We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, The Best Breakfasts, Excellent Service!”
Review of Hotel Villa Anita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Anita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not dissappointed! The location is great for exploring the town of SML, the Cinque Terre and Portofino. The breakfasts and the ding room/patio were simply outstanding, and Sandro and Daniela provided excellent service providing ferry and train schedules, recommending places to eat and see. And yes, the pool was small but awsome. We had such a nice conversation with some visitors from France. We have such terrific memories or our stay in SML. Thank you so much Sandro and Daniela! We will be back!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrannieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Anita
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 646 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

We found this great small hotel through Trip Advisor. It was modern, clean and peaceful (on a quiet sidestreet away from the hubbub but near enough to walk to everything). They had parking for our rental car (thank goodness), and the pool was AWESOME to have to break the heat, get away from the crowded beaches (without having to pay for a lounge chair). The breakfast included a great assortment of cakes -- too many to try them all. A great family run place where they also gave us some excellent dining recommendations which we might not have otherwise gone to (and were helpful on tourist stuff too). Would totally go back to SML and would stay here if we did.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingCTfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We visited Santa Margharita Ligure and stayed at the Villa Anita for 2 nights. In our experience, it was one of our best hotel stays. Daniela and Sandro run a fantastic, charming inn, with a great breakfast, and much attention to every detail. They are both very willing to assist with suggestions on day trips, including providing the train tickets, and great dinner suggestions ... We will definitely make it back there, not only because of the location, but also to stay at the Villa Anita again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The service at Villa Anita is outstanding. We stayed for 3 nights, using Santa Margherita Ligure as our base to explore Portofino and surrounds and the Cinque Terre. From the moment of setting foot in the beautifully appointed little family-run hotel, we were treated like royalty. Sandro was endlessly helpful in suggesting tips for our sightseeing, went to buy train tickets for us, and our laundry (an ongoing travellers' 'issue'!) was whisked away and returned crisp and pressed within an inch of its life.
Our room had a recently renovated bathroom and a balcony overlooking the (fabulous) wellness pool and jacuzzi area. The beds are comfy, the lovely breakfast is served on the tranquil terrace, and Daniela's coffees are wonderful (as is her memory!).
Our stay was like staying with a family of friends, and we will be back, for sure.
BUT, the story doesn't end there....my passport wallet (with cash and credit cards) was stolen at the station by a VERY clever pickpocket (so be warned, a quiet railway station, where you let down your guard even a little can have the worst outcome). I didn't discover it was missing until Pisa, when I rang Villa Anita to see if they could call the taxi driver and station for me. Daniela and Sandro spent the next few days helping me. They are really lovely, genuine people, and without their assistance the whole episode would have been much more stressful.

Room Tip: Opt for a balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hotel Villa Anita will provide a trully memorable experience if you are planning on visiting the Rivera. The rooms are the perfect size, immaculately clean (and kept that way every day!), and very tastefully decorated. Breakfast on the terrace is a real treat as the hotel has a lovely outlook. Perfect location- walking distance from everything in the town (which I believe is the best out of all the towns along the Rivera!). I dont know how this hotel only has 2 stars because it provided a better experience then some of the 4 star hotels we have stayed in. Thanks so much for making a such a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophiaLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Though not a 3-4-5 star place, it definitely deserves at least 3 stars for service, old-time atmosphere and nice terrace. We felt as if we came to spend a few days at the villa of our friend - with all those old photos on the walls and free books calling to be read.
Calm, nice terrace overlooking garden, own parking, free wifi - very good balance of price and provided service.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I would like to start off saying Thank you to Daniella and Sandro. My husband I spent my 50th birthday in September at the Villa Anita. On the day of my birthday I was pick pocketed on the train, it made for a very stressful day to say the least. When we arrived back at the hotel a lovely suprise of flowers and candy were waiting in our room. We had a lovely room on the very top floor overlooking the pool. I honestly cannot say one bad thing, the breakfast was great each morning (the best we had in 17 days of travelling around Europe) We had dinner two evenings which was also very good. Sandro was a great host, bringing drinks, snacks around the pool. We were very well looked after. We did laundry which was returned the same day and was not overpriced. I will return to Villa Anita!!! Thankyou to both Sandro and Daniella....Kim and Brian.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NanaimoKIm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
898 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#8 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sant'Andrea
Hotel Sant'Andrea
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
785 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Regina Elena
Best Western Regina Elena
#9 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Anita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Anita

Address: Viale Minerva 25, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range: $119 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Anita 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Hotel" Is located in a particularly peaceful area, surrounded by sunny terraces and a beautiful garden covered by different variety of flowers, palms and tall trees. It is very close to the sea and the harbour of Santa Margherita Ligure and it borders on the "Parco Naturale Monte di Portofino" (Natural Park of Portofino). Villa Anita is a refined, homely and tiny Art-Nouveau style boutique hotel, tree star, recently renovated and managed by Tarella family since 1957. Villa Anita Hotel is located in a particularly peaceful area, surrounded by sunny terraces and a beautiful garden covered by different variety of flowers, palms and tall trees. It is very close to the sea and the harbour of Santa Margherita Ligure and it borders on the "Parco Naturale Monte di Portofino" (Natural Park of Portofino). Public areas are comfortable and provided with background music. Free broadband Wi-Fi connection system is available in the entire hotel.... Even outside of it. If you have not your notebook or Smartphone, an internet corner waits for you at the lounge bar. "R&S Area" (Relax & Sport) After a day spent visiting the surroundings or a walking tour on the "Monte di Portofino", enjoy the heated whirlpool bath (30°-32°), a perfect place to relax and drink a good glass of wine or a cool drink. The new Bio Sauna with aromatherapy is waiting for you....But if you prefer, the Finnish Sauna is available upon request. Our small fitness area with Technogym(R) equipment waits for those who still want to do physical activity. "Kid's Area" Children can enjoy themselves in the garden in a playing ground equipped with ping-pong, seesaw and slide ... "Bicycles" If you want to go biking to the town or to Portofino, 6 bikes are available for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Anita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing