We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS!”
Review of L'Approdo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
L'Approdo
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We booked this hotel based on it's location and reviews and we weren't disappointed. From the moment we arrived, when Marta ran down the drive to help us with our cases we knew that we'd made the right choice. All the staff were so helpful and attentive. Rooms and hotel are spotless, very good breakfast, location and setting amongst an array of beautiful trees, together with the view from the balcony - simply stunning. Excellent bus service with stops outside the gates. If we won the lottery, we wouldn't go anywhere else. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZOZAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grerico, Direttore at L'Approdo, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you, thank you for your beautiful words! Marta was very happy for your nice memory of her!
We hope to welcome you again soon
Kindest regards
G.Bottinelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
There are newer reviews for L'Approdo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 326 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is very nice hotel, with a perfect location with short walking distance to both Santa Margherita and Rapallo. The staff is very nice and attending, and speaks fluent English as well as French and German. The breakfast is excellent on Italian standards. I was there for cycling, and even for the sporting purpose the breakfast was plenty.

We stayed there on a short notice, so our room didn't have a balcony or a nice view, but it was clean and plenty of space. I was especially fond of the hard mattress.

The only negative thing was unreliable wifi connection. I had some urgent work matters to take care of, and for a while it was a bit frustrating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grerico, Direttore at L'Approdo, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
thak you for your appreciation and for taking the time to review our Hotel. Our guest's opinion is very important for us.
Best Regards
G.Bottinelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I recently stayed at L'Approdo with my fiancee.
It is a lovely hotel, with bright big bedrooms: our room had a balcony overlooking the sea...breathtaking view!
Very good breakfast with plenty of choice.
Staff was very helpful and friendly.

I'd say the only thing I didn't like was the fact that we could hear another couple in the room next door like they were in our room.
Oh, and be careful when you walk to Santa Margherita! It's very close but the first 100 mt are with no pavement...quite dangerous!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AleTaylor85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grerico, Proprietario at L'Approdo, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest, our staff is really thankfull for your kind appreciation. As far as noise in the room is concerned I am sorry that you could hear people in the room next to you and also surprised because our doors are "acoustic cut" (filled with a special foam against loudness). We will surely take your advise and check this matter with our expert.
For the road with no pavement you're right; even if it is not dangerous it surely is desagreable to walk to Santa Margherita (that's why we always forewarn our guests). During past years we complained hundreds of time against local authorities and apparently they decided now to install a traffic light for pedestrians...keep in touch and we will let you know!
Thank you again for your time and hope to welcome you soon
Best regards
Greta Bottinelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

if your looking for a great base between santa margherita and rapallo then this is the little gem to stay at. we stayed here on our driving holiday on the way down to sorrento. we had booked two nights as it was just a stop over. the staff were great, very helpful and a pleasure to talk too. they gave us advice on where to eat and what was around the area. breakfast was very nice, continental but still plenty of choice. if your walking be warned! its on a hill with no paths for about 100m so dodging the scooters can be a bit of a challenge for the elderly. there is a bus stop just outside to take you into santa margherita where you can get another bus to portofino! we liked this hotel so much that on our way back up italy heading to the UK we stopped here again for another two nights. great hotel and maybe going back this year.

Room Tip: pay that little bit extra and get a room on the top floor facing the road, fantastic views looking o...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ride4change
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grerico, Direttore at L'Approdo, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Guest thank you so much for taking the time to write such nice words! Our staff are gratefull for your appreciation of their work. We hope to welcome you again this summer.
Warmest regards
Greta Bottinelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed here recently with my wife for a wedding in Santa Margerita, having been recommended it by the bride as was most satisfied.

The hotel is a shot walk from the train station but we chose to get a taxi as the route wasn't obvious until we were given a map by the receptionist. A taxi is 18 Euros otherwise.

The staff are very friendly and the hotel has recently been refurbished. It seems every room has a balcony with stunning views over the see.

The rooms are large, clean and the bathrooms are a good size too. There is also a safe in the room, the key to which you get from reception. There's also free wifi.

Breakfast is not bad, there's tea/coffee/juice and a pot of boiling water for your eggs. There's also ham cheese, cereal and fruit.

The only downsides are no irons allowed in the rooms and there's no room service, but it is only a three star hotel so can't complain too much.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tadeusz1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grerico, Direttore at L'Approdo, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your nice review.
The staff are grateful for your appreciation . Hope you'll find another occasion to come and visit us next summer
Best regards
Greta Bottinelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights in order to visit the Italy Riviera. The room was nice and clean. A little noise from the main road. Difficult to find free parking close at the street. Very nice view from the front balcony to the see. Very close to St Margarita - beautiful town to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannyec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grerico, Direttore at L'Approdo, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Sir ,
Thank you so much for your very nice review and for taking the time to write some words about our Hotel and our beautiful area.
We hope to welcome you back next summer !
G.Bottinelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We booked last minute and didn’t have many choices. We got very lucky. The service (especially Francesca at the reception desk) was amazing. Talk about pleasant and friendly. ). Rooms are typical small European rooms, but ours was very clean and had a great view. Parking is limited, but we had no problem. We will go back if we can.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grerico, Proprietario at L'Approdo, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your apprecation. All the staff (Francesca particularly!), was very proud of your nice rewiev. Hope to welcome you again next summer
Best Regards
Greta Bottinelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
645 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Canali
Hotel Canali
#12 of 29 in Rapallo
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Approdo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Approdo

Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 160, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range: $117 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Approdo 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Approdo is a three star Hotel in a unique position overlooking the splendid bay of S.Michael. Hotel recently renovated, modern neat and clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your L'Approdo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Approdo Hotel Rapallo
l Approdo Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing