We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond perfection...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Miramare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Four visits to the hotel in as many years and if I could add a sixth circle to the rating I would. Grand Hotel Miramare is a wonderful place to stay. The setting is incredible. The property is beautifully maintained. The staff is extremely hospitable. An early morning swim in the Golf of Tigullio across the street followed by a classic Italian breakfast on the well-appointed terrace makes for an incredible way to start the day. Lunch at the opulent pool is mandatory. And having an evening aperitif at the garden terrace with the panorama of Liguria and the Mediterranean Sea is nothing less than quality time to be savored. Attention to detail abounds at the Miramare. It is always very hard to leave the hotel and the gem of the location it is in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VOLOCHEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are pleased to learn that you are one of our repeat clients and loved once again your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare.
We appreciate your descriptive and flattering narrative of our property and your nice words addressed to our staff and services. Your positive review is the best reward to our employees, which I am certain, will be encouraged by your remarks.
We wish to thank you for your recommendation of our services and look forward to welcoming you again to the Grand Hotel Miramare for your fifth visit.

Best regards

Pier Paolo Panzeri
Sales & Marketing Manager
GRAND HOTEL MIRAMARE
paolopanzeri@grandhotelmiramare.it
+39 0185 287013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 935 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

My friends and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in June 2013. The rooms are a little small but I had a balcony overlooking the sea, the bathroom was large and very nice and the room was very clean. There is a beautiful garden behind the property, the pool is nice and the service was top notch. The only down side was the breakfast buffet - the food was fine but it was the same thing every day. Then again, it was served on a large, covered terrace overlooking the Med so it wasn't all bad. The location is excellent, there is a bus right outside the hotel that takes you to to/from Portofino. The staff was very helpful in suggesting daytime activities and restaurants for dinner. It is pricey but is a wonderful place.

Room Tip: Given the small room size, I think it is worth it to pay extra to have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mtkamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and for the nice words addressed to our staff and services.
It is however with regret that you found our daily buffet breakfast unvaried. The dishes have been implemented various times to meet client’s needs and desire. We will however try to adjust the lay out to be more flexible and varied.
We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Pier Paolo Panzeri
Sales & Marketing Manager
GRAND HOTEL MIRAMARE
paolopanzeri@grandhotelmiramare.it
+39 0185 287013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Hotel Grand Miramare in Santa Margherita is THE place to stay if you're looking for a beautiful setting across from the sea, lush gardens, a salt-water pool, outstanding service and relaxation. My friends and I arrived after a long train ride from Avignon and sat on the front patio overlooking the water while having cocktails in the evening. In the morning we enjoyed the full breakfast buffet breakfast al fresco with attentive service from Fabio and others. Across the street is the HGM beach area with blue and white umbrellas, attendants who select a sun-bathing area for you, showers, etc. The water is crystal clear for swimming and so salty that you just float effortlessly. We enjoyed the huge salt-water swimming pool and walked the Sentimental Walk where the hydrangeas and views are spectacular. At the top of the walk is a small patio with a bistro table and chairs for sitting. Rooms have very large tiled patios with awnings to provide shade and looked out onto the lawns and landscaping. Bathrooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. There is an antique market one Sunday a month along the water's edge and a fun thing to attend. Restaurants are all along the waterway and the hotel is surrounded by shops, near churches and all the sites. I would definitely stay here every time I visited. My friend and I spent more than we typically do for a massage and found it to be a bit of a disappointment, although very relaxing. They use very little pressure even though we paid extra for deep tissue. Very sweet staff, however.

Room Tip: I don't think there are bad ones, but we did have cart noise from being on the end next to the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We are pleased that you have loved everything about the hotel and particularly enjoyed the "outstanding service and relaxation" and thank you for your recommendation of our property' outdoors and services..
We deeply regret however that you have been a bit disappointed with the massage. We will take appropriate steps to avoid future inconvenience.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Grand Hotel Miramare

Best regards

Pier Paolo Panzeri
Sales & Marketing Manager
GRAND HOTEL MIRAMARE
paolopanzeri@grandhotelmiramare.it
+39 0185 287013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in a deluxe double seaside room with balcony. The room wasn't large, and was a little dated, however it was very comfortable, with beautiful monogrammed bed linen.

The public areas of the hotel are of the old-world grand style and are all beautifully maintained. The swimming pool is huge, and overlooks the ocean.

It is an easy walk into the town, where there are lots of restaurants, and a lovely 45 minute walk to Portofino.

All the staff are very helpful, courteous and provide the 'old school' of service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Totts58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We appreciate your nice words addressed to our staff. Your positive review is the best reward to our employees, which I am certain, will be encouraged by your remarks.
We regret however you were a little disappointed on the room. We sincerely hope you will able to experience different accommodation in the future.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Grand Hotel Miramare

Sincerely,

Pier Paolo Panzeri
Sales & Marketing Manager
GRAND HOTEL MIRAMARE
paolopanzeri@grandhotelmiramare.it
+39 0185 287013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

3nights here was not enough! Our top floor room with terrace was lovely overall. Large closets, comfy big bed, lounge chairs, terrace had table & chairs, big bathroom with all amenities, including robes & slippers. Loved the wood floors, too, although 1 rug was stained and should be cleaned or replaced.
The pool area was lovely, too, pretty grounds, lots of lounges, towels, and service that was not too pushy. Across the road is the beach, also with lounges, etc.
Speaking of the road, it can be a bit noisy. With the windows closed its not a big problem. Also, there are electric blinds so the east-facing rooms stay dark enough for sleep when the suns rising early.
The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The concierges made great dinner recommendations & reservations for us, helped with the train schedule and walking maps for our day trip to Cinque Terre, and another day's walk to Portefino.
The buffet breakfast was excellent and included many items you'd pay extra for if ordering room service breakfast, although it was fun to eat on our own terrace one morning.
We ate dinner in the hotel 1 night and it was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jawms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare.
We are very pleased you did enjoy your accommodation and you had the opportunity to have breakfast at your own terrace.
Your nice words addressed to our concierge staff and the positive review are the best reward to our employees, which I am certain, will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Grand Hotel Miramare.

Sincerely,

Pier Paolo Panzeri
Sales & Marketing Manager
GRAND HOTEL MIRAMARE
paolopanzeri@grandhotelmiramare.it
+39 0185 287013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Staying at the Grand Hotel Miramare is like stepping back in time. This is an Italian hotel in the old style - elegant, relaxed and charming - with old-world service from courteous, attentive and professional staff. We stayed for 3 nights in May. The position overlooking the sea is stunning, the grounds are attractive and well maintained and buses to Portofino (15 minutes) or the town centre (3 mins) stop right outside the hotel entrance. We originally requested an ocean front room but none were available so we settled for a room at the rear overlooking the gardens. The room, and bathroom, were generously proportioned and tastefully decorated with a balcony and very pleasant outlook. The public rooms of the hotel have a lovely view of the sea and we concluded that, unless you are going to spend a lot of time in your room, the extra cost of a room at the front with an ocean view is probably not worth it.

We had breakfast on the delightful flower-decked terrace every morning - the food was good and the setting overlooking the ocean just glorious. We had dinner in the hotel dining room on two evenings and enjoyed superb meals with classic service. On one occasion we arrived after the time for last orders but the staff arranged a simple and very satisfactory meal with minimum fuss. On each occasion we took our coffee in the lounge - even for this small event the service and presentation were exceptional - and the coffee was the best we encountered in Europe.

The location is a little out of the main town but it's an easy and pleasant stroll along the waterfront and there are several good and reasonably priced restaurants only 5 or 10 minutes walk away, and the bus is always available if you're feeling lazy.

It has to be admitted that the Grand Hotel Miramare is expensive for the average traveller. But it delivers a lot of value for your money, especially if the things you value include style, charm and graciousness. This is the comfort and hospitality of another era and we thought it was worth every euro cent. There are many hotels that charge more and deliver much less. This was one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had and we plan to return as soon as we can. Stretch the budget, settle for a garden room - and enjoy!

Room Tip: Book a garden room - you'll save a lot of money and there's plenty of ocean view everywhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EasytravellerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent visit to the Grand Hotel Miramare.
We wish to thank you for your descriptive and flattering narrative of your stay, from which we learn with pleasure that you really enjoyed our property and that you consider your visit as “one of the best Hotel experience “
Moreover, we wish to thank you for your appreciation of the restaurant staff’s attention towards guests needs, outlining the arrangements taken after the usual closing time.
We thank you for your nice words addressed to our staff and services. Your positive review is the best reward to our employees, which I am certain, will be encouraged by your remarks.
We regret that you found the Hotel expensive. Rates however reflect the area. Nevertheless, allow us to express our appreciation for considering the Grand Hotel Miramare “delivering lot of value for money”.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Pier Paolo Panzeri
Sales & Marketing Manager
GRAND HOTEL MIRAMARE
paolopanzeri@grandhotelmiramare.it
Ph. +39 0185 287013 - Fax +39 0185 284651

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed 3 nights with a tour group and loved everything about the hotel. It is grand and majestic but achieves a seaside relaxed feel at the same time. The view to the back garden from the foyer is cleverly done. The room was a reasonable size with a lovely bathroom and courtyard. Breakfast was wonderful and the two dinners we had at the hotel were very good. The position is perfect on the seafront and close to many shops and restaurants. The walk from the hotel to Portofino is well worth doing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We are pleased that you have loved everything about the hotel and particularly enjoyed our restaurant’s services during breakfast and dinners together with your group.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Grand Hotel Miramare

Best regards

Pier Paolo Panzeri
Sales & Marketing Manager
GRAND HOTEL MIRAMARE
paolopanzeri@grandhotelmiramare.it
+39 0185 287013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margherita Ligure
0.6 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
814 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#6 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
724 reviews
1.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#5 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
742 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 6 in Portofino
707 reviews
0.6 mi away
Imperiale Palace Hotel
Imperiale Palace Hotel
#8 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Miramare

Address: Via Milite Ignoto 30, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range: $253 - $677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Miramare stands in the heart of the Italian Riviera amidst the hills and the sea. The drive from the Genoa airport to Santa Margherita Ligure will only take 40 minutes while enjoying wonderful views of the area. Overlooking the promenade to the beautiful village of Portofino, this 100-year-old, family-owned hotel is one of the region’s most exclusive venues. Its elegant ambience, impeccable service and culinary delights attract an international clientele who appreciate a comfortable blend of traditional style and modern amenities. For guests’ free time, the property offers a sea water outdoors swimming-pool, a Mediterranean garden, a beach with space reserved for hotel guests and E’SPAce, the hotel’s wellness centre where body treatments and massages can be enjoyed. The “Barbecue Pool Restaurant” opens for buffet lunch during the summer season; “Les Bougainvillées” offers Italian and international cuisine and is open year-round; Bar “Le Colonne” with its Liberty-style interior and outside terrace and the “Barracuda” piano bar for fun filled evenings. The Miramare Convention Centre offers 7 multi-functional meeting rooms in various sizes and layouts, holding a maximum of 380 delegates in theatre style and offering a variety of audio-visual equipment. The setup is also ideal for cocktail parties, private functions, product launches and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing