We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This Hotel is in a great Location with wonderful views of the Mediterian Sea. The staff were extremely helpful, food great and Rooms provide wonderfull views over Santa Margherita. Would recomend highly.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest,
Your comment is lovely! Thank you very much.
I couldn't agree more - the difference is in the detail.
I do hope we can welcome you back to the Continental for another occasion.
Very Kindest Regards,
CIANA, C. Owner
HOTEL CONTINENTAL
Prop. Fam. Ciana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 712 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

In September 2013 we spent a week in Santa Margherita Ligure and stayed at the most wonderful hotel, Continental.
We had booked a double room with a terrace, from which we had the most stunning and beautiful view over the harbour of Santa Margherita. A very nice room and the staff took well care of everything to our full satisfaction. Especially the staff at the Reception was very dedicated and helpful in every way. Personally it was the second time I stayed at this hotel and even at the same room, and I was not disappointed,. I therefore had great expectations , which were completely fulfilled.
We would love to come back some time and won't hesitate to stay at the Continental and therefore fully recommend this hotel.
As for use of Spa and pool we never got use these facillities.

Room Tip: We recommend to book a room at the seaside with terrace. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 100AaseA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Continental!

We are delighted to hear that we were able to create some wonderful memories. We were also pleased that you appreciated the level of service delivered by our team here and that you were able to make the most of our beautiful, stunning location.

Many thanks for also highlighting the Staff at Reception, they are indeed a pivotal part of the Continental and take great pride in turning moments into memories for our Guests.
We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Santa Margherita Ligure.
Kindest Regards,
CIANA, C. Owner
HOTEL CONTINENTAL
Prop. Fam. Ciana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We (my girlfriend and I) made a spontaneous decision to go to Santa Margherita. We were not disappointed by Santa Margherita and we loved our hotel. Firstly, the hotel has beautiful views of the sea and Santa Margherita - you can even see over to the tip of Portofino. That said, treat yourself to a room with a sea view as you will not be disappointed! Secondly, it is one of the few hotels which is already on the 'ocean side' of the road so from the hotel, through the lovely park you can walk straight down to the sea without any roads to cross. A big plus considering many other hotels have the road going past right infront of their doorstep. Inside the hotel is old fashioned, the rooms will surely be upgraded in the near future but don't let that put you off as the hotel is a wonderful place to stay. The breakfast was also great, big buffet, good quality of food and a fantastic terrace with sea views. The service however is what set this hotel apart from all the rest - the reception had great suggestions for restaurants/bars to go to and things to see in the area on top of being super friendly. I really recommend you stay here as it is a place you will remember - for the good reasons!

Room Tip: Choose a Panoramic room, or a sea view room. Panoramic gives you sea views with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFM001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts following your recent stay at the Continental!
I genuinely appreciate your comments about the level of service experienced at our family hotel, my team is dedicated to providing exceptional levels of service and it will give me great pride to share your wonderful feedback with them.
I was also pleased to learn that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast. Thank you also for mentioning our position and sea facing rooms, which afford some of the best views that the city has to offer.
On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable stay!
Kindest Regards,
CIANA, C. Owner
HOTEL CONTINENTAL
Prop. Fam. Ciana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Continental at the beginning of our honeymoon and couldn't have been happier with the choice. Our room, on the 2nd floor, had a large terrace that was great for laying out and reading during the day. The property has great access to the med for swimming, which was fun as well. It's a 5-10 minute walk down into the heart of Santa Margherita Ligure, where there are several great restaurants. The staff here was super nice and had some good recommendations for food - and the continental breakfast was perfect each morning.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Mediterranean is the only way to go. Otherwise you're facing a fairly busy stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CDC415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the effort to post your great review about your stay at the Hotel Continental!
Thank you for the lovely posting and in your few words you perfectly described what we strive to be! We love to indulge all of our guests. Therefore we were excited to pleasantly surprise you with the large terrace for laying out and with the good recommendations for food.
We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can assist with a booking!
sincerely,
Ciana, C. Owner
HOTEL CONTINENTAL
Prop. Fam. Ciana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

When we arrived at this hotel late at night and showed our room, we were a bit taken aback by the older-style furniture and general room decor, especially given the price of the room. However, the next morning it all became clear -- our terrace had an amazing view of Santa Margherita harbor, the staff was extremely nice, the hotel is right on the coast, without a road between sea-facing rooms and the ocean, there was a generous breakfast, etc. It may be from another era (but, so it the whole town of Santa Margherita), but it's a real gem.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yaneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Ms Yaneh,
Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor!
It is always nice to read when we are able to exceed the expectation of our guests and I am delighted that you enjoyed the generous breakfast as well as the comfort of the room and its terrace.
All the staff were delighted to help with your stay and we all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Santa Margherita Ligure. The satisfaction of our guest is of utmost importance to us along with the reputation of our hotel.
Kindest regards,
Ciana, C. Owner
HOTEL CONTINENTAL
Prop. Fam. Ciana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was a delight and an incredible experience: wonderful service from attentive staff, and never any problems. We absolutely loved this grand hotel and its views of the Mediterranean. What's not to love about sitting on their deck having a drink and watching all the boats? The rock grotto is a pleasure and then a jump in Mediterranean. They we very accomodating to a room change and that just added to the experience. Breakfast on the patio was also very nice.Overall, as always, a great time. Thank you!

Room Tip: Get a Sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xbbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hotel Continental!
We are happy that you had an outstanding stay with us and delighted that you found the staff to be friendly yet professional. Your kind words will be passed on to each team member .
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Kindest regards,
Ciana, C. Owner
HOTEL CONTINENTAL
Prop. Fam. Ciana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had a garden room which was a good size and had a large balcony. The room was excellent and had great views over the bay.
The grounds are large, well maintained and wherever you are you have a lovely view of the town and bay.
There is no swimming pool but the beach area is perfect for sunbathing and having a dip in the sea - this is the highlight of the hotel but slightly let down by the cost of the sunbeds (32 euros for two) and the fact that a large number of the best positioned beds were reserved for 'regular customers who come back each year' (fine but most of them were never used while we were there). This is the only reason for not rating it 5.
Having said that if we returned to Santa Margherita we would definitely consider booking the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a garden room, well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulawayonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
I thank you for your pointing out many of our assets here at the Hotel Continental. The gorgeous location is one of them but the one we are the most proud of is our high standard of services.
Our daily main concern is to look after our Guests offering them our undivided attention.
I was sorry to read that you had an issue with the cost of the sunbeds at the beach.
I really hope that the issue you had did not affect the quality of your stay and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel.
Thanks againg for your review, we are very proud about your words.
We hope to welcome you back to the Continental soon.
Yours sincerely,
CIANA, C. Owner
Prop. Fam. Ciana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margherita Ligure
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
916 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperiale Palace Hotel
Imperiale Palace Hotel
#8 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
426 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Via Pagana 8, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range: $125 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure
Continental Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing