We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Niceish, you pay for the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Miramare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Ok, you come to this part of the coast to visit Portofino. Fair enough, they do have pricing power. The hotel is a grand old dame which would have fit perfectly in a grand tour.

The grounds of the hotel are really beautiful and the gardens charming. The room was nice enough to lounge about although getting the attention of a waiter was impossible, so we did without cocktail and the hotel without additional revenue.

The rooms are underwhelming, you really pay for the location rather than an amazing place. The breakfast was very nice with waiting staff on a roll and very attentive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JohnSINSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 932 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014

We recently spent 12 nights at the hotel(having been there before) and had a marvelous time. The hotel gets better and better, if that's possible. The staff was so helpful and courteous,helping us many,many times--especially Moreno and Gianluca at the Concierge desk. Our room overlooking the sea was terrific and the pool was large and very refreshing.Hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from town center. Grand Hotel Miramare is old world elegance, but is fresh,crisp and very clean throughout. Go there.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank howardtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

I just think this is the most marvellous, old world hotel! I had a wonderful stay at the end of October last year and have been meaning to write a review. It rained the whole time, it was the end of the season, the place was empty, but still, I loved it so much! Grazie!

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I loved this grand hotel that was exceptional in every way. The location is prime - across from the pebble beach (the concessions at the beach are not owned by the hotel but some loungers are free for hotel guests, based on availability), 3 mins walk to some restaurants and about 10 mins to the center of town, and a 45-60 mins walk to Portofino (depending on your pace). The hotel gardens and pool areas are lovely. I much preferred the pool to the pebbles of the crowded beach. We never had a problem with finding a sun lounger and the pool staff is incredibly helpful. Do not miss the gardens at the rear of the hotel. The sentimental walk is both cool and tranquil, and a haven for song birds . The view over the bay is spectacular.
The hotel itself is like stepping back in time to an era of elegance and civility. Every member of staff from reception, concierge, housekeeping, pool and parking was friendly and courteous. The building is the epitome of a stately hotel. We stayed in room 506 with a balcony. The view of the sea was lovely and I enjoyed my moments on the balcony with our welcome bottle of Asti. I found the bathroom to be fine, although some may think it needs updating, I had no issue with it. Turn down service occurred every night, no matter how different our schedule. I do think it is worth splurging for the sea view rooms (balcony) but a garden view would be pretty too.
When reviewing hotels, I like to take into consideration the rate, the star rating and the style. For me, this hotel ticked all the boxes. My greatest regret was that I should have altered my schedule to spend more than 3 nights at the exquisite Grand Hotel.

Room Tip: A higher view sea view room with balcony would be best. I loved our room 506, quiet and a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank spotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Family trip with adult children and friends. Took the train from Florence to SML in late June 2014 and stayed at Grand Hotel Miramare. It was our first trip to the "Italian Riviera." It was a good rest stop at the end of week one in Italy.

Took a pre-booked taxi from the train station to hotel. We received a warm welcome from the bellman and were impressed with their professionalism and organization throughout our stay. The reception at the front desk was also pleasant and check-in went well.

We booked through booking.com for the first time and it was a good experience. I emailed the hotel after I made the reservation to ask for an extra twin bed, and the hotel responded immediately to the request and all of my questions.

We did not have an ocean view room but were happy with our clean and spacious room. We had three adults in the room for this portion of our stay (one queen/one twin) and the room was very comfortable for three. Our daughter and her girlfriend had an ocean view and we thought it would have been definitely worth the cost (although I didn't even think to ask for an ocean view at booking).

The hotel provides a great breakfast every morning as part of your stay. There are great sitting areas around the pool or facing the ocean.

The town is definitely walking distance from the hotel. We took a short taxi ride to Portofino and enjoyed a lovely dinner in a beautiful setting--a definite must-see if you haven't visited Portofino.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank cathyztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Evertything works. From the arrival, the initiative of the porters to park your car, deliver your luggage, and at departure returning your car, convertible open as it was on arrival .... The concierge with his politeness and educated gentle diplomatic way was more than helpful recommending and advising where to go, all staff, be at the reception, arrival hall, restaurant, pool, or breakfast, are amongst the most professional I have come across. The hotel is immaculate. The saltwater pool great. It is definitely good value for money.
I will be back

Room Tip: Had a room to the back to the garden, which is beautyfull. I am sure the rooms to the sea are probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The property looks beautiful; the setting is charming; the beach right across the road; tranquil gardens are very inviting; Portofino a pleasant boat ride away; and Cinque Terre easily accessible. The concierge was very friendly and extremely knowledgeable.
However, the reception desk was so efficient that they came across as being rude. I spent 30 minutes trying to attract a waiter's attention to order coffee on the terrace. The shower in the bath is always slippery and messy. And to top it all the airport style hairdryer is any woman's nightmare! While we enjoyed our stay, we didn't think it lived up to its Leading Hotel image.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Leon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margherita Ligure
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#6 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
705 reviews
1.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#5 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 6 in Portofino
704 reviews
0.6 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
805 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Miramare

Address: Via Milite Ignoto 30, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range: $305 - $1,184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Miramare stands in the heart of the Italian Riviera amidst the hills and the sea. The drive from the Genoa airport to Santa Margherita Ligure will only take 40 minutes while enjoying wonderful views of the area. Overlooking the promenade to the beautiful village of Portofino, this 100-year-old, family-owned hotel is one of the region’s most exclusive venues. Its elegant ambience, impeccable service and culinary delights attract an international clientele who appreciate a comfortable blend of traditional style and modern amenities. For guests’ free time, the property offers a sea water outdoors swimming-pool, a Mediterranean garden, a beach with space reserved for hotel guests and E’SPAce, the hotel’s wellness centre where body treatments and massages can be enjoyed. The “Barbecue Pool Restaurant” opens for buffet lunch during the summer season; “Les Bougainvillées” offers Italian and international cuisine and is open year-round; Bar “Le Colonne” with its Liberty-style interior and outside terrace and the “Barracuda” piano bar for fun filled evenings. The Miramare Convention Centre offers 7 multi-functional meeting rooms in various sizes and layouts, holding a maximum of 380 delegates in theatre style and offering a variety of audio-visual equipment. The setup is also ideal for cocktail parties, private functions, product launches and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing