We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Canali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Canali
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and nice hotel”
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We stayed 5 nights and had a small balcony, it was beautiful to have the ocean view a bit away and local houses and greens around. As other have mentioned it is not central located in Rapallo.

Takes about 10 min walk through a nice safe park area to get to the center of the town. It was a bit challenging to park a couple of times but we managed in our small rental car. Breakfast was very good and great choices.

We paid around 32 euro for chairs and umbrella - overall it is pricy in Italy at these "vacation places" but that is not the hotels responsibility and they have a deal with one of the smaller places in a little bay which we did not try.

The people in the reception gave excellent service and help us with booking a table at restaurant "Le 2 Quercs" (the 2 oxe's) highly receommend this place (it is mostly fish despite the name...) it located up on the mountain side and you have the most outstanding view of the city and water from above!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eriksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    143
    39
    21
    8
See reviews for
79
189
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed here on our way to our house further south in Italy. The reception was very friendly and helpful. Lovely atmosphere and a beautiful boutique type hotel. large family room was spacious and air conditioned and the large walk in shower room a treat. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We booked here and told the hotel in advance that we would need good car parking as we were travelling in 2 exotic cars which are very difficult to manoeuvre and park. We were assured this was not a problem, but when we arrived we found the car park full, extremely narrow and on a steep slope. We could just about park one car but the i had to reverse hard against a wall and climb out through the passenger door. The car was very vulnerable and other guests said they were sure it would get hit by a car going in or out of the gates. We met with the owner who suggested we street park - the road was very narrow and we complained that this was not good enough. We said we were very sorry but there was no way we could stay at the hotel. The owner then said that we would have to forfeit our deposit. We thought this unfair as we had raised the parking issue when we booked. When my husband said he didn't see why we should have to pay, the owner started saying that we were con artists and that he would call the police - all in front of our little 5 year old son. I eventually negotiated to pay half the deposit - I really didn't want any trouble and we don't speak Italian and having driven all day we were all hot and tired. I can't say what the rooms are like - I never got far enough to see them, but I think the owner's behaviour was pretty despicable - he told us that no hotels had parking in Rapallo - a load of rubbish - we went on to find accommodation with secure underground parking and space. All in all, a very unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwissNomad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Stayed here two night, lovely staff, large room (suite) and good bathroom, only thing was the mattress was a little firm and springy but nothing to complain about really.

I could however offer some advice, be prepared to spend big on taxis, i know hat youre thinking, i'll walk around, with your luggage no! roads are too narrow. The hotel is 2km from the train station or less, this is about 12-15 EURO. I caught a cab at midnight from Portofino to Rapallo, a distance of 8.9km or 16 min (google maps).....it cost....hold for it.......................................95 EURO.......i dont know how these taxi drivers sleep at night, no wait yes i do....on a huge pile of money!!

Aside from taxis and the lack of parking fly into Genoa Airport NOT Pisa, Genoa is 30 min away and from Pisa (1.5 hours) you will need to catch a shuttle bus to the train station and then a train to Rapallo. However there are no announcements on the trains and many stations have just one identifying sign, if you're sitting towards the end of the train you will not be able to see it the sign untill the train passes it and you've just missed your stop!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielGPhotos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We'd never been to Liguria before but had heard great things about the Cinque Terre, etc. so we decided to give it a go. I'd seen reviews about Hotel Canali on TripAdvisor and decided to book us in there based on the generally positive comments. We were not disappointed.

The hotel is situated on the edge of Rapallo's town centre so it's a 10-minute walk to shops, restaurants, train station, etc. The rooms/bathrooms are small - this is Italy, after all - but they are clean and tastefully decorated. We had a room with a little balcony from which we could see the bay (and from which my running gear took flight one windy night and which the staff graciously retrieved!). The staff were all incredibly helpful, courteous and knowledgeable. I didn't catch any of their names but - no matter - they were all unfailingly good at their jobs. So nice to experience this which is in sharp contrast to some of the experiences at home. (In fact, for an area which is besieged by tourists, the people here are consistently polite, friendly, etc). My only gripes are very minor: the wi-fi was a bit erratic and the shower head needed mending...but that's all...everything else was A-1.

Rapallo istelf is a lovely town, slightly bigger than some of the other spots on the coast. Great selection of bars, restaurants and shops - a solid mix of catering for the locals and the tourist trade all side-by-side. Access to/from Rapallo is excellent by either train or ferry. The ferries run to many of the other attractions on the coast, e.g. Portofino, but - be warned- they are weather-dependant.

A few words on nearby attractions:

Portofino - beautiful but outrageously expensive. This place is purely for the Hello! magazine set. Definitely worth seeing but keep spending to a minimum!

The Cinque Terre - we only got to see 2 of the 5 towns (Riomaggiore and Manarola) because rest of the walk was closed due to recent bad weather. Having said that, it is said that they - along with Vernazza - are to most visually appealing. And they are. I've been to many places in Italy over the years but these little towns - and, to be fair, their neighbours of Rapallo and San Magherita de Ligure - equal anything I've experienced. Go see this area - it's spectacular. If you base yourself in somewhere like Rapallo then note that the train journey to/from the Cinque Terre can take an hour or longer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwb_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We found this hotel by riding around Rapallo after being very disappointed with the hotel we reserved in Zoagli. We were greated by Lucia and informed that she had availability for us for the lenght of our stay. She showed us room # 21 and it was beautiful. It was beautifully decorated and also had two balconies. The bathroom was a nice size and had a double shower (which you don't usually find). The entire hotel was decorated with wonderful antique furniture. Lousia was also a great host and very helpful. It was only a 10 minute walk to town through the park where you can get ferry service to all the area towns. We will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suebnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Very clean hotel and superb staff. Very quiet and well placed , close to everything

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Campagnaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapallo hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
L'Approdo
L'Approdo
#9 of 29 in Rapallo
317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#5 of 29 in Rapallo
974 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#18 of 29 in Rapallo
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canali

Property: Hotel Canali
Address: Via Enrico Pietrafraccia 15, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canali 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATIONThe Canali Hotel is located in a quiet residential area close to the city center: In a few minutes walk through the relaxing green park of Rapallo our guests may reach the center of the village, shops, the promenade and its beaches and all local services. It is also possible to have a sightseeing boat tour of the area and to visit Portofino and the "Cinque Terre". It is advisable and more comfortable to reach these locations both by train or bus, leaving the car in our private free parking.WI - FI connection indoor and in the garden, internet point, SKY/ Pay per View. Fitness area with Gym (Technogym), relaxing room, and Turkish Bath (Hammam). Relaxing area in the garden equipped with heated Jacuzzi (5pax), tables and sunbeds. ROOMS21 double rooms, furnished in their original old "belle Epoque" style, enriched in high- tech to satisfy all modern needs.Air conditioning, safe, minibar, LCD TV, hairdryer.JUNIOR SUITES6 modern junior suites built in 2007 with materials, furniture and light colours that help guests in relaxing themselves.26 inch LCD TV, king size safe, minibar, hairdryer and air conditioning. One of them has also a private Jacuzzi for 2 persons.the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Canali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canali Hotel Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing