We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful little hotel”
Review of Hotel Villa Anita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Anita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in Villa Anita for five nights in July and really enjoyed our stay. Of course, the room was quite small and the bathroom tiny, but the other things - great service in general, the location, the little pool, the lovely and affordable dinner service and the magnificent breakfast - compensated fully the small inconveniences created by the limited private space. The wifi worked impeccably, and so did the air-conditioning. The best of all was the friendly and cosy atmosphere, created by the people running Villa Anita.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VIHKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Anita
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 647 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

Cannot praise enough the wonderful care Sandro and his family took to ensure we enjoyed our time in Santa Margherita Ligure.

A beautiful little boutique hotel which is family-owned with the added benefits of lovely contemporary rooms and one of the most extensive and lovely breakfasts (the array of fruits is amazing!) as you sit on the balcony close by the coast and lively resort town of Santa Margherita Ligure.

My husband was surprised by close friends from Australia being at the hotel to help celebrate his 50th birthday and the surprise would not have been possible without the willing assistance from Sandro and his mum.

If we are fortunate enough to visit this beauitful area again we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were initially underwhelmed when we pulled up to Hotel Villa Anita and pulled into the (convenient) parking lot. Sandro instantly changed our first impression with his enthusiastic, genuinely friendly, helpful welcome. Our room was clean and contemporary with comfortable beds and a very nice new bathroom with an excellent shower. Our private rooftop balcony provided lovely views. Villa Anita is tucked away from the tourist chaos of Portofino in quieter Santa Margherita. The Hotel is off the tourist strip about 3 blocks inland so very convenient but also quiet. There are excellent neighbourhood restaurants but we really preferred the exceptional menu di giorno dinners served on the terrace at Villa Anita. "Home cooking" at a very good price. Our kids absolutely loved the small but awesome swimming pool and playground. Thank you Sandro!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Stu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We really liked the location of Hotel Villa Anita and our room was clean and comfortable. The owners were extremely helpful in suggestions for seeing the area. Although we thought the price was a little high, the breakfast and other amenities, ie the pool area and the bicycles, helped make up for it. Suggestion: take your snorkel gear with you on the bikes and ride to Portofino and stop along the way.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosqui9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I want to be objective in my review. I selected Villa Anita based upon all the excellent reviews I read on Trip Advisor.
First, let me state the positives, Sandro, and his mother were very helpful, and knowledgeable of the area.
The breakfast was good. My wife & I ate dinner here one evening and it too was good.
Villa Anita was very clean, and well kept.
Now let me talk about the negatives.
First of all, the room was TINY. You really had nowhere to move, except lay on the bed. Yes, the bathroom was modern, and clean and it was air conditioned. It too was tiny, and there were minimal toiletries.
There is no elevator, and we had to climb several flights of stairs everyday.
It's location on a side street is at least 6 blocks from SML. Returning to Villa Anita at night through those dark side streets was unnerving. Then you had to walk up about 2 flights of stairs before you're at the entrance.
Like I said earlier, I booked Villa Anita based on its #1 rating on Trip Advisor. I was expecting a hotel. Instead, it was more like a bed & breakfast.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Andiamo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

For 130 euros / night we got a tiny room (#228) - the bed and cabinet fill the space. If you're in the room, you have to be on the bed. Unfortunately, this bed is not very comfortable. And, finally, the balcony looks out to the tool shed behind the hotel. NOT worth the price for this room (called a "comfort room").

On the upside, the room is air conditioned, the owners were very helpful, there are books and flowers in the hallway, breakfast is excellent, and I enjoyed the little wading pool with jets (not a full pool fyi).

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigigila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Excellent hotel in peaceful location with outstanding service and wonderful breakfast. Very friendly helpful owners. Free parking a big bonus in Santa Margherita. This is an expensive area of Italy and Villa Anita offers very good value for money. A true home from home.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiddleagedScotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
898 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#8 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sant'Andrea
Hotel Sant'Andrea
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
786 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Regina Elena
Best Western Regina Elena
#9 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Anita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Anita

Address: Viale Minerva 25, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range: $118 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Anita 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Hotel" Is located in a particularly peaceful area, surrounded by sunny terraces and a beautiful garden covered by different variety of flowers, palms and tall trees. It is very close to the sea and the harbour of Santa Margherita Ligure and it borders on the "Parco Naturale Monte di Portofino" (Natural Park of Portofino). Villa Anita is a refined, homely and tiny Art-Nouveau style boutique hotel, tree star, recently renovated and managed by Tarella family since 1957. Villa Anita Hotel is located in a particularly peaceful area, surrounded by sunny terraces and a beautiful garden covered by different variety of flowers, palms and tall trees. It is very close to the sea and the harbour of Santa Margherita Ligure and it borders on the "Parco Naturale Monte di Portofino" (Natural Park of Portofino). Public areas are comfortable and provided with background music. Free broadband Wi-Fi connection system is available in the entire hotel.... Even outside of it. If you have not your notebook or Smartphone, an internet corner waits for you at the lounge bar. "R&S Area" (Relax & Sport) After a day spent visiting the surroundings or a walking tour on the "Monte di Portofino", enjoy the heated whirlpool bath (30°-32°), a perfect place to relax and drink a good glass of wine or a cool drink. The new Bio Sauna with aromatherapy is waiting for you....But if you prefer, the Finnish Sauna is available upon request. Our small fitness area with Technogym(R) equipment waits for those who still want to do physical activity. "Kid's Area" Children can enjoy themselves in the garden in a playing ground equipped with ping-pong, seesaw and slide ... "Bicycles" If you want to go biking to the town or to Portofino, 6 bikes are available for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Anita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing