We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveler rating
259
272
101
33
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
272
101
33
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool private beach underground tunnel large tour groups insight tour beach bar sea view reception staff top floor lovely hotel mediterranean sea bus stop reasonable size other hotels nice room main building cinque terre
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 683 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile

Yes it's one of the cheaper places here but I would probably have stayed in a different area instead rather than stay at a run-down, overpriced, hotel. We checked in at 5pm and we're told we could use the pool and beach - they neglected to tell us the beach closed at 730 and tbe pool at 8, so by the time we settled in and grabbed food they were both closed. What a waste of a night! Went diving nearby and then finally used the beach, except the beds were 15 euro EACH to use so we just sat on the ground (after being told to move over by the lifeguard!). Now, I don't know if it's an Italy thing or specific to this hotel but I thought the closure times and the price to rent a bed were ridiculous.

The room and hotel were outdated, the elevators were tiny and slow, and the balcony had a modest view. There is no shade on the rooftop pool area.

As for breakfast - it has nothing that suited our diets - it was all pastries and the juice and coffee came in machines. I think they could have done way better with the food - it was not what I'd expect in such an expensive hotel.

Really was not a fan of this place at all, one of the worst Best Westerns I've ever stayed at. I have no idea how this hotel got rated 4 stars!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank wherejessicais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Dear Mrs. Jessica,
We are sorry to read your comments and to realize we did not come up to your expectations completely.
We regret you did not have enough time to use the swimming pool (open all day long from 9 am to 8 pm) or the beach (open again all day long from 8am to 7pm): their closing times are clearly indicated in a notice; moreover the times of our private beach are according to our town regulations.
Concerning the rooftop, let us explain that every single sunbed there has its own shade over the head, as parasols are not obviously allowed for safety reasons.
At breakfast, it is a shame you did not ask for an expresso coffee served from the bar, which can be prepared with pleasure for you, by our staff, upon request. It is also a pity you missed all the vegetables, fresh and dried fruits, vegetable pies, anchovies, Ligurian focaccia, cheese, cold meats, eggs, cereals and lots and lots more, which are exposed every morning on our buffet, together with several kinds of pastries.
Best regards.
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017

Our tour company (Grand Circle Cruise Line) chose Hotel Regina Elena to be our base for four nights to tour the Italian Riviera - Santa Margherita Ligure, Portofino, Cinque Terre and Genoa. The hotel met all of our needs. The location was excellent. First it was good for day trips. Second we were 10-15 minutes walking distance to the downtown area. We were across the street from the beach. The room was clean; good size, the bed comfortable; the air-conditioning strong; and the shower had good water pressure and comfortable temperature settings. We did not have a waterfront view but that did not matter - we had a side view.The breakfast offered a large selection of cereals, fruit, eggs, and pastries. We particularly liked the "water bath" where you could cook your eggs they way you liked. A number of members of our group who ate dinner in the hotel said the food was good.The staff was helpful. There was a rooftop pool, a small exercise room and a beach across the street. We sat comfortably in chairs at the beach but did not swim.While this hotel was selected by the tour company, we would return if traveling on our own. The walls are decorated with copies of paintings, sketches and old photographs.

Room Tip: There are waterfront views but these were not available for group tours.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tinkerbelle2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Dear Tinkerbelle2016,
It has been so nice to receive such lovely comments about your stay at the Regina Elena and we’d like to thank you very much!
We are proud to know that you noticed and loved every detail of our welcome and service: this is of extreme importance to us, as it makes us understand that the efforts and the deep care we put into our daily job is really appreciated by our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next holidays on your own!
With our kindest regards.
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017

Excellent room and location small pool on the roof ideal for cooling down after a day walking. Restaurant evening dinner was of an extremely high standard. Breakfast was equally as good. Had lunch in beach restaurant which was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Our sincerest thank you for your much-appreciated review, Mr Eddie!
We are so glad to read that you have particularly enjoyed the excellence of the different meals served at both our restaurants “La Conchiglia” and “Principessa”. We will be happy to share your praise with our Chef Giuseppe, who keeps delighting us with his appetizing dishes!
We do hope you will choose our hotel again for another ideal holiday in this region.
With our kindest regards.
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

I read the reviews before staying here and they were somewhat mixed. So took the plunge and went ahead and booked. BIG MISTAKE.

ROOM NOISE
We had room 426 which is right outside of the lift, which is why we immediately asked to be moved. However being August they were fully booked and we had to stay put. Little did we know the worst was yet to come. Aside from the room being extremely small as well as the bathroom, but the balcony (we had sea view) being a decent size. The worst part was the paper thin interconnecting doors. There was a family next door who came back late and kept us awake until 2am. Not because they where loud. But because of the poorly insulated interconnecting door and the gap underneath where the sound comes straight into your room. We could hear every word the family spoke, every shower and a every flush. I took a recording and went down to reception. There was nothing they could do because they were full but they left a note for the manager. It was clear i was not the first person to complain. The noise died down at 2am and we finally got to sleep. But the next morning we were woken by the noise from people going into the lift and what seem to be hovering above us (8am).

I went down in the morning and the receptionist called the manager about our complaint. Without apology they offered to move us to another room which would become available later. When we came back later they had moved us as promised and we hesitantly went to our new room. Let's just say if you get room 430 you have hit the jackpot. Great spacious room, away from the lift, no interconnecting door and a great size bedroom, bathroom and balcony.

At check out I saw the manager and explained my disappointment. He was extremely apologetic and provided token compensation. However I explained to him the noise issue is not acceptable and easy to fix. I hope they fix it soon.

POOL
One of the reasons I booked this hotel was for the pool. However waist of time as it's extremely small, extremely cold and all the (maybe 20) seats are taken. However if your happy to pay 18 euro per person to use their beach it's not too bad, although getting into the sea water is via a pier with steps. Also sun beds extremely close to one another.

BREAKFAST
Average at best but have nice space outside if you can get a seat and they do a super apple cake.

Hope this helps everyone including the hotel, as it could be easily improved with little investment.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jet3634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for your feedback, which will certainly help us with its constructive criticisms that will be taken into the highest consideration. Every year, we invest in renovation and in modernizing, where we think it is necessary, because we want to provide every guest with an excellent experience and to be able to exceed the most demanding requests.
Concerning the pool, we would like to let you know that we check and monitor the water temperature every morning. It is a pity you did not appreciate the gorgeous view on the sea from the roof, where our Jacuzzi and swimming pool are situated. As the rooftop facilities are open all day long (from 9 am to 8 pm), everybody has the opportunity to get a seat sooner or later. However, their number is suitable for the size of the roof, in order to allow an agreeable time to pool lovers.
Furthermore, many clients do enjoy using our private beach, although sunbeds have an extra cost.
We are happy you loved the just renewed relaxing garden facing the water, where you spent lovely moments having breakfast and…. tasting our special apple cake!
Looking forward to welcoming you again to Regina Elena Hotel, kind regards.
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 x nights at a cost of €500. Quite honestly we expected a lot more for our money!
We have been touring Europe for 3 weeks, staying in 4&5 star hotels. This is the worst we have experienced so far.
I'll give you the positives and negatives...

Positives;
Good location
Close to sea (concrete beach)
Parking available with the hotel
Good air conditioning
Reasonably sized room
Free bike rental for 2 hours
Clean room

Negatives
1980's style hotel - think of a run down hotel in Blackpool
Disturbing decor - e.g - artist illustration of a gunfire massacre
Rude staff, I had the phone put down on me because the receptionist couldn't understand English and got frustrated.
Breakfast - the scrambled eggs were made with powered eggs and the Orange juice was just strong cordial.
Our €15 Euro salad at the beach bar consisted of left over cheese and bacon from breakfast, one type of salad leaf and some mayonnaise from a bottle.
Resembled an old people's home. Glass fronted building with elderly people sitting in the window.
Terrible small and rickety lifts
Expensive car park ( not under cover)

The place is in serious need of a revamp. We stayed here last minute and certainly learnt our lesson!

My advice would be not to stay here. Plenty of other hotels that are much better at a similar cost.

Santa Margarita is a little bit like an upmarket Skegness. Portofino is a bit pretentious. However the restaurants we ate at in Santa Margarita were lovely (not the hotel one!!!!).

Visit Tuscany instead!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Katj373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2017

Dear Katj373,
Thank you for telling us what you liked at our hotel and what you think should be improved.
We carefully analyze all the suggestions we receive, in order to deliver a better and better service to all our guests, of whom we want to satisfy all the requests.
Yours is certainly an honest review, as much as hundreds of other reviews rating 4 and 5.
We apologize about our staff behavior on the phone, probably there was a temporary problem with the phone line; indeed everyone speaks English very well and we are sure that during your stay, you have realized that usually our staff is very friendly and helpful with everybody.
Let us clarify something about food: all the dishes cooked by our Chef are made of a wide selection of fresh top quality ingredients.
Concerning car parking, we have a wide yard and also an underground parking, with an advanced technology system, which includes 180 covered places that you must have missed!
Above all, we did not think elderly people sitting in our veranda among the different aged guests represented a problem for someone! Our house is open to everybody!
We can’t discuss your personal opinions regarding Santa Margherita and Portofino: they are among the most famous and wonderful places in the whole world.
Best regards.
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews