We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stop at the Basilica”

Santuario di Montallegro
Ranked #1 of 49 things to do in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Don't stop at the Basilica”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Get you guide in the shop on the left - give yourself time for the Stations of the Cross and 15 Rosary chapels

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockerbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    181
    32
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting, spiritual place”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Good to travel on the Cable car up the mountain with views over Rapallo. Our Lady appeared here in the the 16th century and left behind an icon and a water spring.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank flowergirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but very steep walk down”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We visited in November when the Funivia (cable car) was closed for the month. So we took the bus up (about 20 minutes, very curvy road but interesting to see the vineyards, groves, and farmhouses in the hills). The sanctuary was indeed beautiful and peaceful. The view was lovely though there was haze that day. We were in pretty good shape, having done extensive walking throughout Europe for the month. Everyone said it would take an hour, but it took almost two, and it was relentlessly steep downhill. The path is paved in rough stone so you really have to watch where you put your feet. I would say that there are other wonderful hiking opportunities in the area, so if you value your knees, skip the walk down this hill.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SeattleFamily256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
188 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views From The Top”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The cable car up to Santuario di Motallegro is small but runs regularly and was sufficient for the small number of visitors on the day we went to the church. It was quite easy to find the starting point and we were treated to some good views on the way up.

The church itself was quite interesting but the real reason to visit was the views that were on offer from the top which were quite spectacular. We went for a walk through the woods behind the church and, while this afforded no great views, it was very peaceful and the shade cooled us on a hot day. Afterwards we had lunch in the very reasonable restaurant at the top (the third and furthest from the cable car departure point) where we were able to see Rapallo and the bay to Portofino.

We enjoyed our time at Santuario di Montallegro as it made a peaceful change from the hustle and bustle of Rapello at the height of the tourist season.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Amani10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A fun adventure”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The funivia /cable car ride was part of the fun of going. And of course the story behind this nearly 500 year old sanctuary, the art, and the ongoing local culture of Montallegro helped to make it an interesting experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChiChiMa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santuario di Montallegro also viewed

 
Rapallo, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Santuario di Montallegro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing