We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ideal choice for Rapallo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon, France
2 reviews
“ideal choice for Rapallo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

i like very much this hotel in center of Rapallo. It is ideal for to go for a walk and visiting this beautiful town . I like our room's style ,breakfast with many choice and the yang and very courteous staff.I recommend this hotel for many reasons ....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank svetla2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    268
    43
    19
    3
See reviews for
243
519
21
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is the fourth time my wife and I have stayed at this hotel and the first since the Best Western association. I'm pleased to say the excellent standard is maintained; the courteous and helpful staff; the rooms; the sumptuous breakfast etc etc. We cannot fault it.

Room Tip: If you opt for a Junior Suite, ask for the third floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wlchubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We enjoyed very much this hotel. Rooms are OK and wifi acceptable.
The best are the breakfasts. They are amazing.
Also you have a good cheap parking just on the other side of the street.
The shopping district is 200 m away.
And you have Portofino by boat every hour or so.
We recommend.

Room Tip: The best room is on the 6th floor with a fantastic view over the harbor and the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

If I went into detail I would simply be repeating previous comments. We did not have a balcony but still had an excellent spacious room with a view of the bay. The staff were friendly and helpful and it would be difficult to beat the location. The standard of accommodation fully merits 4 stars. It is a pity that the hotel does not have a dining room but this is understandable in view of the numerous restaurants within 5 minutes walk.
If you can book and pay in advance this will secure a good reduction on the normal rate.

Room Tip: If you don't wish to pay the rate for a balcony ask for a room with a sea view between the adjac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Dont rely on the international Best Western call center when you book. We were promised both balcony and seaview at a price of 98 € breakfast incl. At arrival the hotel claimed the price was 245 €.... Agreed to pay 150 €. But the hotel is overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MagneSandgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_TigullioRoyal, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Sandgaard, we're really sorry to hear that your booking made through the International Office of Best Western was not sufficiently clear and that this has consequently created a situation not so pleasant at your arrival in our hotel. As a result of your notification , we evaluated important to contact Best Western and require explanation to this matter . The BW manager confirmed us that you reserved a classic room, no sea view . and all details of this booking ( rate , facilities , inside view ) were clearly written on the confirmation form sent to you .Perhaps if you had read it with greater attention , you would have noticed the mistake and you could modify your reservation by time . Anyway , at the check in , we tried to clarify the problem and we offered you the best solution available, accomodating you in a junior suite with double balcony and sea view at the price of € 150 instead of € 245. Unfortunately, our efforts and our desire to satisfy your expectations turned out to be unnecessary and the result is this bad comment that really saddens us . Best Westerrn hotels always want to offer the best in quality of service and your opinion is very valuable to us. We hope to regain your trust in a future stay.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Best Western Tigullio Royal is in the perfect location to explore beautiful Rapallo, close to restaurants, shops, the train station and ferries for day trips to Cinque Terre, Portofino and Santa Margherita Ligure. Our room was clean, modern and stylish with a spacious wardrobe and a wide balcony with a great view of the promenade and the Mediterranean Sea. Free wifi. A car park just across the street. The (included) breakfast was extensive with many choices of hot and cold foods available. The staff in the breakfast and reception area were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask a higher floor room with a seaview and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paula_sinikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have just completed a lovely stay at Hotel Tiguillo Royale in beautiful Rapallo. We traveled as a group of four couples, and Rapallo was our second stop on a two-week trip of Italy. I had been to Rapallo about ten years prior and loved it and it did not disappoint.

This intimate hotel is perfectly located and an easy walk from the train station. The staff was delightful, from our email correspondence prior to arrival and throughout our stay. Cristina, Elisabetta, Ahmar, Andrea at reception and AnnaMaria in the breakfast room – all were not only professional and helpful but also warm and friendly. We felt welcome throughout our stay.

We had a wonderful view over the sea from our immaculately maintained and comfortable room. The heavy doors eliminated street noise and the shutters blacked out the light, making for a good night’s sleep. Our balcony had two chairs and we enjoyed watching both the street life and the sea from our vantage point.

Breakfast was fresh and enjoyable and had a nice array of options. My preference is an Italian breakfast and I totally enjoyed the nice variety of cheeses and meats offered, along with very fresh fruits and juices.

Luca, the General Manager, was very visible throughout our stay and always took the time to ask us if we were enjoying our stay.

We took a day trip to Portofino the first full and then walked along the coast from Portofino to Santa Margherita Ligure, about 4 miles. We then took the ferry back from SML to Rapallo and whiled away the late afternoon with a nice bottle of Montepulciano at nearby Café Carvaggio. We had made reservations at Vecchia Rapallo very close to the hotel for dinner that evening, based on recommendations on this forum, and were quite disappointed. Food ranged from good to very average and service was mostly abrupt, due I suspect to them being grossly understaffed. We enjoyed the ambiance but would not recommend it to others based on our experience there.

The next day we spent the morning in nearby Camogli, and loved it! The views were simply spectacular and town utterly charming. Around lunchtime we took the train to Sestri Levante in search of the Trattoria Polpo Mario, which we found when we were not actually looking for it. We enjoyed a delicious lunch of grilled octopus, and took a late train back to Rapallo, settling in for an afternoon glass of wine.

This evening we opted for a picnic dinner and each couple choose a category of food to contribute, as well as wine. We feasted on roasted chicken, salami, prosciutto, a selection of cheeses served with honey and fig jam, a selection of dolce, and several bottles of a variety of Italian wines. It was a perfect evening all the way around.

Our last day we spent wandering the streets of Rapallo, stopping for a coffee or to say hi to some of the shopkeepers we had met in the last few days.

We loved our stay at this charming hotel in this lovely city and will definitely be returning to both.

Room Tip: Book a sea view and enjoy the lovely views of the coastline
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caviargal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#5 of 29 in Rapallo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Desiderio
Hotel San Desiderio
#4 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal

Property: BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal
Address: Piazza Quattro Novembre 3, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
#1 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rapallo
#1 Family Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Business Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rapallo is rightly considered the pearl of the Gulf of Tigullio, the Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal is its shining star in the hotel sector.A refined and elegant 4-star hotel, it stands on Rapallo's seafront, at the heart of the magnificent Italian Riviera. Santa Margherita, Portofino, Camogli and Sestri Levante can easily be reached by train or boat. The Tigullio Royal Hotel stands in Piazza IV Novembre, in the centre of Rapallo, very close to places of historic and cultural interest in the city. For business guests there is a Conventioned Meeting Centre, up to 50, next to Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal; Coffee Break and Lunch services available on reques ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tigullio Royal Hotel Rapallo
Tigullio Royal Rapallo
Tigullio Royal Hotel Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing