We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but lacking a spark”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Miramare
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel but lacking a spark”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for about a week in mid-June 2010. We've previously stayed in exceptional hotels in Italy and elsewhere (the Hotel Poseidon in Positano, for example), and while Grand Hotel Miramare is a good hotel, there's a spark missing from it which is needed for me to consider it a top hotel (especially at the price).

There are lots of positives - the location is excellent, right on the seafront in Santa Margherita. There's a decent sized swimming pool (although bear in mind that it is salt water, not fresh water) and access to a private beach (although bear in mind it is rocky, not sandy). The sea-view rooms have great views across the bay, and the rooms and the hotel generally are done with the plush opulence that you might expect from a grand hotel.

So why don't I rate it higher? A couple of reasons, both minor, but which grated slightly when spending as much on a hotel when we did here. First, on the day we arrived, there was a huge amount of noise coming from a boat yard across the road from the hotel (something like a boat being broken up with heavy machinery). We complained to reception and asked to be moved to a higher room or a room on the other side of the hotel, but pretty much got brushed off without being taken seriously. Second, the hotel is right on the main road between Santa Margherita and Portofino, and so the sea-facing rooms (at least our room) get quite a lot of noise from the traffic.

Overall though, if you want to stay in Santa Margherita this is a good option at the top end of the range of hotels.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthLondoner1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    164
    34
    14
    2
See reviews for
152
441
29
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

After being in Rome, Florence, and Venice...Santa Margherita was a nice and calming destination. Our previous hotels were Starwood Properties on points, so it was nice to try something new. The location was wonderful, close proximity to restaurants and harbor. Hotel was very nice and had a beautiful garden in the back. The odor in the garden from the flowers was heavenly. The room was nice and had a crisp, clean decor to it. The balcony over looking the sea was a really nice size and relaxing to sit and enjoy the beautiful view. Lovely hotel....would definitely come back!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetraveling0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

Great staff and tremendous views make this a resort hotel that I would recommend for couples and families alike.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidOinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

This a wonderful hotel with a caring professional staff. Our room was lovely - very romantic.
Breakfasts were excellent - we did not try the dining room for dinner. Bar and terrace are scenic and relaxed. Concierge service is absolutely outstanding! This entire area is wonderful. Santa Margherita is a good launching point for Cinque Terre and close to beautiful Porto Fino. There are many good (but not excellent) restaurants in town. The harbor is delightful!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler1567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

We stayed at Grand Hotel Miramare for an extended weekend ladies trip and we couldn't enjoy it more! Santa Margerita is wonderful place and Grand Hotel Miramare is the best hotel to stay. It has an excellent location, rooms have wonderful view, restaurant is great (you must try octopus starter) and treatment in Spa was amazing. Staff is very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Thank you for a great experience and most relaxing weekend!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our first wedding anniversary and we thought this hotel was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, anywhere in the world, including the Far East. The service is exceptional. The rooms are spacious, the beds are to die for, the bathrooms sparkle and the views from the balcony's are heavenly. The food was great, the gardens are lovely. It's a short stroll into Santa from the hotel (less than 5 mins walk) and we can not recommend it highly enough. We would return again without doubt. A hidden gem.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

The Miramare has really made a deep impression on me. It's location is fantastic, rooms are in excellent condition and staff was professional, warm and gave me the feeling of being special. It was a cloudy weekend, but even then the hotel looks stunning when you approach it from the city center. I was welcomed by the receptionist who upgraded me from a single sea view with balcony to a double sea view balcony room. I was shown to my room which was compact but well decorated with a large beautiful bathroom. A balcony overlooking the bay of Ligure is just priceless, even without sunshine. I loved it. when I came down just a half hour later, I noticed that the concierge and the bar tender already knew my name. This I find amazing. I had a few glasses of prosecco sitting out on the terrace and being in this grand old hotel, in this beautiful town just transports you to a different state of mind. The hotel seemed not too busy in this weekend, but I think even in season it will be able to maintain that impression of discretion and privilege with its guests. The pool was in process of being made ready for the season. This is a gorgeous pool in beautiful landscaping, beach didn't look that attractive, but then again it wasn't a good day weatherwise. Thank god, most of the hotel escaped renovation in the 80s or 90s, it remains authentic and classy, except for the small lobby which looks like a refitted Paris subway station, after it was modernized some 15 years ago. I missed diner in the restaurant although the menu seemed interesting and friendly priced. Free internet is provided in the room -like it should be- but the sound of the waves and the view over the bay is better entertainment at night. Breakfast was extensive and of high quality with a good Spumante being served.

Such a pity that the receptionist at check-out was able to complete that transaction without a single word. After being so impressed with everyone and everything in the hotel this was a huge disappointment and a crime against the reputation and service level of this hotel. I'll forget about it, but at that time it left me with a bitter aftertaste of an otherwise excellent experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ny501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margherita Ligure
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.6 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Miramare

Property: Grand Hotel Miramare
Address: Via Milite Ignoto 30, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Miramare stands in the heart of the Italian Riviera amidst the hills and the sea. The drive from the Genoa airport to Santa Margherita Ligure will only take 40 minutes while enjoying wonderful views of the area. Overlooking the promenade to the beautiful village of Portofino, this 100-year-old, family-owned hotel is one of the region’s most exclusive venues. Its elegant ambience, impeccable service and culinary delights attract an international clientele who appreciate a comfortable blend of traditional style and modern amenities. For guests’ free time, the property offers a sea water outdoors swimming-pool, a Mediterranean garden, a beach with space reserved for hotel guests and E’SPAce, the hotel’s wellness centre where body treatments and massages can be enjoyed. The “Barbecue Pool Restaurant” opens for buffet lunch during the summer season; “Les Bougainvillées” offers Italian and international cuisine and is open year-round; Bar “Le Colonne” with its Liberty-style interior and outside terrace and the “Barracuda” piano bar for fun filled evenings. The Miramare Convention Centre offers 7 multi-functional meeting rooms in various sizes and layouts, holding a maximum of 380 delegates in theatre style and offering a variety of audio-visual equipment. The setup is also ideal for cocktail parties, private functions, product launches and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing