We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“where you can easily stay trapped”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Anita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Anita
Certificate of Excellence
Canton of Valais, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“where you can easily stay trapped”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

possibly the best breakfast buffet we've had so far. a choice of juices with what they are in various languages, various bowls of fruits, yogourts, jams, breads, cheeses (loved the pecorino!) and cakes and super coffee. cosy lounge area, flowers everywhere, a warm pool with real candles and soft music to enjoy in the evening, a play area for the little and big ones, plenty of outdoor sitting. there was always a place to rest and not feel like 30 other people are staying there. the mother and son who run the place put their heart at making everybody feeling comfortable and everything seems so chilled. the rooms are good so are the beds, there are special towels rolled in a bag to bring to the swimming pool. just as the rooms, the bathrooms are up to date and all is very clean. the service is excellent, this place is a gem

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwitzerlandTofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    80
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
135
310
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed five nights at Hotel Villa Anita. Outstanding complete breakfast buffet and superb dinners too. Lovely room (#104) came with nice balcony with table/chairs to picnic. Up to date furnishings, decor and bathroom. Not to mention jaccuzzi heated pool with all the bells and whistles, comfy sundeck.
Family owned and operated, Daniella & Sandro couldn't have been more welcoming. They even
were patient with our efforts to speak Italian! (This area is quite hilly, so if you walk, be prepared
to go up as well as down.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pointq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at end of May. An amazing place run by Mum and Son who are truly professional hoteliers. The initial greeting puts you at ease straight away - even to be asked what electrical equipment you had and did you need any help with it - we certainly did need help and everything sorted! The rooms are right up to date with modern lighting even to night lights in the bathroom. Super breakfast - not to be forgotten. Excellent dinner. The Owners are one step ahead all the time - general advice - booking restaurants - rail and boat timetables - and even have train tickets in the hotel. There is even room to park the car, which in Italy is quite something.
Mum only put out once - snow in May in Santa Margherita! A great experience - two star - you must be joking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDCNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWP of Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed four days at Hotel Villa Anita in May. Daniella and her son Sandro are delightful hosts who made our stay very special. It was the perfect base for exploring Santa Margherita, which is a terrific town, as well as Portofino and Cinque Terra. We initially planed to stay in Cinque Terra, but changed as a result of the Trip Advisor reviews of Hotel Villa Anita. Frankly, we felt that Cinque Terra may be photogenic from afar, but we were quite satisfied only spending a few hours in several of the villages which were crowded and touristy. Santa Margherita is a much nicer place to visit and Hotel Villa Anita is the ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_Barb_Ready2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent three nights with Sandro and Daniella at their beautiful hotel at the end of a ten day tour of Italy. They, and the entire staff, made us feel like we were visiting family. They were ready with maps, restaurant recommendations, activity guides, etc. The room was lovely and impeccably clean. They have a wonderful breakfast. They are in the process of adding a fitness center. This was our favorite part of the trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoustonTiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Thanks to other reviews on tTrip Advisor, we stayed 6 nights and used the hotel as a base to explore the Ligurian coast.

The service of Sandro and his mum is wonderful!! They telephoned to reserve restaurants and book golf courses for us. The complimentary champagne and fruit bowl was also greatly appreciated.
And the breakfast each day was magnificent - a wide range of fresh fruits and other yummy things!
Be sure to get a room with a terrace - perfect for watching the sunset. Oh ... And the bathrooms are fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane3026777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Thank you to the Owners of this fine hotel. My mom and I visited Villa Anita last summer while staying at a different hotel (with a few more stars). We found out that stars do not mean anything in Santa Margherita. This gem is not only impeccably clean and well maintained, it is loved by the owners and all those who are fortunate to have found it. My three favorite parts of the stay was the Royal treatment, the delicious food, and the ambiance. Tucked away from the crowds but easily walking distance from all the fun restaurants, shops and swimming areas... I felt safe and had my own private space. One evening after we came back from a LONG day hiking the 5 towns, the owner saw us resting our feet in the pool and brought us complimentary champagne, olives, nuts, and other goodies to help us relax and rejuvenate. We are from California but I will consider having my wedding here because of this Hotel. Thank you again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margherita Ligure
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.6 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sant'Andrea
Hotel Sant'Andrea
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Anita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Anita

Property: Hotel Villa Anita
Address: Viale Minerva 25, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Anita 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Hotel" Is located in a particularly peaceful area, surrounded by sunny terraces and a beautiful garden covered by different variety of flowers, palms and tall trees. It is very close to the sea and the harbour of Santa Margherita Ligure and it borders on the "Parco Naturale Monte di Portofino" (Natural Park of Portofino). Villa Anita is a refined, homely and tiny Art-Nouveau style boutique hotel, tree star, recently renovated and managed by Tarella family since 1957. Villa Anita Hotel is located in a particularly peaceful area, surrounded by sunny terraces and a beautiful garden covered by different variety of flowers, palms and tall trees. It is very close to the sea and the harbour of Santa Margherita Ligure and it borders on the "Parco Naturale Monte di Portofino" (Natural Park of Portofino). Public areas are comfortable and provided with background music. Free broadband Wi-Fi connection system is available in the entire hotel.... Even outside of it. If you have not your notebook or Smartphone, an internet corner waits for you at the lounge bar. "R&S Area" (Relax & Sport) After a day spent visiting the surroundings or a walking tour on the "Monte di Portofino", enjoy the heated whirlpool bath (30°-32°), a perfect place to relax and drink a good glass of wine or a cool drink. The new Bio Sauna with aromatherapy is waiting for you....But if you prefer, the Finnish Sauna is available upon request. Our small fitness area with Technogym(R) equipment waits for those who still want to do physical activity. "Kid's Area" Children can enjoy themselves in the garden in a playing ground equipped with ping-pong, seesaw and slide ... "Bicycles" If you want to go biking to the town or to Portofino, 6 bikes are available for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Anita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing