We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vesuvio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vesuvio Hotel
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Korsoer, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Vesuvio for a week. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Very very clean rooms and facilities. Plain and good breakfast in a nice room overloking the street. Central place with a beautifull view over the Bay from the balcony.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    90
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
50
132
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
portland, maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at this small hotel for two nights. We found it to be very comfortable, clean, and functional. The owner was very gracious and helpful. We had a sea front room and it indeed was sea front. We also had a small balcony which was delightful for sitting in the morning and evening. The breakfast was simple compared to others we had, but that said, it was very good and hit the spot. I would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone. It is a 5 minute, easy walk to the train station.

Room Tip: I would opt for the sea front rooms. The view is beautiful indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill_w_marshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Vesuvio for 8 nights. We had a great corner room on the top floor. The view was amazing. Luciano was so pleasant to us. . We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. Our son, with the help of Luciano, had a wonderful surprise of a bottle of champagne and flowers awaiting us in our room. Luciano took care of everything, making sure that the surprise was a success. Everyday he would greet us with a smile and was always helpful in guiding us for our visits . Many good restaurants in the area. The ferry stop is just in front of the hotel. For us parking was not a problem. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner unit as it has two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfaeffikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
471 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Set on the picturesque promenade of Rapallo, Hotel Vesuvio occupies an elegant Liberty-style villa with fantastic views across the Bay of Tigullio. The rooms are renovated and all have balconies overlooking the sea.

It is conveniently located in just a few steps from the civic centre and the ferry port to Portofino, San Fruttuoso and Cinque Terre, in a short walking distance to the railway station linking Rapallo with the rest of Ligurian coast.

What makes it special are the owners who made our stay a real delight. Incredibly helpful, they treated us like good friends generously sharing their local knowledge and advice and willing to go an extra mile to accomodate our needs. Thanks to their efforts, we had a truly memorable and most enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElenaNW87RL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I spent a few nights at the charming Vesuvio and loved it. We came from Siena in a nice car trip but finding a parking place in Rapallo is not easy, the very friendly owner assisted as in getting free parking in a short walking distance to the hotel. This small hotel is on the center of town near to the restaurants and cafes along the promenade. The room was in good size, but very comfortable, with a romantic view of the sea, my wife loved. Breakfast was nice and well presented in the cafe next to reception with good italian coffee. WiFi was not free. All the staff was friendly and very helpful, they did our stay comfortable. Rapallo is one of our favorite places, just with more life than Portofino, also a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoContı P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The Vesuvio is in the prime position in the hub of Rapallo- everything is closeby, including the station at 300 metres, the ferry across the road, and any number of restaurants within close proximity. The staff are very friendly and helpful-- on arrival we were immediately advised of ferry timetables, tours to take and so on, which really facilitated our decision making. Breakfast has good variety, and an outlook from the dining rom to the bay. The balconies facing out over the bay are great, and provide a window on all the activities below. The double glazed windows work well-- we heard minimal street noise, which is surprising given the number of motor scooters and late diners. The bed & pillows are very comfortable. If you are used to big city 5 star, you will notice some things are missing--tea and coffee making, extensive toiletries, room service, porters to name a few. However, if you want location, friendly staff who get to know you, and a little bit of individuality, the Vesuvio will suit you perfectly.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frans_12255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire,England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is certainly very good. We stayed for 3 nights at the start of June and was really pleased with our choice. The room we had was on the 4th floor with amazing views across the harbour. The balcony and huge shutters framed the view perfectly. Watching the world pass by was lovely after a long day sightseeing. We had requested a quiet room and that was certainly offered to us.

The room was spotless and the bathroom spacious, although the shower was a little small. The room itself was a little sparse but had everything needed.

The staff were lovely, always friendly and helpful. We were met with a small welcome pack of leaflets for the sights, ferry times etc that was really useful. The location of the hotel on the front was perfect - so close to the harbour, right in the middle of some lovely restaurants and the town lanes were just behind. The ferry to Portofino and other destinations is almost opposite the hotel. It was perfect for our stay. The hotel's website has directions from the train station which were absolutely spot on. It took about 5 minutes to walk.

Breakfast was very good for an Italian hotel, with plenty of choice - strong coffee, lots of breads, cheese, ham, salami, cakes, yoghurt, fruit and cereal. We sat outside when the weather allowed in the little suntrap.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rapallo due to its location and the very friendly staff. We hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: 4th floor overlooking the harbour is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapallo hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Desiderio
Hotel San Desiderio
#4 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Italia e Lido Hotel
Italia e Lido Hotel
#8 of 29 in Rapallo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vesuvio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vesuvio Hotel

Property: Vesuvio Hotel
Address: Lungomare Vittorio Veneto 29 | Via Marsala 22, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vesuvio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vesuvio is a splendid Liberty-style villa completely renovated with sea-view all rooms and balcony, located in the center of the promenade of Rapallo.Bar, living room and veranda, elegantly furnished, open directly on the sea promenade; the light enhances the ancient vaults of original bricks ceiling creating an atmosphere of deep relax. Throughout the hotel, including the outdoor area, is active a wireless Internet service -Wi Fi. The Hotel is situated a few steps from the "civic centre", the tourist port and the ferries to Portofino, San Fruttuoso and Cinque Terre.Hotel Vesuvio reserves to its clients a perfect holiday in the heart of the Gulf of Tigullio in an elegant and peaceful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Vesuvio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vesuvio Hotel Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing