We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Imperiale Palace Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disgusted”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Cavalier, understandard - generally a hotel that's seen far better days!

Having spent the best part of the last 5 years travelling the globe and staying in justified 5 star resorts and hotels - I have to say the Imperiale Palace is very wide of the mark. On arrival we were met with arrogant staff who had tried to give us a sub standard room - on complaining we were upgraded to a suite - which we have seen better in the most budget of hotels. We arrived at 10.50 one morning for breakfast, (served til 11) everything had been cleared away so we were thrown a plate of croissants - my wife asked for fruit with yoghurt and was given a fruit activia yoghurt!!

Topping it all off - the management thought it acceptable to charge a 550euro bar bill - ran up by colleagues to our room without either myself or my wife being present and then told us that it was actually us that authorised it, while calling us liars!!!!

Room was fitted with appalling amenities - tiny TV set, to the side of the bed so impossible to watch, no light in the shower, "rustic" furniture which is more commonly known to the wider audience as "worn out"

A true example of a hotel that relies on a past reputation - if you are a seasoned traveller to high end hotels you will be very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mrbutties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    77
    32
    12
    16
See reviews for
57
152
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Good, well appointed hotel with large rooms for the location. Excellent level of service. The gardens, pool and seafront are small and must get crowded in high season but space is a premium this close to Portofino. My only complaint is that the bars and restaurants all run separate tabs and have different wine lists so there is unnecessary hassle and if you find a wine you like you can't stick to it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TravellerAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed in this hotel for a long Easter weekend. The weather was really bad when we arrived but the next morning dried up well. We went for breakfast and I think it was the best service and choice we've ever had. We could not praise the breakfast anymore, it was great everyday and the waiters couldn't do enough for you.
The hotel is only a short walk from the centre of town with its own beach, so everything is close by making little use for the car. The car park is large and safe, so no worries there.
The only downside we could find was we were having trouble the whole weekend with the WIFI and we found that the receptionist/manager could be a lot more helpful, she told us she would get it fixed in a few minutes, but it was almost an hour before someone came to the room and that only happen when we called to them again. But to be fair this wasn't a big issue. There was a bit of street noise which made it a little to sleep at night, but again not too bad, more of a mention than a complaint really.
Other than that, everything was great, we had a spacious, comfortable room with great views.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChamonixAccomodation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

While the hotel is a little dated, the staff makes up for it in a big way. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. The breakfast was great, and the pool was the nicest in the area. Anyone who is writing a bad review should know that when you are booking an older hotel it is going to be a little dated. Part of the oldness gives it charm that many of the newer hotels do not have. I would definitely come to this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdesiderio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel probably was once a five star hotel, but times have now moved forward.
Perhaps the only things that could be described as five stars are the prices especially for food and drink, plus of course the view.

By logging on to the hotels website, http://www.imperialepalacehotel.it very professional glossy photographs will tempt most people to want to stay here as they show the grandeur, splendour and opulence of the hotel in a beautiful setting. Also on the website we found that the hotel does offer several value packages which were better value than the room rates being offered by the usual booking agencies We booked for five nights and opted for the “Life is Beautiful Package” which for us was ideal .This included breakfast, free use of the private beach/pool and sun loungers plus free car parking.. Dinner was also included for one night plus one cocktail although all other drinks were extra.

Our room on the second floor had a lovely sea view, plus a small balcony .However the fixtures and fittings of the room were from a bygone era and now seem somewhat dated, however the large chandelier was rather grand. There were three tatty pictures on the walls which should have been changed at least five years ago. In addition be aware that there are no in room tea and coffee making facilities which we feel that all hotels should provide without exception. (As we had prior knowledge of this before leaving England, we came prepared with our own travel kettle, cups and tea bags, plus there was room to store milk in the mini bar fridge). The pillows were of a poor quality and uncomfortable and certainly what you would not expect in a “five star” hotel. An iron and ironing board was also not available: this is now provided as standard equipment in many hotels.

From the glossy photos, the reality is that the hotel is noisy, since the main road into Santa Marguerita cuts through the hotel grounds. . To access the beach and pool area you cross a bridge opposite the hotels main entrance which is above this busy road.
Apparantly according to another reviewer, rooms at the rear of the hotel can also encounter some noise from the railway behind the hotel, but we were not aware of this.

The buffet breakfast which can be served on the terrace overlooking the bay was well laid plus full credit to the hotel for laying out a selection of Gluten Free Foods. We however were disappointed by the poor quality of some of the foods. The orange juice was particularly reminiscent of cheap supermarket quality being very bitter and acidic, plus the bacon used was smoked which is unfortunate if you prefer unsmoked. There is however a chef on duty who will fry eggs/ omelettes on request.
Our “inclusive dinner for two” which would have cost over 150 euros was excellent.
All Hotel waiting staffs were excellent, being very polite amiable and helpful.

We were very unlucky with the weather and were only able to spend one day of our five actually sunbathing on the hotel beach area. On our first day it was raining heavily so we decided to drive to Florence which although a two and a half hour trip ,the sun was shining. Florence can also be reached by train from the local station which is about five minutes walk from the hotel.

Santa Margherita Ligure is just a short downhill walk from the hotel, however if driving out of the car park the exit is on a blind corner so great care is needed also there was a pothole that had been repaired with six inch nails protruding which could ruin a tyre. (This may have been rectified by now)

During our European motoring holiday this summer we have already reviewed some other hotels that we have stayed at. Two hotels are especially more deserving of a five star grading than this one. One is in Versailles, France, the other in Lucerne, Switzerland, our reviews of these hotels are already on Trip Advisor.

The hotel is closed for the winter from mid October, so perhaps during this time the Owners and Management could reflect on this review plus similar feedback from other reviewers who like ourselves, feel that this hotel at present is no longer worthy of five stars. However it does have good potential to become a great hotel again and maybe will have improved for the 2013 season.

Room Tip: Avoid fourth floor rooms as no balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ccr260243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Well, let's start with the inevitable - this place is expensive. But then EVERYTHING in this area is expensive. We had a long talk with a local taxi driver who explained that 'the season' on the riviera isn't for ever, and they have to make a year's salary in basically 6 months, so 5 star seasonal resorts have to charge heavily for the time that they are open. Restaurants, bars, hotels all have the same issue. This isn't Florence or Rome where it's business throughout the year. With that in mind, and given if you are not careful, you find that you're being asked E25 for a salad, is it worth it? Well, the whole town is very smart and feels exclusive and special; and within this great town, the Imperiale feels the real deal. If you own claret coloured chinos, and wear blue suede moccasins with no socks, then you'll be in good company. There is marble EVERYWHERE. Our room had lovely hardwood floors, good antique furniture, sumptuous curtains, and, guess what, floor to ceiling marble in the bathroom. The grounds are immaculate. The waiters elegantly dressed etc, so despite some mixed reviews, my wife and I felt that this hotel had the 5 star feel.

Some issues come up in other reviews, and our position on them is listed below:
1) we found the service to be excellent. We had a toddler, and the staff were friendly and accomodating without fail
2) The food is good, but there are such good and cheaper options outside the hotel, then there's just no need to eat in
3) We liked the pool. It is salt water though.
4) There isn't a beach in any proper sense, but a very good sun-trap by the rocks by the water
5) internet is now free and worked fine for us

The final 2 points we'd make for travellers is 1) the gym is absolutely rubbish. Don't come here if you care about working out, and 2) we went in September, and they were ready to haggle on rates. The weather was lovely and this struck us a really good time to try and pick up a deal.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view - it makes all the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This says its a five star hotel but in any other country it would be three star. It's basically a rather faded grand old hotel and though in some ways perfectly decent - I found the staff perfectly pleasant with a friendly and helpful receptionist, and the breakfasts are good - but in others it just doesn't make the grade. Rooms are noisey, either due to the train at the back or the road in the front, they have none of the details you'd expect of a good hotel, and service is patchy (the bottle of champagne we ordered on arrival wasn't there.) The suites, while pleasant, were simply nowhere near worth 700 euro a night and we we're provided with the one we booked. We only stayed there as I couldn't afford the Splendido for the full three nights we were in the area - and I now wish I'd spent two rather than one there (it is stupidly stupidly expensive but you do at least feel you're somewhere very special and in a proper classy hotel) with a third night in some cosy b&b as now feel I totally wasted 1,400 euro!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H_Alst0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margherita Ligure
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperiale Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperiale Palace Hotel

Property: Imperiale Palace Hotel
Address: Via Pagana 19, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Imperiale Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperiale Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperiale Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing