We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel we have stayed at in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Approdo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
L'Approdo
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best hotel we have stayed at in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We are a couple who have now travelled four times to Italy. We enjoy lots of walking between the towns and the trails in the mountains. This hotel provides everything that we value. We stayed on the fourth floor in which we enjoyed a terraza large enough to accommodate the two lounge chairs, table and sitting chairs, overlooking a beautiful view of the sea. The hotel is situated almost exactly on the border between and Rapallo and Santa Margherita (approximately 10 minutes walk into either town). Both towns offer lots of opportunites for lunch and dinner. For a panoramic view of the Ligurian bay you should take the funivar from downtown Rapalla. We were so impressed with the friendly and excellent service at the L'Approdo. The wonderful owner Ricardo, and Marta, Francesca and Antionella were a wealth of information. The hotel is modern and so well maintained. The breakfast buffet contained lots of variety. We would definitely return to this SUPERB boutique hotel!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grerico, Proprietario at L'Approdo, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
...What can I say? Well first of all thank you for calling me "wonderful owner" !! and than thank you for your really wonderful words very rewarding for me and all the staff. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Riccardo Bigoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    93
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
48
197
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel L'Approdo and would highly recommend this hotel to friends. The rooms are modern, clean and bright. The staff could not have been nicer! Marta, Francesca and Antonella had great suggestions and helpful advice. Thank you so much for your dedication to your guests. We had a large balcony with a lovely view. The location is convenient and allows you to walk into Santa Margherita if you wish. The walk is a bit difficult at times due to a lack of sidewalks. Otherwise the bus stops right outside. It is not a full service hotel. There is no restaurant and no pool. The public beach is a short distance away but it is busy. Parking is limited so book ahead. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marylou1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grerico, Manager at L'Approdo, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Dear Guest, thank you so much for "your dedication to our Hotel"! Your kind words are meaningfull for us and make us feel that we're doing a good job. All the Staff whishes to thank you.
Best Regards
Greta Bottinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hotel L'Approdo as guests for a wedding in Santa Margherita. We didn't know what to expect before our stay, but were extremely impressed with this hotel. Above all, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They provided great information and suggestions for us and were able to help with every question we asked.
We found the location to be pretty central, on the border of Rapallo and Santa Margherita, walking distance to both. There is also a bus stop right by the hotel, which we used frequently. The rooms were nice, clean, included a balcony with beautiful view. The breakfast was great. We enjoyed it each morning, eating outside on the patio. It was a perfect start to our day. If we are ever lucky enough to return to the Italian Riviera, I would be happy to stay at L'Approdo again.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grerico, Manager at L'Approdo, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you for writing such nice words on the Hotel and the Hotel's Staff. We all wish to thank you for the time you took and your kind memory.
Best Regards
Greta Bottinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Location
It's not really in Rapallo (strictly it is!), it's between Rapallo and Santa Margherita. It's a hilly walk wherever you want to go, and if it's into SM the first 300 yards ormsomareup hill on the road with no pavement. Its on a busy coast road and noisy all night. I am a light sleeper though.
If the Road noise doesn't bother you the Church bell rings on the half hour and the 7am calling will mean no need for an alarm clock.

Rooms

Very clean but basic, and we had a superior room. All white and no warmth.

Parking

We booked a space at €15 a night, they are limited and I strongly suggest you book as it's not easy parking around there.

Getting around

You can get to the ferry to Cinque Terre nearby and to Portofino, but if you are limitedmon time there's normally one ferry a day to Cinque Terre and it only runs if the sea is calm. I suggest you take the train.

Portofino is great, make sure you take the walk to the lighthouse.




  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindaandcolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grerico, Manager at L'Approdo, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Dear Mrs, thank you for taking the time to give your opinion on our Hotel and its location. Your opinion and advise are important for us.
Thank you also for mentioning the superior room we decided to grant you as a free upgrade in order to let you enjoy the celebration of your husband's b.day; I'm sorry you only remeber that it is "white"...
We are sadly aware un the unpleasantness of the first stretch of the street leading to S.Marherita L. that is why we always recommend to take the bus whose stop is right in front of us. We are strongly pushing the local administrator on this matter but you know politics has its own time to decide. Let's hope that for your next visit we'll be able to show you a brand-new pavement!
Best Regards.
Greta Bottinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

We were moved to this hotel from another one which was horrible with some frined. We all enjoyed our stay in L´Approdo very much. Very nice, clean and big modern designed rooms, comfortable bed, big bathroom and my room had a very big terrace with table and chairs so we had a nice time in the evening with my friends. Wifi internet available on the room.
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was great, offering plenty food to choose, many types of cakes, rolls etc, also the service was very helpful as some of the friends were disabled.
The hotel is not on the main coast street, but it really does not matter. As we were traveling by car, we would appreciate more parking places, but as I wrote before - our stay was not planned so the staff could not know about our parking needs. We parked our cars in the next calm street and it was fine and safe.
I would really recommend to stay in this hotel and would come back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinginrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grerico, Manager at L'Approdo, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
The Hotel Staff wishes to thank you so much for your nice words and for taking the time to think about us when coming back home. Hope to see you soon in Liguria!
G. Bottinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Address Rapallo--closer to St Margharita Ligure--which is great---since instead of a rundown city feel, you get the I am having my seaview from my balcony just like the gorgerous villa next door! Service beyond helpful----explained to me everything of where to eat, how to get to Portofino-where to beach and different transportation options. For a 3 star extradordinary---clean immaculate white breezy rooms-lovely view of church and the sea beyond from my balcony. When I needed laundry done, they contacted outside service who picked up and returned it in great shape! Nice to have 24 hour bar service and free wifi! Beach -public or private where you can rent chair-is just across street and small walk through a church garden. Walked to both Rapallo and St Margharita.
FYI-if you just want a great pizza and sit on your balcony with wine, just take left out of hotel and walk down street a few blocks til straight a head see run down ristorante Pizzaria sign and voila---fantastic pizza!
Perfect stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Folkgroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grerico, Manager at L'Approdo, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
We all wish to thank you for your beautiful review. Come again for another "sunset pizza" on the balcony! Best wishes
G. Bottiinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Just left L'Approdo today. I highly recommend this hotel. So clean, fresh and hospitable.
Marta, Francesca, and Antoinella were all so helpful. Whether it's making me a cappuccino or yet another bottle of prosecco! The bar area is so handy to have in the lobby area. 24 hours you can have snacks and beverages. The ladies do it all! Lots of lovely tables outside and in to have breakfast or cocktails. Beautiful , clean beachy decor. A nice change from the rustic charm of Tuscany and more elegant rooms in Florence. The bed design is ideal too...white sheets with your own individual comforter. Lots of storage space for luggage under the beds too. Very needed on a long trip. We had a huge balcony overlooking the sea with comfy loungers.
Bellisimo!

Room Tip: Make sure and spend the extra money on a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susancheek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grerico, Manager at L'Approdo, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear Ms. Cheek thank you so much for your appreciation The reception staff wishes to thank you as well for being so nice to remember them all.Arrivederci from Hotel l'Approdo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#14 of 29 in Rapallo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Approdo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Approdo

Property: L'Approdo
Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 160, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Approdo 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Approdo is a three star Hotel in a unique position overlooking the splendid bay of S.Michael. Hotel recently renovated, modern neat and clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Approdo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Approdo Hotel Rapallo
l Approdo Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing