We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awful!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Among the beauty and charm of Santa Margherita this building is as though awful geant from the 70-s. Dieu merci it is situated far from the centre of this lovely town. It does have a private beach, but you have to pay for sunbed 18 E per person, more expencive, than on the nearst private beaches. The room is very tiny. No soundproofing at all. The road is very close. Impossible to sleep. Poor breakfast. Poor hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucyvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Mrs Lucyvy,
We were a little bit surprised to read your review now, after seven months since your holiday with us and we are sorry you did not say anything to us during your stay.
The hotel, built in 1905 and regularly renovated every year, dieu merci is located on the lovely promenade leading to Portofino and 500 meters from the town center.
As you say, sun beds on the nearby beach are cheaper than ours, but on our beach you may find many additional services such as a Miniclub and a swimming pool for children, tennis table and so on. Anyway, as you surely remember, the entrance to our private beach as the towel that we provide are free of charge. Besides, on the roof we have our lovely solarium, Jacuzzi and swimming pool which are free of charge too.
We regret to understand that you didn’t like our breakfast because it is normally very much appreciated thanks to the large variety of food, including several local products, and to its high standard of quality.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a very nice experience, first aim of our policy.
Thanking you,
Francesca Ramazzotto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    186
    68
    26
    11
See reviews for
84
248
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed 2 nights as part of Globus tour. Fantastic location - straight across from the beach on the road to Portofino and within 10 min walk to the main port area. Multitude of restaurants are within easy walk for lunch and dinner. Hotel very clean and staff very friendly. Nice area available to sit and have a drink or coffee just behind the reception area. Our room (133) was tiny! but it was very clean and we had a small balcony where it was lovely to sit and watch the day begin or end with a small but good view. Staff were very friendly and helpful on the whole, though a few of the breakfast staff needed to learn how to at least smile. The reception staff were so helpful with anything we asked. Air-con in the room but also could open the balcony door (fresh air is always good), however this did let in a lot of mosquitos once the sun went down. We found they were deterred if the curtain was drawn. No tea & coffee making facilities but tissues were provided. The hair dryer looked more like a vacuum cleaner (noticed these in a few Italian hotels) and was not very effective. Breakfast was fairly typical of the continental style we were offered throughout Italy (we toured for 3 weeks in total) with the usual bad coffee and lots of sweet food (just don't get that). I dont know if 'non-tour' group guests get a different menu. Wifi was fairly good and free. I would stay here again as it has a nice feel and is in such a fantastic location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pidge51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

We had a lovely stay at this hotel for a couple of nights. We hadn't booked anywhere to stay when we arrived in the resort but this one was in a very good location close to the sea. We were lucky to get a sea view room with a big balcony and the view was so beautiful you could sit there for hours. The roof top pool was small but it was a real sun trap with fantastic views again. The beach club was good too - not great for swimming but good for relaxing on a sun lounger.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.7 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#11 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
Address: Via Milite Ignoto 44, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure, the BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena is located on the lovely sea road leading to Portofino, with charming panoramic view. The garden leads directly to the nice private beach, with restaurant and bar. This property is open all year round and has a large covered private parking at a nominal fee. Solarium on the roof top (open from May to October), with heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi, to ejoy the wonderful view while relaxing under the warm Ligurian sun. Comfortable rooms, most of them with balcony and sea view, free wi-fi connection in the main building and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Regina Elena Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure
Regina Elena Best Western
Best Western Santa Margherita Ligure
Santa Margherita Ligure Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing