We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunate room in a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Imperiale Palace Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Hubby and me wanted to make the 2 days in Portofino unforgettable, that's why we selected this hotel. There was only one room left and it was defined as "room at ground level". However, as soon as we entered the room, we were frustrated as it was "underground level". We wanted to upgrade our room, but it was fully booked that weekend. We learned from the management that there are only few rooms like this. My question to the management was: is it worth to distort your image for the sake of selling these few rooms? The hotel is very beautiful with a great location, private beach. The hotel should close and not sell these few underground rooms. If we knew that the room was this terrible; the so said "french bed" was a poor combination of 2 single beds with a hole in the middle, with a zero oxygen, humid air, no sun and awful odor, so noisy - that you think the motorcylces are passing over your head, garbage next to your window, no matter how beautiful it is, we would never chose this hotel. At the end of the day, ALL the rooms in a 5 star hotel should represent the quality of a 5 star hotel. The quality difference being so significant is not acceptable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ahugurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Imperiale Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 348 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

this is a very beautiful building with great views and a nice private beach but the service was poor... The personal at the reception and restaurants were trying to be helpful but the life guards at he beach and pool were very rude and unprofessional. They only capable of ruining your time during the day on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yummy1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed here last-minute in a Jr. ocean view suite. It was pretty much the only hotel room available in Santa Margherita when I made the reservation on a Saturday morning for that weekend and was very expensive (E600/nt). The room was beautiful and had a small balcony with two chairs where you could sit and watch the boats come and go. The nicest and largest bathroom I've seen in Italy, and it had a large, luxurious bathtub and separate shower. Someone at the hotel realized it was my birthday, and when I came back to the room that night a bottle of champagne and a Happy Birthday cake were waiting in the room - a really nice, and much appreciated touch. The breakfast in the morning was good, included champagne, and the tables were set out on a beautiful balcony. Also, the hotel helped arrange to have a rental car dropped at the hotel so we didn't have to take a taxi or train to one of the larger towns in the area for pickup.
All that said, I don't think the hotel was worth the price paid. They say there is free wireless, but no wireless networks showed up in my hotel room, meaning I had to sit by the elevators or in the lobby to access the internet. I don' t think this was an isolated problem because I saw others doing the same. They have a computer available to guests, but during the two days I was there I could never get the internet to work, and the staff didn't seem too interested in remedying the problem. The hotel has a nice "beach" area and supposedly will serve you drinks and food there, but during two hours spent down there I never saw a server (perhaps it was off-hours since it was after lunch). For the amount of money spent, I expected much more.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DnvrTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a five star hotel, and they do deserve the stars!

We went here with our son (5 y) and we did feel that he was very welcome.

The hotel gives you a feeling of the great Hollywood movies from the early days.
It's quite expensive (660 € for a jr. suite) but it's worth it.

They have a very nice park towards the "beach" (the "beach" is the perfect italian riviera experience). The walk is as the movies.

The service is as you can expect of a top star hotel.

The air con is not that good so if your in the high season, a tip is to book an external air con.

The lunch at the beach restaurant is VERY good, the best spaghetti Vongole I had - ever!

My wife had some spa treatments, and according to her it was some of the best she has had.

PS everything is expensive, but then again - if you can afford to stay here, you can't (or want) think of that at all.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vonlind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Let's start to get it straight: this is not a design hotel, this is not a posh trendy hotel, if you are looking for a modern accomodation, you won't find it here.

If you are looking instead for the best of "retro" charme you are in the right place.

Here you will find an awesome historical building, you will feel to be back at the beginning of '900: statues everywhere, paintings, tall ceilings, marble floors and walls...seems to be in a museum!

from the main buidling there is a beautiful hallway through gardens of trees and flowers, and you arrive to the private beach: first you have a swimming pool, next to a bar/restaurant and then down a private beach, directly on the sea, from which you can see all the gulf of santa margherita ligure.

the restaurant serves amazing italian dishes, at a very fair price, considering that you are in a 5star hotel. the dinner is served in a balcony, from which you can see the sea. The service is perfect, the maitre will suggest the dishes that best fits for you.

Breakfast is huge, and delicious, there is a huge array of freshly made pastries, and salty food too.

Yes it is expensive, and no, it's not brand new. But you won't find another classier hotel like this. It's a timetravel back in the past, worth all the money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pescantini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

very good hotel high price for the services you have . i think they have to do much more to be a five star. it can be a 4 stars hotel , nice view of the sea.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juoh h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This is not a hotel for business travelers. The wireless is non-existent. The blow dryer on the wall is nothing more than a whisper. But, the location and the views are awesome. I particularly loved sitting out on the cliff by the pool to relax and read. Santa Marguerita is absolutely charming. Most everything is within walking distance-- even Portofino, only 3 miles. You must have dinner at Antonio's, everything is made from scratch and amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kwchilily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margherita Ligure
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
898 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
645 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
786 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperiale Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperiale Palace Hotel

Address: Via Pagana 19, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range: $390 - $760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Imperiale Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Imperiale Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperiale Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing