We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Contemporary Cute”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Clean Contemporary Cute”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Planned to stay for 3 nights and ended up extending extra night. Staff were really helpful in organizing changes for us with onward hotels. Room was very nice and as they had availability we got upgraded. Great location if you don't necessarily want sea views - walk everywhere - even walked to Portofino. Great little restaurants on the sea front as well as in the back streets. Fish arrives daily from little boats so I was in my glory.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skierPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    165
    39
    13
    8
See reviews for
118
377
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a 3 night stay at the Santa Margherita Palace and were more than satisfied. Although not on the beach front the hotel is well located a few roads behind in a nice quiet street. The rooms are extremely clean, comfortable and well air conditioned which makes for a decent night's sleep in the August heat. The hotel interior wasn't necessarily to our liking but it's a case of different strokes for different folks when it comes to decor. Although the staff may seem a little awkward they are actually very helpful. Gianluca on the front desk came up trumps with some excellent restaurant recommendations including Antonio's and L'Altro Eden which were delicious.
If you do decide to head into Portofino for an evening my adice would be to take the bus. It's a little chaotic but way more reasonable than a local taxi which will cost 35 euros one way! If you're feeling frivolous treat yourself to a day on the beach at Bagni Fiore in Paraggi. It might cost 40 euros per lounger but the bay is spectacular and the water crystal clear...it's not to be missed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n1cks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in the first two weeks of August. The hotel is very modern, recently built, very comfortable accommodations. We stayed in a suite with a terrace. The suite is somewhat smallish but very tastefully decorated. Having a terrace was precious, it is well spent extra money. Although you don't see the sea from it, nor from any of the windows, for that matter, it is big, has nice furniture and a huge jacuzzi. So, after spending morning hours at the beach, we went for lunch and then went back to the room to rest, and this when jacuzzi was most useful!

What makes this hotel special is the staff. Everyone is very courteous, helpful and accommodating, literally everyone, from the bus boy, chamber maid, or a waiter to the manager, all of the people who work for this hotel are true professionals of the hospitality business. Everyone knows that on vacation one unpleasant encounter can spoil the whole experience, so I am grateful to Santa margherita palace staff, including but not limited to Luca, Vera, Ihab, Monica, Roberto, Umberto for making our holiday memorable. the rooms are cleaned twice a day. The location of the hotel, other than away fom the beach, ( 5 minutes walk), is excellent. Also the hotel does not have a swimming pool but has a little spa. I recommend to try the spa, if anything for the massaging showers.

Breakfast room is elegant, the food is delicious, coffee is excellent. The only con that I found is that the hotel does not have direct access to the beach. It is not a beach front property. Most beaches in Santa margherita are private, you have to pay for access to have a chair and an umbrella. Therefore, a almost every hotel that does have beach access sells day passes for anyone who comes. One pass for a day for an adult is about 30 euros during June to August period. Depending on the hotel it ranges from 28 to 35 euros in this town. When I first learned of this, I was very disappointed and annoyed. We vacationed in France, saint tropez, cannes before and never paid anyone to get into mideterranean sea. There is a free public beach, very tiny one, too; that is very crowded, especially in the afternoon, but no umbrella no chair there. The beach is pebbly everywhere in santa margherita, better have water shoes.

Room Tip: Get the suite with a terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellaepoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here this year and will return. 2 years ago we stayed at the Lido hotel and it was not a good experience. This hotel is comfortable, trendy and reasonably priced for the area. The staff are excellent and speak good english if you italian is not so good! Every thing worked very well for us and no real complaints. The internet could be improved but was not a big problem. The breakfast is good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreggWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Yes, it looks great and is really trendy but I'd trade that for a more comfortable experience. In our room one of the windows lacked a drape - we found it in the wardrobe but there was no track for it to hang on. That meant there was too much light in the room for a good night's sleep.

The bathroom was very dark, making it difficult to shave, apply makeup, etc.

The third bed, a roll-away was one of the worst we've experienced, having three separate pieces of foam for the mattress.

Breakfast was good with some healthy options.

Location is very handy to the railway station and in is away from the beachfront so it is relatively quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostKnights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The 2 of us stayed for 3 nights in July 12. Every member of staff gave excellent friendly service. Hotel is well placed a 5 minute walk from the sea on a quiet side street. Room was perfect for us and kept really clean by the twice a day service visits. Someone has given a lot of thought to the design of this place. Reception team had all the info we needed eg trips, restaurants which they booked for us too. Will be going back here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We just returned from 5 nights in this hotel. It is spacious, well appointed and provides great service. The desk staff provided great recommendations, the restaurant staff were very friendly and even remembered what coffee order you have each morning. Breakfast was great.

Room Tip: One trap for those travelling and needing to connect to the outside world - wireless internet is pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevotedTraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margherita Ligure
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
887 reviews
0.3 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
687 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
641 reviews
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Margherita Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Margherita Palace

Property: Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Address: Via Roma 9, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Santa Margherita Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santa Margherita Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing