We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming friendly little hotel, good value for portofino”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Argentina Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Charming friendly little hotel, good value for portofino”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night here. Greeted warmly by the owner and shown to a small but fully equipped room. We paid a little more for an ensuite. All the things you would expect from larger hotels, toiletries, free wifi... But (in portofino terms) at a reasonable price. Buses convenient for Santa margherita and portofino though the latter is an easy walk. Breakfast excellent and restaurant has very pleasant ambience. Staff well informed and helpful. Only negative, drinks in the hotel are very expensive - portofino harbour expensive!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zzzzzless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    86
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
28
118
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Hotel Argentina is a really nice hotel, situated near the Praggi beach. The hotel owners are really nice and helpfull. The beach of Paraggi is as shown in magazines, but be aware, a spot will set you back 30 euro per person. I would recommend to walk (or take the bus) to St Margerotha Liguiri or walk for 5 min to the right to find nice beaches for free or less money.
You can easily correspond to the owners via mail for special prices and bookings ;-)

Room Tip: Get a room with an indoor bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel may be rated two stars ( I disagree) but inside, the rooms and bathrooms are fresh and well appointed, plenty of hot water for a soothing shower with towels nice, thick, big and fluffy (plenty of hand towels too) plus comfortable beds and decent size rooms. Not forgetting the quality soft tissue toilet rolls with a bidet thrown in for good measure.
You get personalized services from John the owner and nothing is too difficult for this friendly man. Any issues (if any) are looked into promptly and sorted.
Compared to the 2 stars rated Ibis Budget (stayed in one while in Nice) which was tacky, with a bathroom that needs attention, a noisy ancient aircond, stringy towels... I would say Hotel Argentina is by far way above average.
Keep up the good work John!

Room Tip: request for a room on a lower floor if you have difficulty climbing stairs. The owner John will be h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmilicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Prices in the Portafino and Sainta Margherita area are so expensive and tucked into between the two towns is the best beautiful swimming beach area called Paraggi.
Hotel Argentina offers excellent, clean rooms with a great breakfast and very friendly staff who are willing to help with anything. We were able to walk to either town but the local bus is right on the door. I would definitely go back to Hotel Argentina

Kaye, Sydney, Australia

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had a family trip in Italy and we stayed 1 night in this hotel and it was my birthday that night. Many thanks for the owner of the hotel, we lliked it very much. The hotel is cozy and comfortable, the breakfast was one of the best, the location is awesome. I do very recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for 3 days on May 2013. I stayed on room 16 Paradise, never a name was so well used. it was indeed paradise the view from the private terrace and the room was small but functional. I will come back to this place.

The only cons are the fact that there is no elevator and I was on the forth room, but if you are young and not with heavy luggage you can stand stairs.

Thanks to Giorgo for his information and for setting up dinner on short notice.

Room Tip: Try to top floor if you can stand the stairs. In low season the restaurant may be closed, but beware...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RomoVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Reviewing is an onerous task. One has to bear the responsibility of saying it like it is, without being unnecessarily unkind or effusive. It's not for everyone. Just as getting old is to for cissies, so is reviewing really bad hotels. So, in the interests of impartiality, I will start with the good points.
The hotel is clean. The cleaner attacks the rooms with a vigour usually reserved for marathon runners and the obsessive compulsive germ phobics among us.
Right, that's the good points. Now, on to the bad.
Situated in a micro- cove almost but not quite adjacent enough to Portofino, Mecca for the uber rich and wannabes, Paraggi's main claim to fame is its trucked -in sand, for which one pays an exorbitant fee for bum rights. The other contents of Paraggi are two hotels, a small contingent of scruffy (closed) bars, and a convenience store. That's all.
The hotel sits back from the beach, alongside an alley down which hikers stomp at regular intervals. You hear that a lot, because there's nowhere to actually sit in the hotel, other than for breakfast. No lounge chairs, zip, nada. As in your room, the bed fills the entire space, such that when sitting on it your knees hit your suitcase, that doesn't leave a lot of spots. Factor in that in April, without any warning, the hotelier announced that no, dinner would not be served as the restaurant was closed, and by the way, so were all the others in town...."but its 7.30!" We wailed. The owner pointed out the bus stop, and suggested we use it. That was the first night. Breakfast the next morning was OK, but my companion and I wished we has eaten more, because the leftovers got served again the next day. Sour milk and all. We picked dispiritedly through the lean morsels, as we planned our bus trip to get the next dinner over and done with. The next evening, we sat on the porch, reluctant to stare at the walls in our rooms, and tried to order a drink from the bar, to mute the incessant roar of traffic, way in excess of what one would expect in a tiny town. It was like a scene in the Rocky Horror film, as motorcyclists drowned out conversation and rational thought, and Ferraris zipped past on their way to more salubrious climes.
Alas, having a drink was difficult- the hotel 'bar' closed at 7. I was reduced to scratching outside the door, looking pathetic, to secure a glass of wine.
And that, friends, was my last night in this dreary wasteland of a hotel. It might be better in high season, but for the sake of all you hold dear, do not attempt to check in during April.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the rooms with micro- verandas 3 and 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindalou086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margherita Ligure
0.4 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eight Hotel Paraggi
Eight Hotel Paraggi
#1 of 1 in Paraggi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albergo Nazionale
Albergo Nazionale
#4 of 5 in Portofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Argentina Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Argentina Portofino

Property: Hotel Argentina Portofino
Address: Via Paraggi a Monte 56 | Paraggi, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Argentina Portofino 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and cosy Hotel B&B right on Paraggi bay with its sandy beach and emerald green waters. Only 12 rooms, well appointed with air condition, minibar, television and free internet access in wi-fi.The hotel is ideally located on the road between Santa Margherita Ligure and Portofino that can be reached in only 15 minutes walking. Private car park in the immediate vicinity. Wine and snack bar available at hotel ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Argentina Portofino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing