We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We loved this hotel from the very beggining for its pleasent and friendly staff.
Our room had a perfect sea view. The entire hotel is great with a pronounced romantic atmosphere and perfect gardens. I would highly recommend for any kind of trip.

Room Tip: Rooms with garden view at -1 have direct exit in the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabbina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Ms SABBINA,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback, we really appreciate it.
I was thrilled to read that you had such a wonderful time when you stayed here, and I am really proud of the staff and the great service to provide to all of our Guests.
I hope we will see you at the hotel again soon.
Warmest Regards,
CIANA, C. Owner
HOTEL CONTINENTAL
Prop. Fam. Ciana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    208
    73
    38
    24
See reviews for
135
343
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

The ideal place to stay, if you want to visit the Italian Riviera. Santa Margherita is lovely and Portofino and Camogli a few minutes by car, boat or train.
The hotel is located by the sea and has a great view of the town, the coast up to Portofino and the amazing Mediterranean Sea. The staff is very friendly and polite. The rooms are modern and clean.
We had a great time.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pali_ego_eimai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to write your lovely review!
It is always fantastic to read when we are able to exceed the expectations of the Guests and I have passed your comments onto the whole team who were delighted to make your stay so enjoyable.
I do hope we can welcome you back to the Continental for another occasion.
Very Kindest Regards,
CIANA, C. Owner
HOTEL CONTINENTAL
Prop. Fam. Ciana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We loved this hotel for its STUNNING ocean and garden views!! It's 1 of 3 hotels in Santa Margherita directly on the ocean, and the only one with a beautiful garden leading down to the ocean. It's VERY relaxing, and the service is THE BEST!

We generally stay in boutique style hotels, like the Santa Margherita Palace where we stayed 2 nights - a beautiful room with a massive terrace - THANKS lads for the upgrade! But the HC is a special, grand old hotel! From the street entrance you see directly through the hotel to the ocean, nothing obscures the view: it was magnificently designed back in the early 1900’s!

The food is okay, and it has a lovely modern gym with beautiful views out to the ocean from your treadmill!

Our bedroom was modest, but had a lovely terrace with loungers, and an umbrella.

For us it was a wonderful family run property, and it was VERY hard to leave, but we’ll be back – THANKS Hotel Continental

Room Tip: Ask for a terrace :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce_from_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Mr BRUCE,
thank you very much for taking the time to write this amazing review!!
We very much believe in the service we offer and it is great to read that you found the service to be the BEST!
It is always fantastic to read when we are able to exceed the expectations of the Guests and I have passed your comments onto the whole team who were delighted to make your stay so memorable.
I am also pleased that you enjoyed the food and the gym, our views from the lobby and the first floor are certainly a great way to see the beauty of the magnificent scenery.
We all look forward to welcoming You and Your Wife back and spoiling you again in this beautiful place!
CIANA, C. Owner
HOTEL CONTINENTAL
Prop. Fam. Ciana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This Hotel is in a great Location with wonderful views of the Mediterian Sea. The staff were extremely helpful, food great and Rooms provide wonderfull views over Santa Margherita. Would recomend highly.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Your comment is lovely! Thank you very much.
I couldn't agree more - the difference is in the detail.
I do hope we can welcome you back to the Continental for another occasion.
Very Kindest Regards,
CIANA, C. Owner
HOTEL CONTINENTAL
Prop. Fam. Ciana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingør
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

In September 2013 we spent a week in Santa Margherita Ligure and stayed at the most wonderful hotel, Continental.
We had booked a double room with a terrace, from which we had the most stunning and beautiful view over the harbour of Santa Margherita. A very nice room and the staff took well care of everything to our full satisfaction. Especially the staff at the Reception was very dedicated and helpful in every way. Personally it was the second time I stayed at this hotel and even at the same room, and I was not disappointed,. I therefore had great expectations , which were completely fulfilled.
We would love to come back some time and won't hesitate to stay at the Continental and therefore fully recommend this hotel.
As for use of Spa and pool we never got use these facillities.

Room Tip: We recommend to book a room at the seaside with terrace. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 100AaseA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Continental!

We are delighted to hear that we were able to create some wonderful memories. We were also pleased that you appreciated the level of service delivered by our team here and that you were able to make the most of our beautiful, stunning location.

Many thanks for also highlighting the Staff at Reception, they are indeed a pivotal part of the Continental and take great pride in turning moments into memories for our Guests.
We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Santa Margherita Ligure.
Kindest Regards,
CIANA, C. Owner
HOTEL CONTINENTAL
Prop. Fam. Ciana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We (my girlfriend and I) made a spontaneous decision to go to Santa Margherita. We were not disappointed by Santa Margherita and we loved our hotel. Firstly, the hotel has beautiful views of the sea and Santa Margherita - you can even see over to the tip of Portofino. That said, treat yourself to a room with a sea view as you will not be disappointed! Secondly, it is one of the few hotels which is already on the 'ocean side' of the road so from the hotel, through the lovely park you can walk straight down to the sea without any roads to cross. A big plus considering many other hotels have the road going past right infront of their doorstep. Inside the hotel is old fashioned, the rooms will surely be upgraded in the near future but don't let that put you off as the hotel is a wonderful place to stay. The breakfast was also great, big buffet, good quality of food and a fantastic terrace with sea views. The service however is what set this hotel apart from all the rest - the reception had great suggestions for restaurants/bars to go to and things to see in the area on top of being super friendly. I really recommend you stay here as it is a place you will remember - for the good reasons!

Room Tip: Choose a Panoramic room, or a sea view room. Panoramic gives you sea views with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFM001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts following your recent stay at the Continental!
I genuinely appreciate your comments about the level of service experienced at our family hotel, my team is dedicated to providing exceptional levels of service and it will give me great pride to share your wonderful feedback with them.
I was also pleased to learn that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast. Thank you also for mentioning our position and sea facing rooms, which afford some of the best views that the city has to offer.
On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable stay!
Kindest Regards,
CIANA, C. Owner
HOTEL CONTINENTAL
Prop. Fam. Ciana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Continental at the beginning of our honeymoon and couldn't have been happier with the choice. Our room, on the 2nd floor, had a large terrace that was great for laying out and reading during the day. The property has great access to the med for swimming, which was fun as well. It's a 5-10 minute walk down into the heart of Santa Margherita Ligure, where there are several great restaurants. The staff here was super nice and had some good recommendations for food - and the continental breakfast was perfect each morning.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Mediterranean is the only way to go. Otherwise you're facing a fairly busy stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDC415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the effort to post your great review about your stay at the Hotel Continental!
Thank you for the lovely posting and in your few words you perfectly described what we strive to be! We love to indulge all of our guests. Therefore we were excited to pleasantly surprise you with the large terrace for laying out and with the good recommendations for food.
We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can assist with a booking!
sincerely,
Ciana, C. Owner
HOTEL CONTINENTAL
Prop. Fam. Ciana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Regina Elena
Best Western Regina Elena
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Via Pagana 8, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure
Continental Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing