We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful five nights in Santa Margherita!”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Certificate of Excellence
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
160 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful five nights in Santa Margherita!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

When we read the somewhat mixed reviews by others of the Hotel Continental in Santa Margherita, we weren’t certain of what we would find on arrival. I can tell you that, from the time we arrived on the property by car, the staff was incredible. Our luggage was promptly attended to and our car carefully parked by the staff. We left it parked for the entire five night stay, as there was no need for it while exploring the area. The hotel is a very short walk from the town with all of its restaurants and stores, as well as access to boats, trains and busses.

The reception staff was fantastic, helping us with detailed directions to things we wanted to do, as well as schedules for boats and trains. Both Daniela and Serena were especially helpful and made sure we had everything we needed and even made local calls to check on details, since some of the boat runs had just started to operate for the season. We were quickly in our room, feeling at home and marveling at the incredible view. We had read a few less than positive reviews among the many others that were very complimentary of this hotel. I suspect that if you come to a long established seaside hotel and book one of the smallest rooms on the non-view side, you might be disappointed. Reality is, if that is your budget choice, you will find the accommodation adequate for the price, while enjoying all else that this hotel has to offer. The building and grounds offer superb opportunity for all to enjoy the views from the well situated property. We booked a Junior Suite, and I can tell you, the room was just superb with a large combination bedroom and living room area with a comfortable sofa, desk and credenza at the foot of the bed for the flat screen TV. There was a large closet/dressing hall leading to the bath that had at least eight feet of clothes hanging space, along with a large built in bureau and plenty of space for luggage. The bath itself was enormous by European standards. As we were given the Junior Suite at the end of the building, likely due to the length of our stay, we not only had the view of the sea through the palms via two large double glass doors that led to a full length terrace, but also views of the city from the living area as well as from the bath.

The rest of the hotel was spotless and well kept, including the grounds that were manicured to an impressive level of detail. Breakfast, served in the dining room with full views of the sea, was included with our room, and the selection was superb. The breakfast staff was terrific as well. If you were to stay in a hotel with the location, views, service and attention to detail of this hotel in any major seaside city in the world, the price for our room would be at least double and more. If there was one thing this hotel could improve upon most, it is the speed of Internet access, as the wifi is substandard for a hotel that displays a four star rating. In six weeks of traveling in Italy, it was the slowest by far that we have experienced. Santa Margherita itself is a wonderful city full of the friendliest people, with a casual upscale ambience and family atmosphere. It has definitely made the list of places we will visit again.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy perhaps the best views and one of the most spacious rooms, try to get room 52...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Mr Ron,
I cannot thank you enough for your glowing review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Continental. I was delighted that you felt the staff and the hotel exceeded your expectations in so many ways.
I’m happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that you also got the time to sample the buffet breakfast that you describe as ‘superb’. Thank you for your appreciation.
I have passed on your kind words to all the Team for the service. It is these little touches that we provide our Guests that makes the difference here and I hope that you and your wife get the chance to stay with us once again in the near future.
Finally we would like to apologize for the speed of Internet access. We have asked so many times to get a faster internet connection but without success. Now we have found the solution that, we hope, will allow us to optimize traffic routes and make connection more fast.
This is by no means an excuse but an explanation and can assure you that next time your expectations are met.
Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon!
sincerely,
Ciana, C. Owner
HOTEL CONTINENTAL
Prop. Fam. Ciana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    210
    73
    38
    24
See reviews for
136
345
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brasil
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, to visit Santa Margherita Ligure, Portofino and Cinqueterre.
When we arrived we got a up-grade getting a room with vista to sea. We were less than 15 minutes in the room and received a complimentary champagne. All our stay was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the effort to post your great review about your stay at the Hotel Continental. Your feedback is very important to us.
Thank you for the lovely posting and in your few words you perfectly described what we strive to be! We love to indulge all of our guests. Therefore we were excited to pleasantly surprise you with an up grade and complimentary wine.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
sincerely,
Ciana, C. Owner
HOTEL CONTINENTAL
Prop. Fam. Ciana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved this place. Santa Margherita is the place to stay when you are visiting Genova, Portofino or Cinque Terre. We got a great price for our room and we did not expect to get such an amazing view with the room. Everything was in top conditions and the staff was superb I looked forward to the breakfast because you get to have it in a lovely Terrasse overlooking the ocean and this beautiful city. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the best restaurants in town and the beach. and of course the hotel has its own private beach which we didn't get to try because the water is still to cold that being said I highly recommend you stay in this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fernando L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Mr Fernando,
We are happy to learn that you felt comfortable and taken care during your visit at the Hotel Continental!
Thank you for mentioning the efficiency of the team and the wonderful position, it’s our greatest attribute. We particularly appreciate that you felt safe and looked after implying that the Hotel Continental, with over one hundred years of history, opens its doors to a special service and location.
We hope next time we will have some warmer weather and you will be able to enjoy relaxing at our private beach as well as eating at the restaurant near the water.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon on your next travels to Santa Margherita Ligure!
Ciana, C. Owner
Prop. Fam. Ciana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Lovely hotel, I booked it due to the reasonable price. My boyfriend and I spent one night at the Hotel Continental. Great location by the sea - and it's only a short walk to the pier.
The staff at this hotel are what make it great! From the moment we arrived the staff were very attentive, checking us in, and even gave us a room upgrade to a 1 junior suite as I mentioned when booking it was a special occasion. The rooms are spacious and clean!
The hotel went out of their way to make us welcome, and even brought us a card and sparkling wine to celebrate our anniversary, really nice touch! We got a free drink in the bar, which was lovely and chic, and had we been there for another night I would have liked to sample the food in the restaurant.
I'd definitely recommend this hotel to those visiting Santa Margherita and Portofino!

Room Tip: Rooms with terrace! Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rollings_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for writing such a great review about your recent visit at the Hotel Continental.
We are excited to hear that you and your boyfriend had such an enjoyable stay with us. It's comments such as yours that motivate us to continuously strive to provide the very best for our Guests.
The staff will be delighted to read about your great comments. We are happy to know that we were able to create such a great experience for you.
We thank you for the review and we cannot wait to have you back for another great visit.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

amazing warm and friendly welcome and stuff, unbelievable nice location with superbe view seaside and garden, direct access to sea with wonderful small and romantic places to feel near the sea. I travel a lot allover the world with stays in really exclusive hotels, but such a warm and nice atmosphere is very, very rare to find (nearly impossible). Thank You very, very much. We will be back for sure.
(U. Wattendorf)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WattendorfU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Mr Wattendorf
Thank you very much for your kind feedback following your recent stay with us at the Continental.
We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit, including the room and the service we provide and we are especially pleased that you appreciated the care and help from our team.
We hope next time we will have some warmer weather and you will be able to enjoy eating in our pool restaurant as well as relaxing at our private beach.
Please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime once you decide to come back and we will ensure you do have a delightful stay again!
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Really dirty bathroom and very unfriendly restaurant staff, I've been many times in hotels in Italy and I know I can not expect much but this is certainly the worst hotel EVER!Rooms are furnished with old and broken furniture..The brekfast is minimized to the basics and does not have an option to order something that is no o n the table.all the other hotels we saw while we were there,were in much better condition.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Teddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us in Santa Margherita Ligure.
While we are obviously disappointed with your comments regarding the breakfast and the restaurant staff, we genuinely appreciate your feedback as it gives us the opportunity to follow up on your experience and to ensure our services are up to our usual standard.
We are also concerned to hear of your disappointment with the furniture of your room, your bathroom and above all of your wrong impression of our Hotel.
You are quite accurate about your room, this room has not been refurbished. Clearly we failed to meet your expectations in terms of value and for this we sincerely apologize.
Regarding the Hotel we want to tell you that it is located on a hill overlooking the village of Santa Margherita and the Ligurian sea, away from the traffic of the city with a magnificent view of the Gulf. The location is our greatest attribute!
We trust you will give us a future opportunity to meet and hopefully exceed your expectations.
Please do not hesitate to contact us should you decide to do so and we will ensure you do have a delightful stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Lovely, "Old World" hotel. Rooms were small but comfortable. Very clean and nicely furnished. Excellent views of the sea. Great breakfast. Gym facilities were a bit sparse but adequate. Service, staff was excellent - especially John at reception. We look forward to going back in the summer when we can enjoy the sea and pool.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBH-TLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you very much taking the effort to post your great review about your stay at the Hotel Continental. Your feedback is very important to us.
We are excited to hear that you and your Family had such an enjoyable stay and that you liked the furniture of our rooms.
We will certainly share your comments with John and the rest of the staff and we would love to have you back for another great stay in the near future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.1 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
753 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
859 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
388 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Regina Elena
Best Western Regina Elena
#8 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
489 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Via Pagana 8, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure
Continental Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing