We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not regret staying here”
Review of L'Approdo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
L'Approdo
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I stayed here in end October as a stopover from my travel from Tuscany to Nice and the weather was still terrific. Advice and recommendations from the owner is spot on. We walked from the hotel to the restaurant he recommended in SML - the walk can be a little unnerving at first as a portion of the sidewalk wasn't paved but it is really not a big deal. We were rewarded with the best meal we had for our entire trip. We wanted to catch a bus back after meals and drinks but couldn't manage that. We do not speak/read italian so do get info in advance if you plan on taking bus back from SML. I am sure the owner/staff in the hotel will be happy to help.

The room in L'Approdo is big (for what we paid for) for Italian standards with a spacious balcony and excellent sea view. The room is spotless too. Both the owner and service staff were friendly and helpful, the kind you wish to have in every hotel. Breakfast is included in our room prices and I am delighted to have warm eggs on top of european style cold breakfast.

We took cab to/from the hotel from Rapallo and to SML train station. Cost approx 15eur. SML is slightly nearer and cheaper. We love SML as it's beautiful and feels so serene after we visit venice, rome and florence. I even like it better than Nice. No doubt L'Approdo will be our choice again in Rapallo/SML.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hagan_dazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grerico, Proprietario at L'Approdo, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Dear Sir,
I wish to thank you so much for the nice words you wrote on the staff and for keeping such a lovely memory of our area and our Hotel. We'll be very happy to welcome you again on your next Italian trip!
Best Regards
Riccardo e Greta Bigoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 332 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2011

This was the BEST hotel we stayed in on our 2 week tour of France and Italy. So clean and beautiful! The staff is amazing and truly go above and beyond to provide 5 star hotel quality treatment. We had to leave early on the morning we checked out (before the breakfast service) and the staff had food waiting for us and made us fresh capuccinos before we left. This is only the tip of the iceburg though on the kind of service we received. The staff is truly remarkable!

The walk that is mentioned by other reviews is truly not that big of a deal. There is a small section of road that does not have a sidewalk on the way into santa margehrita, but there is a sidewalk the rest of the way and all the way into rapallo. Both walks are very managable. Santa Margehrita is a bit closer than rapallo and a bit more of a quiet town (at least when we went). We enjoyed the walk both directons because it was a beautiful after dinner or lunch walk right on the ocean.

I can't say enough about how great this hotel is. Do yourself a favor and stay here. This place makes a great home base to explore all of the lagurian coast. We had a great day trip and hike in cinque terre from here. We took the train down to the southern most village and hiked to the northern most and took the train back. Very manageble timewise and the train ticket is very inexpensive. You will also avoid the crowds of tourists that are in cinque terre.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Knbyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grerico, Direttore at L'Approdo, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

Dear Sirs,
we are really thankfull to you for the wonderful words you use to describe our Hotel, we try our best to be warm and welcoming with all of our guests but it is seldom that someone goes so far in appreciating! This is very rewarding for all the staff. THANK YOU!
We hope to welcome you next season
Best regards
Greta Bottinelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Fantastic hotel. Great views. Regular buses stops right in front. Local little beach and Restaurant le Nave easy walking distance.

Room Tip: First floor balconies much bigger than higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justagirl2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grerico, Direttore at L'Approdo, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2011

Dear Guests, thank you very much for your kind words. We hope to welcome you again next year.
Best Reagards
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

The hotel was more than we expected. The rooms are large with nice balcony to sit and admire the view from. The church bells were so wonderful to listen too and the hotel is a short 5 min walk to Santa margarita. The staff were exceptionally helpful with every request...train schedules, scooter rentals (this is a must do) restaurants...basically everything. Loved our stay and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charbo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grerico, Proprietario at L'Approdo, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2011

Thank you! All the staff wishes to thank you for your kindness. We will try to deserve your ranking also next time you'll decide to visit us in San Michele. We are again the the first Hotel in Rapallo on Trip Advisor and we're very proud! Thank you
Best Regards
Riccardo e Greta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We had a lovely 4 nights at L'Approdo in September. The view from the balcony is breathtaking. I would strongly suggest paying a little extra for a sea view room as well as parking onsite if you have a car. Both well worth it.
If you are looking for a comfortable, clean and friendly place to stay in the Rapallo/Santa Margherita/Portofino area then look no further. The owners were on site daily making sure that everything was perfect and I cannot say enough about how helpful and pleasant Marta, Frederica and Antonella were at the front desk assisting us with activities in the area and especially how the boat, train and bus schedule works. Our room was clean, comfortable and just the right amount of space for what we needed. The breakfast had great variety and is served indoors as well as out. We had terrific weather so having breakfast outside on the patio every morning was an especially great way to start the day.
We will definitely return to this area and L'Approdo Hotel!
I give it an A+ on all accounts.

Room Tip: Best option is pay for the sea view. Also if you prefer a little extra padding on the bed just let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItalyTraveler2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grerico, Proprietario at L'Approdo, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

Dear Sirs, the Hotel Staff wishes to thank you for your very detailed review and for the kindness of your words. We hope to welcome you again in our house very soon
Kindest regards
Riccardo e Greta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We travel to Italy every year and always end up at L'approdo for approx 4-5 days. Stayed there for the 6th time in September. Hotel is great - staff are wonderful and so helpful. View from the balcony is beautiful. What more can I say, except we will be going back again next year and may it long continue!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McClements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grerico, Proprietario at L'Approdo, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

Hallo Mrs and Mr. Mc Clemens, how nice to read your beautiful review! We all wish to thank you for taking us in such consideration and for chosing us as "place to stay" for so many years! We'll wait for you next year. Kindest regards
Riccardo e Greta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Previous reviewers have said all the good things about this hotel which I will not repeat. The staff at the front desk, especially Antonella, were the most helpful staff in all of Italy! We hope to be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grerico, Direttore at L'Approdo, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

Dear Sirs,
Antonella and all the staff wish to say thak you for your beautiful words that are very rewarding for us. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapallo hotels
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vesuvio
Hotel Vesuvio
#5 of 28 in Rapallo
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
0.8 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 28 in Rapallo
682 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Delle Rose
Hotel Delle Rose
#8 of 28 in Rapallo
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Approdo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Approdo

Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 160, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range: $121 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Approdo 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Approdo is a three star Hotel in a unique position overlooking the splendid bay of S.Michael. Hotel recently renovated, modern neat and clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your L'Approdo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Approdo Hotel Rapallo
l Approdo Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing