We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vineria Macchiavello

Vineria Macchiavello
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Centenarian wine shop in the entre of Santa Margherita Ligure.Gives the opportunity of have appetizers,lunch and dinner full of local and nationa specialities.Large wine vault with reasonable prices.friendly atmosphere Since 1910.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had aperitivos here every night before dinner, with tasty snacks, and loved it. We actually ate here the last night and wondered why on earth we hadn't eaten here every night, as it was far superior to the others! Fresh ingredients, well cooked food, and an awesome wine list - great atmosphere. We had the same waiter every night, who welcomed us like old friends and made fantastic Aperol spritz's.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank diikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    106
    27
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We chose this restaurant because it reminded us of the lovely little restaurants we eat at in Melbourne and in the end it was a great choice. They have a great wine selection and great food to match. The atmosphere is lovely as is the service. We would go again.

Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband visited here in June 2012. We enjoyed an evening meal here after sitting outside and noticing that a lot of locals were entering the bar/restaurant. We went inside to eat - a truly fantastic setting especially for anyone who has an interest in wine. The young staff were friendly and helpful, suggesting a very good local red wine. Generous portions. The food was very, very good and I would recommend a visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fenjamin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulham
Level Contributor
94 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Deserves to succeed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stopped here for our first beer of the morning. Our two beers arrived with a generous portion of cold meats (on the house).

We were so impressed that we decided to stay on for lunch. One of us had smoked beef and olive puree, which was wonderful. I have forgotten what the other order was - but know it was great.

The place is full of atmosphere. With our meal we opted for one of the local wines and it was probably one of the best we tasted all week.

A great spot and deserving a better rating than TA is showing as at 02.07.12.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TandCFulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic cuisine.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

Using TripAdvisor to choose a place that was close and reasonably priced, I was delighted to find V.Macchiavello.
The decor was charming with all the wine bottles. I enjoyed authentic Italian home style cooking the way my grand mother & father used to make.
I don't usually like cod, but it was the plate of the day, a local dish so I thought why not.
As soon as I tasted the sauce, I was whisked back a generation ago to an era of fine cuisine.
Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank joeytess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vineria Macchiavello also viewed

Santa Margherita Ligure, Italian Riviera
Santa Margherita Ligure, Italian Riviera
 
Santa Margherita Ligure, Italian Riviera
Santa Margherita Ligure, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Vineria Macchiavello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing