We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place on Ligurian coast”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel sits on the picturesque hill side with cascading gardens reaching the sea below. This is the only hotel in Santa Margherita directly on the shore with unobstracted views of the sea and harbor. Located about 500 meters from the town center the Continental enjoys peace and quiet with no foot traffic. Our room on the fourth floor was located on the side of the building and had huge 8' x 30' balcony with a couple of tables with chairs. Views of sunsets and the town below lit with soft orange tint at night were just breathtaking. Add to this a bottle of excelent local wine and cheese and you get the picture.
Room was better than we had expected - very comfortable if slightly outdated. But it featured Japanise-made toilette which was trying to do everything for you, even without being asked.
We used the hotel as a home base and spent all days doing short side trips in the mountains. Tiny vilages, castles, chirches were spectacular, food - great, wine - superb!. But best of all were people, friendly, understanging, helping in every way. Hotel staff did not have any problems with English, vilagers did not care - they just made sure we would understand them, and we did!

Room Tip: Ask to the highest floor and on the side of the building. Views from the balcony are great. Rooms fa...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Continental
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 702 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Santa Margherita Ligure is a picturesque area worth the visit. The Amalfi coast is unbeatable but Santa Margherita can be settled for. Hotel Continental has beautiful views from the hotel. Unfortunately, we were placed in the annex, a building next to the hotel. We had a view of the pool but that pool belonged to the hotel next door. Hotel Continental does not have a pool. They only have the ocean lounge area and you pay for each lounge chair per person per day. Our room in the annex was small and the rest of the space was used for a hallway to our bedroom and bathroom. The balcony was tiny. This group owns several hotels nearby also. They must be restoring the other hotels or in the main building because we did not see it in the annex. You have to insist that you have a room in the main hotel and then you have to insist on a full balcony; they told us that they have repeat customers that specifically request the rooms in the main hotel. Mind you we paid the same price for this room in the annex. There was no discount for the detachment. The food is not memorable, but you can order food there. The internet exists in theory, but if you can only get one bar you should not say there is internet. We occasionally got two bars but it was fleeting like fairy dust.

Room Tip: Insist on a room in the main hotel not in the annex, the building next door to the hotel. Insist on...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

The most impressive part of the hotel is the property and grounds. We had a sea view room with a small patio to sit with wine in the sun in the evenings and watch the boats and action in the harbour. The swimming area was spectacular. Comfortable lounges to enjoy the views and ladders to enter the sea. The rooms were a bit worn but a good size, I would have given a higher rating but the mattress was pretty poor. The includes breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandB1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel was in an excellent location a couple of hundred meters from the shops on a hill. The property was beautiful and the rooms very nice. The buffet breakfast was excellent as was the service. The bed and pillow was very comfortable. I would go as far as to say I slept better than at home. I would stay at this hotel again and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has not really changed for many years, we strayed going 7 years ago. The location is its greatest attribute, it is the best positioned hotel for the beach of all the surrounding hotels. One or two are closer but they are less private and far noisier, this one has it's own restaurant on the rock side. The hotel is very well managed and owned by a charming family who have always lived in S.M. therefore the service is genuine and there is no 'hotel - chain' atmosphere. Restaurant is of reasonable quality as good as any other, rooms very clean, good size, everything working, staff extremely helpful and again have been there for many years. Excellent parking. Not at all noisy and with the best views of sea, Portofino etc

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drtcoBov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

we paid over 500 euro for 2 days for a room that is not even 2 star in most countries. Old hotel and rundown rooms from the 70s. no deco..nada. For the price we paid we got a room on road side so it was noisy with traffic from 7am till 10pm at least...yes they have a nice garden and the "beach" is nice (please pay 20 euro for a sunbed p.p.p.d.) NO justification for a price like this and for sure not a 4 star hotel. oh and wifi throughout the hotel except in the room so we had to check emails in the hallway. money NOT well spent. ones and never again.

Room Tip: do not book room on road side.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Really nice site of this hotel. Wonderful well kept gardens and really nice sea views. The room was not as luxury as expected. It's a liitle bit old, but very clean. Continental breakfast on the terrasse was very interesting and good.
We had dinner at the hotel once. It's expensive but good food.

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea views, otherwise it will be noisy because it's a busy road in front of th...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grangalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margherita Ligure
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
899 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
786 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperiale Palace Hotel
Imperiale Palace Hotel
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
420 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Via Pagana 8, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range: $147 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure
Continental Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing