We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in SML”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Miramare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I had a great time at this very pretty hotel in Santa Margherita. Stayed three nights. Great location. Had a balcony room overlooking the water. Very helpful concierge. Good breakfast served on the outside deck. After walking around town it is clear that this is the nicest place in town. Large pool area. Unfortunately, the salt water pool is so salty that it is almost impossible to swim in (without goggles). Although the street in front of the hotel can be noisy, the windows are noise proof and rooms are very quiet. Would return if I were to make may way to Santa Margherita.

Room Tip: Go for the balcony rooms overlooking the water. Get as high a room as possible as the street below...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spinesrgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (897)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Miramare
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 897 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

After a week stay in a hotel of the "leading hotelsof the world" group, I always ask myself whether I would like to come back or not.
Several elements play their role....Hotel Miramare is somewhat expensive for the overall product you get. The old to very old clientele does not seem to mind , but significantly better offers exist for the kind of prices that are charged. May be they no longer compare prices and yust follow old habits?
The hotel itself is quite OK. The lower staff is excellent, provides a good service, which is good because senior management yust seems to be there to hinder the working staff. Hotel rooms are ok, very clean, but the seaview extra cost is a scam...... you pay more for extra noisy rooms. Seaview is also streetside!
The single problem of this hotel is it's location: a beatiful view but on a fairly noisy road to Portofino. You get the full philharmonic of police cars, vespa drivers, busses, trucks, even the odd harley and of course a massive amount of polluting fiat's. No peace around the swimming pool, the breakfast buffet or the aperitif corner.....
So, answering my question is simple. Sorry for the hardworking staff but this is a hotel that did not give me the calm that I need to have a peaceful stay.

Room Tip: you sleep better in the garden view rooms and the are cheaper.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marc d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare.
We regret that your experience did not meet your expectations;

Please allow us to transmit our concern and surprise.
Concern as it is all so negative about all at the property: the old clientele, the price, the sea view rooms, the lack of peace or the Sr Management.
to help other travellers we provide additional information.

- Accommodation: Most of our clients look for and reserve sea view rooms. In fact these are more expensive than our park view rooms as highly requested and always heavily booked. These types of rooms are also suggested in “Room’s tip” on client’s reviews.
Being the road leading to the small village of Portofino- well explained on our profile- we wish to point out that is not run by groups of police cars.
We want to assure new clients that this apocalyptic personal opinion of our sea view rooms does not correspond to reality, as many of our clientele remains in those rooms for an average of 10 days and more during our summer season.
- Rate: our rates, well stated online, are accepted and booked by numerous of guests that are accustomed to rates shopping.
- Not being part of our staff, your statements in which the “Sr. Management hinder the working staff” is very surprising . Our staff is obviously selected and trained regularly by the management
- Relaxing area, we wish to state one of the many Tripadvisor review
Quote ” having an evening aperitif at the garden terrace with the panorama of Liguria and the Mediterranean Sea is nothing less than quality time to be savored” Unquote

We appreciate TripAdvisor as a valuable forum for travellers to share their opinions and travel experiences. we wish to outline that, the reviews of our numerous loyal and happy guests evidence our services and quality.

We thank you for the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Pier Paolo Panzeri
Sales&Marketing manager
GRAND HOTEL MIRAMARE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have been coming here for 25 years and it gets better each time
Managed to perfection with outstanding sevice. Concierge Bruno always knowledgable about latest restaurants and anything
Else we need to know . Kudos to all. Hope we will be back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mushCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We are very pleased you had the opportunity, after so many years, to appreciate again our services.
I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and for the nice personal words addressed to our staff.
We look very much forward to serving you next year..

Sincerely,

Pier Paolo Panzeri
Sales & Marketing Manager
GRAND HOTEL MIRAMARE
paolopanzeri@grandhotelmiramare.it
+39 0185 287013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Best hotel of Santa Margherita Ligure.. good location, great service, well educated personnel, just 5 minituse from shopping area and port. You could visit all beach around. Very closed to Camoglia, Paraggi and Portofino. Could find also very romantic restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank didakocaomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We appreciate your nice words addressed to our staff and services. Your positive review is the best reward to our employees, which I am certain, will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

With best regards

Pier Paolo Panzeri
Sales & Marketing Manager
GRAND HOTEL MIRAMARE
paolopanzeri@grandhotelmiramare.it
+39 0185 287013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed in Grand Hotel Miramare for one night in May and had a wonderful vacation experience.
First of all I want to mention the brilliant staff of the hotel. They welcomed us from the 1st second of arrival near our car and immediately it became obvious, that the service in that hotel would be absolutely perfect. All of the staff (at the reception, at the spa, at the restaurant) was professional, helpful, with good manners, delicate. The hotel is beautiful and well-decorated with the spacious beautiful rooms equipped with all necessary, nice small territory and wonderful views. We enjoyed spa, it was charming. At the evening we had a delicious dinner at the beautiful restaurant of the hotel.
The place, hotel and service – all this together created the respectable atmosphere of luxury.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dina333555777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We are pleased that you have loved everything about the hotel and particularly enjoyed the outstanding service and relaxation.
Your positive review is the best reward to our staff, which I am certain, will be encouraged by your remarks.
We appreciate your recommendation for our services and staff.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Grand Hotel Miramare

Best regards

Pier Paolo Panzeri
Sales & Marketing Manager
GRAND HOTEL MIRAMARE
paolopanzeri@grandhotelmiramare.it
+39 0185 287013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Spent four nights at end of June. Beautiful old resort hotel updated with all modern conveniences. Santa Margherita is a great small town with many delightful restaurants. We had a room at the back with a balcony overlooking the gardens. Service was excellent and concierge very helpful...recommended some great restaurants.Great buffet breakfasts.Lovely pool filled with sea water over looking the bay. 30 minute walk to Portofino along exquisite coastal road and close to town. Close to Cinque Terre. Use the train.No need for a car. Tip...don't use cabs...complete rip off

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princeharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
We very much appreciate all the accurate information that you have mentioned which travellers can surely take advantage of.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and for the nice words addressed to our staff and services.
We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Pier Paolo Panzeri
Sales & Marketing Manager
GRAND HOTEL MIRAMARE
paolopanzeri@grandhotelmiramare.it
+39 0185 287013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel is situated right across the beach and has a big garden and a great swimming pool. The rooms are marvelous and we had a balcony with incredible view. The service is outstanding -The rooms are sparkling, the towels are changed twice a day and there are all the amenitirs you need free in the room.
The breakfast is served on the terrace overlooking the sea and has a good selection of food and beverages.
We spent here only 2 nights but we hope to be back to have a longer vacation in this great place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony and seaview
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronny643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We are pleased to learn that the room facing the sea met your expectation and our service contributed to make your stay a beautiful souvenir.
We sincerely hope you will have the opportunity to stay longer with us next time.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Pier Paolo Panzeri
Sales & Marketing Manager
GRAND HOTEL MIRAMARE
paolopanzeri@grandhotelmiramare.it
+39 0185 287013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margherita Ligure
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#8 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
644 reviews
0.6 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
785 reviews
1.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
701 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
646 reviews
0.6 mi away
Imperiale Palace Hotel
Imperiale Palace Hotel
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Miramare

Address: Via Milite Ignoto 30, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range: $214 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Miramare stands in the heart of the Italian Riviera amidst the hills and the sea. The drive from the Genoa airport to Santa Margherita Ligure will only take 40 minutes while enjoying wonderful views of the area. Overlooking the promenade to the beautiful village of Portofino, this 100-year-old, family-owned hotel is one of the region’s most exclusive venues. Its elegant ambience, impeccable service and culinary delights attract an international clientele who appreciate a comfortable blend of traditional style and modern amenities. For guests’ free time, the property offers a sea water outdoors swimming-pool, a Mediterranean garden, a beach with space reserved for hotel guests and E’SPAce, the hotel’s wellness centre where body treatments and massages can be enjoyed. The “Barbecue Pool Restaurant” opens for buffet lunch during the summer season; “Les Bougainvillées” offers Italian and international cuisine and is open year-round; Bar “Le Colonne” with its Liberty-style interior and outside terrace and the “Barracuda” piano bar for fun filled evenings. The Miramare Convention Centre offers 7 multi-functional meeting rooms in various sizes and layouts, holding a maximum of 380 delegates in theatre style and offering a variety of audio-visual equipment. The setup is also ideal for cocktail parties, private functions, product launches and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing