We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveler rating
260
272
100
33
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
272
100
33
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool private beach underground tunnel large tour groups insight tour beach bar sea view reception staff top floor lovely hotel mediterranean sea bus stop reasonable size other hotels nice room main building cinque terre
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 683 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2017

Hotel Regina Elena, is a an absolut pearl. The staff is beyond sweet and agreeable. This was my second time staying at the venue, during the high season. As a guest, the staff was always helpful to me. The environment and room, is kept tidy and clean. Breakfast buffet has a wide selection and can be enjoyed in or outside. One can walk to the center and back. The bus or ferry to Portofino is only 6/700 m walk.
A suggestion would be to leave pool towels in the room, since they are no longer displayed by the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeelE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Thank you ever so much, dear Neel, for your very kind feedback and for your special words about our staff. They make us really happy, because we think the friendliness and warmth of our hospitality is something, which makes our guests’ holiday even lovelier and unforgettable!
It is a great pleasure to understand you had a wonderful stay and you enjoyed thoroughly our facilities and service. By the way, pool towels are provided 24 hours on 24 at the reception, (while the beach ones are provided on the beach).
We hope you will plan to come and visit us again soon, with our kindest regards.
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017

We stayed at the Best Western Regina Elena with our 8 month old baby. We couldn't be happier with everything the hotel provided and the excellent service we received. We had a room with a view of the water which was absolutely breathtaking. Our room also had a balcony which included a table and two reclining chairs. The rooftop pool was immaculate and included a good amount of lounge chairs for guests. In addition, the beach across the street from the pool was very family friendly and had a kiddie pool and games for children to play. The breakfast in the morning offered a variety of options and the staff was always so helpful in providing our baby a high chair, cup, and even utensils. The only thing that was a little difficult for us were the hotel's elevators. They were on the small side to squeeze a stroller in, but I thought they added character to the hotel and really didn't mind! The location of the hotel is a bit of a walk from restaurants and stores but who doesn't want to take a leisurely stroll along the water? I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling with a baby or children.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Dear NYC_8389, we cannot say how grateful we are for such a wonderful review!
We are delighted to know that you spent an extraordinary and special holiday with us!
It’s nice to see you have enjoyed the enchanting views from the rooftop and from the balcony of your room, as well as the top quality and wide variety of food at breakfast; but, particularly, we are extremely happy you thought your lovely baby received the best attention from the whole staff. We deeply love babies and children and we are happy to stay with them and make them feel cuddled!
Thanking you once more and looking forward to your next visit, with our kindest regards.
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile

Yes it's one of the cheaper places here but I would probably have stayed in a different area instead rather than stay at a run-down, overpriced, hotel. We checked in at 5pm and we're told we could use the pool and beach - they neglected to tell us the beach closed at 730 and tbe pool at 8, so by the time we settled in and grabbed food they were both closed. What a waste of a night! Went diving nearby and then finally used the beach, except the beds were 15 euro EACH to use so we just sat on the ground (after being told to move over by the lifeguard!). Now, I don't know if it's an Italy thing or specific to this hotel but I thought the closure times and the price to rent a bed were ridiculous.

The room and hotel were outdated, the elevators were tiny and slow, and the balcony had a modest view. There is no shade on the rooftop pool area.

As for breakfast - it has nothing that suited our diets - it was all pastries and the juice and coffee came in machines. I think they could have done way better with the food - it was not what I'd expect in such an expensive hotel.

Really was not a fan of this place at all, one of the worst Best Westerns I've ever stayed at. I have no idea how this hotel got rated 4 stars!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank wherejessicais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Dear Mrs. Jessica,
We are sorry to read your comments and to realize we did not come up to your expectations completely.
We regret you did not have enough time to use the swimming pool (open all day long from 9 am to 8 pm) or the beach (open again all day long from 8am to 7pm): their closing times are clearly indicated in a notice; moreover the times of our private beach are according to our town regulations.
Concerning the rooftop, let us explain that every single sunbed there has its own shade over the head, as parasols are not obviously allowed for safety reasons.
At breakfast, it is a shame you did not ask for an expresso coffee served from the bar, which can be prepared with pleasure for you, by our staff, upon request. It is also a pity you missed all the vegetables, fresh and dried fruits, vegetable pies, anchovies, Ligurian focaccia, cheese, cold meats, eggs, cereals and lots and lots more, which are exposed every morning on our buffet, together with several kinds of pastries.
Best regards.
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017

Our tour company (Grand Circle Cruise Line) chose Hotel Regina Elena to be our base for four nights to tour the Italian Riviera - Santa Margherita Ligure, Portofino, Cinque Terre and Genoa. The hotel met all of our needs. The location was excellent. First it was good for day trips. Second we were 10-15 minutes walking distance to the downtown area. We were across the street from the beach. The room was clean; good size, the bed comfortable; the air-conditioning strong; and the shower had good water pressure and comfortable temperature settings. We did not have a waterfront view but that did not matter - we had a side view.The breakfast offered a large selection of cereals, fruit, eggs, and pastries. We particularly liked the "water bath" where you could cook your eggs they way you liked. A number of members of our group who ate dinner in the hotel said the food was good.The staff was helpful. There was a rooftop pool, a small exercise room and a beach across the street. We sat comfortably in chairs at the beach but did not swim.While this hotel was selected by the tour company, we would return if traveling on our own. The walls are decorated with copies of paintings, sketches and old photographs.

Room Tip: There are waterfront views but these were not available for group tours.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tinkerbelle2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Dear Tinkerbelle2016,
It has been so nice to receive such lovely comments about your stay at the Regina Elena and we’d like to thank you very much!
We are proud to know that you noticed and loved every detail of our welcome and service: this is of extreme importance to us, as it makes us understand that the efforts and the deep care we put into our daily job is really appreciated by our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next holidays on your own!
With our kindest regards.
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017

Excellent room and location small pool on the roof ideal for cooling down after a day walking. Restaurant evening dinner was of an extremely high standard. Breakfast was equally as good. Had lunch in beach restaurant which was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Our sincerest thank you for your much-appreciated review, Mr Eddie!
We are so glad to read that you have particularly enjoyed the excellence of the different meals served at both our restaurants “La Conchiglia” and “Principessa”. We will be happy to share your praise with our Chef Giuseppe, who keeps delighting us with his appetizing dishes!
We do hope you will choose our hotel again for another ideal holiday in this region.
With our kindest regards.
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews