We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Continental
Nearby Hotels
Metropole(Santa Margherita Ligure)(Great Value!)
$367
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Minerva(Santa Margherita Ligure)(Great Value!)
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Laurin(Santa Margherita Ligure)
$192
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Miramare(Santa Margherita Ligure)
$403
$372
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Imperiale Palace Hotel(Santa Margherita Ligure)
$293
$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace(Santa Margherita Ligure)
$215
$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Jolanda(Santa Margherita Ligure)(Great Value!)
$171
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Regina Elena(Santa Margherita Ligure)(Great Value!)
$233
$220
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$844
$820
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Anita(Santa Margherita Ligure)(Great Value!)
$223
$175
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (756)
Filter reviews
756 results
Traveler rating
384
229
79
39
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
229
79
39
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming areasea viewgorgeous viewsprivate beachbeautiful hotelwalk in closetshort walkbeach restaurantamazing locationbreakfast terraceper daycinque terretrain stationon the rocksligurian sealarge terracespent nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 756 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Really dirty bathroom and very unfriendly restaurant staff, I've been many times in hotels in Italy and I know I can not expect much but this is certainly the worst hotel EVER!Rooms are furnished with old and broken furniture..The brekfast is minimized to the basics and does not have an option to order something that is no o n the table.all the other hotels we saw while we were there,were in much better condition.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Teddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us in Santa Margherita Ligure.
While we are obviously disappointed with your comments regarding the breakfast and the restaurant staff, we genuinely appreciate your feedback as it gives us the opportunity to follow up on your experience and to ensure our services are up to our usual standard.
We are also concerned to hear of your disappointment with the furniture of your room, your bathroom and above all of your wrong impression of our Hotel.
You are quite accurate about your room, this room has not been refurbished. Clearly we failed to meet your expectations in terms of value and for this we sincerely apologize.
Regarding the Hotel we want to tell you that it is located on a hill overlooking the village of Santa Margherita and the Ligurian sea, away from the traffic of the city with a magnificent view of the Gulf. The location is our greatest attribute!
We trust you will give us a future opportunity to meet and hopefully exceed your expectations.
Please do not hesitate to contact us should you decide to do so and we will ensure you do have a delightful stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Lovely, "Old World" hotel. Rooms were small but comfortable. Very clean and nicely furnished. Excellent views of the sea. Great breakfast. Gym facilities were a bit sparse but adequate. Service, staff was excellent - especially John at reception. We look forward to going back in the summer when we can enjoy the sea and pool.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view - it's worth it.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBH-TLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you very much taking the effort to post your great review about your stay at the Hotel Continental. Your feedback is very important to us.
We are excited to hear that you and your Family had such an enjoyable stay and that you liked the furniture of our rooms.
We will certainly share your comments with John and the rest of the staff and we would love to have you back for another great stay in the near future.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

A glorious position, wonderful cheerful staff wanting to please and with lovely welcoming smiles and staff able to achieve your every wish and recommend excellent local restaurants ..... sadly the hotel restaurant is not at all good .... a shame I would have eaten there every day because the view is stunning. The restaurant staff are lovely however the food is poor especially as the region is renown for its own delicious cuisine .... why not have a small daily menu with fresh local fish, meat dishes, pasta dishes and vegetables presented in an attractive way (like dishes displayed in the local alimentary), rather than pre-cooked food looking a week old by the time it is served!!! The breakfast is poor .... the fruit as hard as rocks, horrible pastries ..... why not fresh fruit ready to eat, local pastries and fresh local bread and local cheeses. The beach is divine and so very welcoming .... until you get the bill for your chaise lounge and umbrella ... at check-in why not be presented with the cost or have it included because most people staying over summer would want to use the beach. oooh and the internet .... when doing business while travelling one needs a good connection in the hotel room and 'everyone' now travels expecting to be able to communicate via the internet, so why not add a little to the room tarrif to have this service included. Love the character and position of this hotel ... if you are aware of the above you will enjoy your stay! I travel to Italy every year on business and I will return ...... I hope to see a few improvements!!! Margaret.

Room Tip: A room with a view is a must.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for leaving such feedback following your stay with us at the Continental Hotel. I was thrilled to read your kind words and was delighted that we met your expectations. We pride ourselves on ensuring all of our Guests only receiving the very best in service so I have already shared your feedback with my team. I was really glad that you go to try all of the services of the hotel including the ‘glorious’ buffet breakfast and our private beach .
We apologize for the discomfort you experienced with the room, some rooms from this point of view are a bit lacking. We are glad to inform you that we are in the process of modernizing all our rooms, having already completed most of them.
For your next vacation explore the special offers and packages from the Continental. Experience something new from shopping to SPA indulgence, visit our official website and book your holiday with us!
Please do come and stay with us again soon. My best wishes.
CIANA C., Owner
HOTEL CONTINENTAL
Prop. Fam. Ciana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Continental Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure (Italy), located on the sea shore. It is small and cozy. The atmosfera of this hotel is very nice and homey. The rooms are small with a simple antique furniture. We did not like the way equipped bathrooms. But it fully meets the general idea of ​​the hotel. Most rooms offer spectacular views of the sea. On the ground floor there is a fitness room, conference room, etc. The hotel has a small very well maintained park.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vkovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed with our three small children three nights in SML in mid October. The Hotel Continental has a spectacular setting, good food and nice staff but since it is low (or according to their prices mid) season, all facilities like the outdoor pool, bar etc are shut down. Everything feels very empty and out of season, but SML was still very nice and the weather still quite mild.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews