We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“splendid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Margherita Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Certificate of Excellence
Zwalm, Belgium
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“splendid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

was just fine to be there.! It was a fine location, the rooms where splendid and the people charming. We were there at a note bianco - the stores where open all night, so it was a very nice stop. In the evening you can sit in the frontgarden and sip a nice cocktail.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linda v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    138
    28
    11
    3
See reviews for
94
313
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Modern, stylish and beautifully furnished in mostly black and chrome. One block away from the front so no sea views but that didn't bother us. Easy walk to the front ( less than 2 minutes). Staff very friendly with excellent English and high levels of customer service. Breakfast was included in our rate. It wasn't outstanding but perfectly fine for 2 adults and 2 teenagers all with different requirements. We had a twin room and a suite and both were good. Like most Italian rooms, the twin room wasn't big but the suite was spacious. All in all we would recommend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kaybewoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Lovely hotel. Seemed brand new with very modern furnishings and decor. Great location if you plan to use the train to go to cinque terre or other towns on the coast. We intended to spend most of our time out of the room touring the cinque terre and other towns so the lack of view didn't bother us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vanessam714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairbanks, alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Modern and clean hotel near shopping, cafes and train station. No seaviews. The extensive use of the color black in the interior was depressing. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included and adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank srainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The Santa Margherita Palace has no sea views and it is competing with hotels on the seafront which have some of the most spectacular views you will ever see in your life. The problem with those hotels is that, probably with the exception of the Miramare, those sea front hotels suffer from extraordinarily high prices, or shoddy service and facilities, or in some cases - incredibly - both. That's what makes the Palace the smartest choice in a town with a highly competitive, pricey and complicated hotel scene.

The Palace is smack bang in the heart of town, a stone's throw from the sea in a quiet and pleasant road. It is modern and has been designed within an inch of its life. Every detail has been considered. We stayed in the cheapest room - the only one available due to a big wedding party. Two things to note about that fact:

1) The room was fabulous. It was large, beautifully appointed and featured an incredible bathroom with huge rain shower. The more expensive rooms must be terrific, and many have balconies. But it's also comforting to know if you go for the 'cheap' option, you are still in for a treat.
2) We heard no noise from the wedding. In fact, we heard no noise at all.

There is no restaurant in the hotel, though they do a fantastic breakfast buffet and will cook you fresh eggs too, if you ask. There is a brilliantly over the top bar with a simple bar menu during the day. Santa Margherita is a town blessed with culinary excellence, so you do not at all miss the fact there is no restaurant.

The service is friendly and efficient rather than formal or grand - suited us just fine.

This is a really delightful place to stay in a seaside town that is just second to none for beauty, food and location.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank troubleinthecit... t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palisades Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Location was primo! Train station very close as is anything else you would want/need. Rooms well appointed. We had a 1 bedroom suite with outdoor jacuzzi which was wonderful. Great breakfast, plentiful selection. The staff was very pleasant, attentive and helpful with whatever you needed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend. Enjoy, this part of Italy is like heaven!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cissysquit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Terrific location, just down the street from the train station and one block to the beach and shops and the center of town.

Pleasant staff, spacious, comfortable rooms (especially when they offer to upgrade the room). Clean, modern room designs with very nice bathrooms and a wonderful bath/shower.

Horrible Internet connection in the room. It was excellent in the lobby, but the connection was intermittent in the room.

The breakfast offerings were vast - fresh fruits, breads, Danishes, juices, meats cereals, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby4864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 stars 534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 stars 606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#13 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
#8 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Margherita Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Margherita Palace

Property: Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Address: Via Roma 9, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Margherita Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Santa Margherita Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing