The hotel is situated about 7 mins walk from the front and is about the same walk from the train station. Considering the location and date of travel ( August bank holiday weekend) I feel the hotel represents good value for money. We booked via Expedia 3 weeks in advance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnorkelWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herzelia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

breakfast o.k. air-conditioning good.

The price is very high for that kind of hotel. We got a small room.The floor was dirty especially in the bath-room.The maid was sent to clean it only after 19:00

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orlymarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Firstly let's just say that this hotel needs some serious renovation. It's got the typical old Italian decorations, and my children thought it was kind of spooky. The room had a decent size for a family but it had all antique furniture. The children slept on a sofa-bed which wasn't that good either. They said that it wasn't comfortable at all and woke up with mosquito and ant bites every morning. We even caught some ants on the floor. As well as that the bathroom was not nice. The shower was a cabin made for midgets! My husband hardly fitted into the shower,and I can't even imagine how a slightly overweight person could fit in there. As well as that the towels were kept in a disgusting way. The lift wasn't very good either. But other than all of that, the location was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We just stayed for 6 nights in this very nice hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure. The hotel is very comfortable and nice decorated, everything was very clean and the staff was so helpful. We booked a room with breakfast and this was very very good comparing with other italian hotels. The hotel restaurant also offers lunch and dinner. We had one dinner with 3 courses and a bottle of red wine. It was just great but quite expensive (about 80 euro for 2 person). The hotel is very well located, there are plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. And in less then 8 minutes you are at the sea or at the train station. Only negative thing: our standard (small, about 12 m2 big) room without a balcony (105) was on the ground floor directely 1,5 m above a few parking places and a busy road... it means that we wake up every morning at about 7.30 am because it was quite noisy with sound of cars and scooters. But I have to say that of course 80% of all other rooms of the hotel will not have the same problem. I can recommend Hotel Jolanda to 100%.

Room Tip: Our room 105 on ground floor was quite noisy... It is for sure better to ask for a room on higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bannasanuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
#9 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Laurin
Hotel Laurin
#8 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jolanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jolanda

Property: Hotel Jolanda
Address: Via Luisito Costa, 6, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jolanda 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Jolanda is an enchanting three star hotel located just minutes from the beach in Santa Margherita, near the port of Genova on Italy's northwestern coast, which is often referred to as "The Italian Riviera" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Jolanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolanda Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing