We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic View in a Quiet Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Miramare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Location was not exactly in the city center of Sta Margherita but maybe around 15-30mins slow walk one will reach the center. But it was located at a quiet street with beautiful view of the sea and town!

We booked 3 deluxe triple room with sea view.

Check in was quick and no fuss. Reception to concierge are all courteous and polite.

Oh...please be aware that it is a pet friendly hotel. So far the rooms did not have doggy smell. Rooms are abit to the smallish side but clean. The beds are two single beds sticking together and one has to "climb" up the bed (probably we are small sized?) and it moves abit that my hubby's bed almost fell off. Once in a while we have to push it back together. No complimentary bottled water was provided (I mentioned this because most 5 star hotels we stayed so far provided us with bottled water) but there are complimentary chips and nuts.

Basic toiletries were provided (except for toothbrush). Shower pressure was adequate.

For light sleepers, probably it would be best to get the garden view rooms as with the seaview rooms, you can hear cars passing and sea waves through the night. Though the positive side is rewarded with beautiful sunrise and views in the morning!

One room key (a real key) is provided where one can leave it at the concierge (as the chain is quite heavy) when one goes out. I guess this must be quite normal as this is the 3rd hotel that we stayed that have such arrangement. So far we have nothing stolen out of our rooms.

Breakfast was the usual fare with not much changes (we ate 2 breakfast there).

Overall we had a pleasant stay and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeaShellsManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our clients as this is the best way to better our services as we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations.

Please accept our apology for any inconveniences caused with the beds, the height of which had to do with the new mattresses having arrived before the corresponding boxes to hold them. No more “extra high” beds any longer as of this year!

Regarding the toothbrush please note that they, as well as toothpaste, are available from Housekeeping or the Concierge on request.

We have also taken notice of your other recommendations and will take them into consideration as a means to achieving the high level of service we aim to.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, your recommendation and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Ellen van Waveren
Guest Relations Desk
+39 0185 287013
miramare@grandhotelmiramare.it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 928 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is a good base to visit Portofitno, Cinque Terre, Porto Venere.
Just 5 minutes bus ride direct from the Santa Martherita Ligure Railway Station direct to the Hotel. The bus stop is in front of the hotel.

The room was ultra clean.
It was like a room that I saw in a movie and wanted to stay one day.
Very good taste furniture.
My room faced the sea. There was a road where the buses or cars ran in front of the room. But the building was located on a elevated ground so nothing disturbed me.

Every night I took my dinner at the hotel restaurant. very good dishes with good services.

There are big price difference between here and Portofino.
This is really very good hotel at reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mitsuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Wow! I stayed in seven 4 star hotels throughout my tour through Italy and this was by far the best from A to Z. From the service to the linens, everything was fabulous. Absolutely fabulous. There goal to please is apparent and very much appreciated. Being a solo traveler...the small things are important. There were a few people I encountered during my journey who will forever be a great memory. People I will never forget for there extra kindness and smiles each day. Sergio from the Grand Hotel Miramare was so kind, polite and courteous each day. I look forward to seeing him again one day.
Just as an FYI...I had been in Italy for a while and was craving Sodium/American food. They made me the most delicious cheeseburger I have had in years...b/c I don't even eat them at home. And the french fries were great too. Not to overshadow the in house restaurant where my simple spaghetti with meat sauce was SPECTACULAR!!! Along with the service and wine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed here two nights. My husband had been sick with a bug so we spent a lot of time in the room. Very comfortable and great service. Breakfast was excellent. Wonderful location and view from the room. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had been to Santa Margherita before, but hadn't stayed in the hotel. This time, we decided to spend our anniversary there. The staff was fabulous and very welcoming at all times of the day. We arrived towards the end of the season, and they had a an unexpected influx of guests on sudden long weekend. The staff did not flinch and coped Brilliantly, always with a smile and nothing was too much trouble.
We had our anniversary dinner in the restaurant, we decided to put a list together with meal, drinks, pudding, It seems the chef was gutted when for our dessert we decided to ask for Summer Berries, as when told it was our anniversary he wanted to present us with a cake, but, the challenge of presentation did not stop him and he Made sure it came on a slate with a candle and written Happy 30th Anniversary in chocolate.
WHAT SERVICE, SPECTACULARR!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are Beautiful, the views of the gardens and the view of the sea. The road is busy earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HermanandSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Grand Hotel Miramare was a wonderful surprise on our Italian Adventure. Beautiful property and the restaurant and breakfast are world class.
The staff is pleasant and took care of our every need.
It is one of the best places I have ever stayed and the price was definitely right.
Do not hesitate to stay here and take the lovely walk to Portofino!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abcxyzlmnop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just back from a few nights in the Italian riveria .. Staying in the classic Grand Hotel Miramare. The Hotel is perfectly located overlooking Ligurian Sea and only a 30 minute coastal walk to the quaint fishing village of Portofino. Book a sea view with balony ... Well worth the extra few euros! Rooms are just perfect and the breakfast unforgetable ( which included champagne!)
Carparking expensive at 25 euro a night ... But prices in the hotel were reasonable given the 5 star rating and its location on the most expensive part of the italian cost ( 3 euro for coffee... Which IS reasonable).
Some nice resturants a few minutes walk from hotel most overlooking the harbour of Santa Margherita... Enjoy!

Room Tip: Book sea view but also book a balcony! (Some sea view rooms do not have a balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dougies2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margherita Ligure
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#8 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#5 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
724 reviews
1.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
802 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
690 reviews
0.6 mi away
Imperiale Palace Hotel
Imperiale Palace Hotel
#7 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Miramare

Address: Via Milite Ignoto 30, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range: $207 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Miramare stands in the heart of the Italian Riviera amidst the hills and the sea. The drive from the Genoa airport to Santa Margherita Ligure will only take 40 minutes while enjoying wonderful views of the area. Overlooking the promenade to the beautiful village of Portofino, this 100-year-old, family-owned hotel is one of the region’s most exclusive venues. Its elegant ambience, impeccable service and culinary delights attract an international clientele who appreciate a comfortable blend of traditional style and modern amenities. For guests’ free time, the property offers a sea water outdoors swimming-pool, a Mediterranean garden, a beach with space reserved for hotel guests and E’SPAce, the hotel’s wellness centre where body treatments and massages can be enjoyed. The “Barbecue Pool Restaurant” opens for buffet lunch during the summer season; “Les Bougainvillées” offers Italian and international cuisine and is open year-round; Bar “Le Colonne” with its Liberty-style interior and outside terrace and the “Barracuda” piano bar for fun filled evenings. The Miramare Convention Centre offers 7 multi-functional meeting rooms in various sizes and layouts, holding a maximum of 380 delegates in theatre style and offering a variety of audio-visual equipment. The setup is also ideal for cocktail parties, private functions, product launches and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing