We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (684)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveler rating
260
272
100
33
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
272
100
33
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool private beach underground tunnel large tour groups insight tour beach bar sea view reception staff top floor lovely hotel mediterranean sea bus stop reasonable size other hotels nice room main building cinque terre
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 683 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

I read the reviews before staying here and they were somewhat mixed. So took the plunge and went ahead and booked. BIG MISTAKE.

ROOM NOISE
We had room 426 which is right outside of the lift, which is why we immediately asked to be moved. However being August they were fully booked and we had to stay put. Little did we know the worst was yet to come. Aside from the room being extremely small as well as the bathroom, but the balcony (we had sea view) being a decent size. The worst part was the paper thin interconnecting doors. There was a family next door who came back late and kept us awake until 2am. Not because they where loud. But because of the poorly insulated interconnecting door and the gap underneath where the sound comes straight into your room. We could hear every word the family spoke, every shower and a every flush. I took a recording and went down to reception. There was nothing they could do because they were full but they left a note for the manager. It was clear i was not the first person to complain. The noise died down at 2am and we finally got to sleep. But the next morning we were woken by the noise from people going into the lift and what seem to be hovering above us (8am).

I went down in the morning and the receptionist called the manager about our complaint. Without apology they offered to move us to another room which would become available later. When we came back later they had moved us as promised and we hesitantly went to our new room. Let's just say if you get room 430 you have hit the jackpot. Great spacious room, away from the lift, no interconnecting door and a great size bedroom, bathroom and balcony.

At check out I saw the manager and explained my disappointment. He was extremely apologetic and provided token compensation. However I explained to him the noise issue is not acceptable and easy to fix. I hope they fix it soon.

POOL
One of the reasons I booked this hotel was for the pool. However waist of time as it's extremely small, extremely cold and all the (maybe 20) seats are taken. However if your happy to pay 18 euro per person to use their beach it's not too bad, although getting into the sea water is via a pier with steps. Also sun beds extremely close to one another.

BREAKFAST
Average at best but have nice space outside if you can get a seat and they do a super apple cake.

Hope this helps everyone including the hotel, as it could be easily improved with little investment.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jet3634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for your feedback, which will certainly help us with its constructive criticisms that will be taken into the highest consideration. Every year, we invest in renovation and in modernizing, where we think it is necessary, because we want to provide every guest with an excellent experience and to be able to exceed the most demanding requests.
Concerning the pool, we would like to let you know that we check and monitor the water temperature every morning. It is a pity you did not appreciate the gorgeous view on the sea from the roof, where our Jacuzzi and swimming pool are situated. As the rooftop facilities are open all day long (from 9 am to 8 pm), everybody has the opportunity to get a seat sooner or later. However, their number is suitable for the size of the roof, in order to allow an agreeable time to pool lovers.
Furthermore, many clients do enjoy using our private beach, although sunbeds have an extra cost.
We are happy you loved the just renewed relaxing garden facing the water, where you spent lovely moments having breakfast and…. tasting our special apple cake!
Looking forward to welcoming you again to Regina Elena Hotel, kind regards.
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 x nights at a cost of €500. Quite honestly we expected a lot more for our money!
We have been touring Europe for 3 weeks, staying in 4&5 star hotels. This is the worst we have experienced so far.
I'll give you the positives and negatives...

Positives;
Good location
Close to sea (concrete beach)
Parking available with the hotel
Good air conditioning
Reasonably sized room
Free bike rental for 2 hours
Clean room

Negatives
1980's style hotel - think of a run down hotel in Blackpool
Disturbing decor - e.g - artist illustration of a gunfire massacre
Rude staff, I had the phone put down on me because the receptionist couldn't understand English and got frustrated.
Breakfast - the scrambled eggs were made with powered eggs and the Orange juice was just strong cordial.
Our €15 Euro salad at the beach bar consisted of left over cheese and bacon from breakfast, one type of salad leaf and some mayonnaise from a bottle.
Resembled an old people's home. Glass fronted building with elderly people sitting in the window.
Terrible small and rickety lifts
Expensive car park ( not under cover)

The place is in serious need of a revamp. We stayed here last minute and certainly learnt our lesson!

My advice would be not to stay here. Plenty of other hotels that are much better at a similar cost.

Santa Margarita is a little bit like an upmarket Skegness. Portofino is a bit pretentious. However the restaurants we ate at in Santa Margarita were lovely (not the hotel one!!!!).

Visit Tuscany instead!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Katj373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2017

Dear Katj373,
Thank you for telling us what you liked at our hotel and what you think should be improved.
We carefully analyze all the suggestions we receive, in order to deliver a better and better service to all our guests, of whom we want to satisfy all the requests.
Yours is certainly an honest review, as much as hundreds of other reviews rating 4 and 5.
We apologize about our staff behavior on the phone, probably there was a temporary problem with the phone line; indeed everyone speaks English very well and we are sure that during your stay, you have realized that usually our staff is very friendly and helpful with everybody.
Let us clarify something about food: all the dishes cooked by our Chef are made of a wide selection of fresh top quality ingredients.
Concerning car parking, we have a wide yard and also an underground parking, with an advanced technology system, which includes 180 covered places that you must have missed!
Above all, we did not think elderly people sitting in our veranda among the different aged guests represented a problem for someone! Our house is open to everybody!
We can’t discuss your personal opinions regarding Santa Margherita and Portofino: they are among the most famous and wonderful places in the whole world.
Best regards.
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

Great hotel in a really good location, we stayed 4 nights here and it had everything we needed Good breakfast, private beach and rooftop with pool and spa. Was only a 10 minute walk to the main part of Santa Margherita and walking distance to Portofino (if your up to it)

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2017

Thank you ever so much dear Mrs. Katie, for your lovely comments!
We are delighted to come to know that our hotel, with its facilities and high standard of service, was just perfect for a wonderful holiday.
We are sure you will keep a beautiful memory of the time spent with us and hope you’ll repeat this experience soon again!
With our kindest regards.
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017

I have been at this hotel many times. I love Santa Margherita LIgure and it is not a cheap place but it is so beautiful.
Regina Elena has an exceptional location: this time we booked a sea view double room and though it was expensive, to sit at the balcony and contemplate the bay from there has no price.
Staff is helpful: we had a trouble with Avis and the woman in charge argue with the man as if it was her own problem. Well done¡¡¡
Rooms are not luxurious but you have everything you need and the bathroom has been recently renovated.
Breakfast room has been renovated and it is very pleasant: many choices and food is even better than the year before.
This hotel has its private beach which is not cheap but it is safe and you can swimming the transparent water of Ligurian Sea. Perhaps Bar there needs a refurbishment but food is tasty.
Prices at the Hotel bar are reasonable.We paid for a Cognac just half the price we have paid a week in advance at Vienna.
Expecting to come back and though it is not a cheap option it is an enchanting place.
Wish I were there again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreaF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Dear Andrea,
It is such a pleasure to welcome you every time to our hotel! We think people love to come back to our place, because we manage to make them feel like at home and this is really the most beautiful success we can have! Especially, we are delighted to identify ourselves with our guests and make every effort possible to solve their problems.
We are very glad to understand that you realized about our improvements, from the past years, in the food selection at breakfast and in the room renovations. We work constantly to continue offering an excellent standard to all those who decide to spend their holidays with us.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again to Regina Elena!
With our warmest regards.
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017

Please avoid this room. You can hear the running water from every toilet being flushed day and night as though it was from your own toilet. Also we booked a standard
Sea view room but in fact we had very minimal view of water and more a tree view.
They should have advertised this room as a very partial sea view.
I agree staff was friendly Francesca was very good, however, when confronted
About the flushing water the staff said they were unaware, which I find hard to
Believe as all the plumbing is in a room right next door and when asked about the sea view they said a standard room means no full sea view.
Location was great SML is a beautiful location.

Room Tip: Not 232 or 231
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 856traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Dear 856traveller,
We are sorry you were not totally satisfied with the view of your room; actually, as explained while you were here, “standard sea view room” means “partial, lateral sea view room”, which can be with or without a balcony and yours was with a balcony, even if there was no special request about it.
We deeply apologize for the inconvenience caused by the noise of the water in your room, which is usually very soft and does not bother the rest of guests staying in that room.
We hope you’ll be going to come back to our hotel soon; please get in touch with us directly and we will be happy to book exactly the kind of room you wish.
Thanking you for your nice words about the staff, kind regards.
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews