We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid Service but Dated Decor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Miramare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Miramare
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Splendid Service but Dated Decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a difficult review to write as for once I am not really sure where my initial expectations should have been. This is a 4-5 star property so it isn’t fair to judge it against 5* deluxe properties, but then again it’s a member of Leading Hotels which aim to represent the finest independent properties in the world, so it’s trying to play with the “big boys”. More on that later…

Upon arrival the porter quickly helped to remove the luggage from my hire car as well as parking it for me. Unfortunately – as is often the case – the hotel has limited parking available so charges EUR25 for the privilege. I chose to park on the Via Costa (which runs behind the hotel), which is a horribly narrow road, but saves this charge that is especially annoying when it’s not even your own car!

The reception staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and really wanted to please. My party had two rooms. Both of the original rooms were smaller than I had expected. One of them had a wardrobe that smelt of damp, and a few ants were working their way up the leg of the bedside table. The hotel were very sympathetic and managed to find an alternative room (a fortuitous cancellation as they were fully booked) which was an upgrade and much more pleasant. This was really appreciated. They were always understanding and eager to ensure that I was happy.

The bedroom area itself was nicely furnished with a wood floor and had little touches that made it very comfortable. Unfortunately, the air conditioning had been switched off at “the mains”, this was annoying as being on the top floor, the room was rather warm. It looked to have been quite recently redecorated with fresh paint and wallpaper; this coupled with the view made it a perfectly pleasant place. The bathroom, for me was the weak point; the natural light and marble top were charming, the bespoke toiletries delightful, but the old sanitary-ware, small bath, and horrible blue/green tiles (very old fashioned, the sort that always have a “sticky” texture) really let it down. Bathrooms are expensive to refurbish, but for me, in this day an age, an essential part of the room to get right. The décor in the corridors, and reception area also felt dated. The bar areas were stylishly decorated, so the lack of style elsewhere is not for a lack of talent.

The gardens are very pleasant, and the pool area appears to have been recently decked and looked rather smart with wooden loungers. The views from the sea-facing front of the property are as good as they get (in Europe) and really make the room special.

I only had breakfast in the hotel, and it was perfectly acceptable, if a little unremarkable. The orange juice was not fresh, which for me is absolutely unacceptable. The rest of the items were generally good quality and relatively varied, but it wasn’t particularly memorable. Bizarrely the tables by the windows were laid so that the seats faced into the room… the view is absolutely beautiful, why not position guests so they can enjoy it? Again, I should mention that the service was excellent from all of the staff.

My conclusion? It’s a tough one as every single member of staff, without exception went out of their way to ensure that I was happy, and having the best stay possible. The housekeeping staff even called me by name, very impressive given that I was only there for a few nights. The service is without question on par with the best hotels in Italy, it is really just some of the dated décor that for me let the side down. Back to my opening statement: as a 4-5 star property without any other bells and whistles I would have been very impressed with the whole package, and considered it class leading, but I don’t think being a member of Leading Hotels does it any favours as it simply raises expectations to a level where inevitably it is falling short of what is expected. If you can get a reasonable rate and are happy with a property that offers great service, but is dated in some areas then you should have a more than satisfactory stay.

Room Tip: Sea facing are best, but you can't do much to avoid the dated bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IntlTraveller21stc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
It is will pleasure however that the reception staff did find the complimentary upgrade to one of our Classic Suites.

Please give us the opportunity, to transmit our comments in order to add information to Tripadvisor readers.

- Air-conditioning was not on during the period of your stay. Some of our guests were still using the heating and are continuing to do so because of the temperature discrepancies.
Our staff reacted however immediately to ascertain that you had the most comfortable
temperature.

- Some of our bathrooms will certainly be updated during our closing period.
- At breakfast fresh orange juice though on request is complimentary.
- Parking space at the next door garage does have a cost; this however is well indicated on our online and worldwide information

Being part of the Leading Hotel of the world is a privilege and we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.


Sincerely,

Pier Paolo Panzeri
Sales&Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    162
    34
    13
    2
See reviews for
149
427
29
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a very relaxing hotel to stay in. Every single member of staff has the ability to make you feel at ease, with just the right level of attention, not too pushy, but making sure you have everything you want. Nothing is too much trouble. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Sea view is well worth it. Ask for the Rapallo end of the corridor to avoid the big tree getting in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebordingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate your very positive comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare.

We are happy to learn that our staff have been professional while taking care of your needs and sharing these comments with them will surely continue to motivate them.

Thank you again for giving us your valued feedback and we look forward to having you visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ellen van Waveren
Guest Relations Desk
+39 0185 287013
miramare@grandhotelmiramare.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

A family run Hotel with beautiful views, excellent restaurant and elegant spaces.
The staff go out of their way to make you feel at home, whether you are a regular or a first timer, in fact I would say that the strength of the Hotel is in the warm welcome they extend to their guests.

Room Tip: the higher floors are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bernard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you so much for your very positive comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare.

We are happy to learn that the goal of the owners and the staff of making you feel “at home” while away from it has been accomplished! This message will certainly be shared to further encourage our staff to continue along this path.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to having you visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Ellen van Waveren
Guest Relations Desk
+39 0185 287013
miramare@grandhotelmiramare.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We visited the Grand Hotel Miramare while we were on our Honeymoon in early September, 2013. Given the time of the year, we were visiting as the tourist season was coming to an end. Timing was everything, and made a huge difference in our stay, as we were able to enjoy all of the benefits of the hotel - the pool, beach club, bar - without interference from others. Santa Margherita is a lovely town with a number of boutiques, restaurants, access to Portofino and hiking trails, and the Grand Hotel Miramare is well-located to take advantage of all of those benefits. It certainly has an old-world Hollywood feel, while maintaining modern amenities and charm. Our room was quite large and included an outdoor space with lounge chairs to take full advantage of the outdoors. Overall, our experience was fantastic and we were exceptionally pleased with hotel staff as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you so much for your very positive comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare and that you were able to enjoy such a special time as your Honeymoon with us! It is also very much appreciated that you have taken the time to share your experience after several months have passed by since September 2013.

Learning that you were pleased with your stay motivates us to continue working to achieve higher standards of service and to invest further in meeting your expectations and why not, exceed them!

Having you visit us again at a future “September” date to celebrate an anniversary would be lovely indeed!

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Sincerely,

Ellen van Waveren
Guest Relations Desk
+39 0185 287013
miramare@grandhotelmiramare.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

A grand hotel in a truly beautiful setting. Really enjoyed my stay here with a group of friends as it is well located to walk to Portofino or Santa Margarita, with stunning sea views. We had a room facing out the back and a lovely balcony which caught the afternoon sun. Rooms had recently been renovated and were a good size and extremely comfortable. Downside was that the website mentioned a heated pool which unfortunately was not the case. Also on our first morning which had beautiful weather the waiters refused to let us eat our breakfast out on the verandah which was very disappointing - the diningroom is a little depressing and perhaps needs a revamp. All in all an enjoyable stay and much cheaper than being in Portofino.

Room Tip: Rooms facing behind the hotel get afternoon sun and are quieter eventhough there is no sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank just_hanging123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you so much for your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare. It is important for us to receive your feedback as it allows us to work towards the goal of meeting your needs and expectations.

Please accept our apology for any inconveniences caused regarding the pool and the breakfast and we have taken notice of your recommendation regarding the dining room.

For the benefit of the readers of this feedback we would like to clarify that the hotel’s pool is NOT heated and we are sorry to find out that there are still websites not controlled by the hotel that promote it as “heated”. We will certainly continue with our efforts to update all websites that show information on the Grand Hotel Miramare in order to avoid any misleading information.

To the writer of this review, if he/she would feel inclined to send us a message to miramare@grandhotelmiramare.it with the link to the website checked where this erroneous information was given in order to have it corrected, we would highly appreciate it.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, providing us with feedback that will help us better our services and for your valuable recommendations.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ellen van Waveren
Guest Relations Desk
+39 0185 287013
miramare@grandhotelmiramare.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We spent one night in this hotel in October 2013. It is definitely one of our favorites anywhere. Book a seaview room, if possible. Our bedroom and bathroom were both large and extremely comfortable and well appointed.
What we really noticed was the culture of service in the hotel. From the front doorman to the concierge, to the reception desk, to the restaurant.... everyone was geared to the service of the guests. They were not only courteous but also friendly and engaging and accommodating.
We will definitely return to this hotel in the future.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you so much for your very positive comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare. We are happy to learn that we were able to satisfy your needs and expectations and that you decided to post this comment after several months of actually visiting us! It is very much appreciated and we will definitely pass it on to our team so that they may continue to apply themselves to a job well done!

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to having you visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ellen van Waveren
Guest Relations Desk
+39 0185 287013
miramare@grandhotelmiramare.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Location was not exactly in the city center of Sta Margherita but maybe around 15-30mins slow walk one will reach the center. But it was located at a quiet street with beautiful view of the sea and town!

We booked 3 deluxe triple room with sea view.

Check in was quick and no fuss. Reception to concierge are all courteous and polite.

Oh...please be aware that it is a pet friendly hotel. So far the rooms did not have doggy smell. Rooms are abit to the smallish side but clean. The beds are two single beds sticking together and one has to "climb" up the bed (probably we are small sized?) and it moves abit that my hubby's bed almost fell off. Once in a while we have to push it back together. No complimentary bottled water was provided (I mentioned this because most 5 star hotels we stayed so far provided us with bottled water) but there are complimentary chips and nuts.

Basic toiletries were provided (except for toothbrush). Shower pressure was adequate.

For light sleepers, probably it would be best to get the garden view rooms as with the seaview rooms, you can hear cars passing and sea waves through the night. Though the positive side is rewarded with beautiful sunrise and views in the morning!

One room key (a real key) is provided where one can leave it at the concierge (as the chain is quite heavy) when one goes out. I guess this must be quite normal as this is the 3rd hotel that we stayed that have such arrangement. So far we have nothing stolen out of our rooms.

Breakfast was the usual fare with not much changes (we ate 2 breakfast there).

Overall we had a pleasant stay and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaShellsManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our clients as this is the best way to better our services as we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations.

Please accept our apology for any inconveniences caused with the beds, the height of which had to do with the new mattresses having arrived before the corresponding boxes to hold them. No more “extra high” beds any longer as of this year!

Regarding the toothbrush please note that they, as well as toothpaste, are available from Housekeeping or the Concierge on request.

We have also taken notice of your other recommendations and will take them into consideration as a means to achieving the high level of service we aim to.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, your recommendation and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Ellen van Waveren
Guest Relations Desk
+39 0185 287013
miramare@grandhotelmiramare.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margherita Ligure
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.6 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Miramare

Property: Grand Hotel Miramare
Address: Via Milite Ignoto 30, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Miramare stands in the heart of the Italian Riviera amidst the hills and the sea. The drive from the Genoa airport to Santa Margherita Ligure will only take 40 minutes while enjoying wonderful views of the area. Overlooking the promenade to the beautiful village of Portofino, this 100-year-old, family-owned hotel is one of the region’s most exclusive venues. Its elegant ambience, impeccable service and culinary delights attract an international clientele who appreciate a comfortable blend of traditional style and modern amenities. For guests’ free time, the property offers a sea water outdoors swimming-pool, a Mediterranean garden, a beach with space reserved for hotel guests and E’SPAce, the hotel’s wellness centre where body treatments and massages can be enjoyed. The “Barbecue Pool Restaurant” opens for buffet lunch during the summer season; “Les Bougainvillées” offers Italian and international cuisine and is open year-round; Bar “Le Colonne” with its Liberty-style interior and outside terrace and the “Barracuda” piano bar for fun filled evenings. The Miramare Convention Centre offers 7 multi-functional meeting rooms in various sizes and layouts, holding a maximum of 380 delegates in theatre style and offering a variety of audio-visual equipment. The setup is also ideal for cocktail parties, private functions, product launches and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing