We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and trendy boutique hotel in town centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here this year and will return. 2 years ago we stayed at the Lido hotel and it was not a good experience. This hotel is comfortable, trendy and reasonably priced for the area. The staff are excellent and speak good english if you italian is not so good! Every thing worked very well for us and no real complaints. The internet could be improved but was not a big problem. The breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreggWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 645 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

Yes, it looks great and is really trendy but I'd trade that for a more comfortable experience. In our room one of the windows lacked a drape - we found it in the wardrobe but there was no track for it to hang on. That meant there was too much light in the room for a good night's sleep.

The bathroom was very dark, making it difficult to shave, apply makeup, etc.

The third bed, a roll-away was one of the worst we've experienced, having three separate pieces of foam for the mattress.

Breakfast was good with some healthy options.

Location is very handy to the railway station and in is away from the beachfront so it is relatively quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LostKnights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The 2 of us stayed for 3 nights in July 12. Every member of staff gave excellent friendly service. Hotel is well placed a 5 minute walk from the sea on a quiet side street. Room was perfect for us and kept really clean by the twice a day service visits. Someone has given a lot of thought to the design of this place. Reception team had all the info we needed eg trips, restaurants which they booked for us too. Will be going back here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We just returned from 5 nights in this hotel. It is spacious, well appointed and provides great service. The desk staff provided great recommendations, the restaurant staff were very friendly and even remembered what coffee order you have each morning. Breakfast was great.

Room Tip: One trap for those travelling and needing to connect to the outside world - wireless internet is pro...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevotedTraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our family just returned from 4 marvelous days at the Hotel Santa Margherita Palace. This is a Jewel. We loved the location, the stylish and spacious suites, the A/C (yes - the A/C worked and you were able to change the temperature), their bathrooms were state of the art. The rooms were decorated in whites and they were clean and bright. The staff went out of their way to please us. Their breakfast buffet (included with your room) was delicious and had lots of choices. The location is perfect you don't have to use your car at all. I highly recommend this hotel and this town as we found nearby Portofino to be to crowed and the people snotty. We are planning to return to Hotel Santa Margherite Palace.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. but if you don't want to wait for the elevator choose the 1st or 2nd fl...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WittyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

A 4 night stay here was flawless. Beautiful room (jr. suite) with terrace. Good buffet breakfast. Very helpful desk staff for restaurant and sight recommendations. Lovely seaside town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 123happytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel is very well located on a charming street and very close to the beach.

Design is great, it has a very mordern, but cosy feel.

Wonderful staff, excellent breakfast, beautiful rooms.

Really, there was not one thing that I did not like

Some rooms have a view of the parking, so select the ones to book.

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not have a view on the parking lot. All rooms are fairly big. Some have la...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexandra35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margherita Ligure
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
898 reviews
0.3 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Imperiale Palace Hotel
Imperiale Palace Hotel
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Margherita Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Margherita Palace

Address: Via Roma 9, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range: $180 - $613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Santa Margherita Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santa Margherita Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing