We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in Rapallo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Rapallo”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We chose this hotel based on the great reviews and it's proximity to Cinque Terre and Portofino.
We had no idea how much we would love Rapallo. Such a beautiful city. The Tiguillio was a wonderful hotel. Staff was great and breakfast was fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013eu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_TigullioRoyal, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest ,
we are happy that you so positively evaluated our Staff and service and that you appreciated the hotel's position and views . We agree with you : Rapallo is a wonderful town , even if not so famous as Portofino or Santa Margherita , but it's worth to discover .
Thanks again and see you soon .

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    282
    44
    19
    4
See reviews for
261
543
22
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vizzolo Predabissi, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Central location, in front of the sea, large and comfortable rooms, very clean, very professional personnel. Low price even if four stars are maybe too much but the price was in line with the services rendered. The breakfast very rich with a lot of fresh food. If you pay in advance through web, you ar eligible of 20% discount.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lorenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_TigullioRoyal, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Lorenry ,
many thanks for your review written on the occasion of your recent stay .
It's a pleasure to know that you fully enjoyed our hotel and above all our wonderful breakfast : an extra large buffet with many fresh products , local specialities , seasonal fruit , smoked salmon and much more .
We hope to welcome you soon again .

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Tigullio Royal in Rapallo and it was fantastic! Beautiful room (we opted for a superior with a partial sea view) and great bathroom and everything spotless. We even had a balcony which was a surprise. Breakfast was amazing, so much variety and great service even though it was a buffet. We definitely rated this breakfast as one of the best during our 6 week trip.
Rapallo is a lovely town and the hotel is in a great position looking out over the beach and the water. The reception staff were all great especially Alexander (I think that's his name) and of course Alessandro at breakfast was fantastic. I always thought Best Western hotels were a little downmarket, but trust me, this hotel is the best!! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor, 402 - nice view, balcony and large room and bathroom. Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_TigullioRoyal, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Abdan,
you're an expert reviewer and your opinion is very valuable, given your experience of traveler.
We want to thank you for the great comment , especially for the compliments dedicated to our breakfast buffet : it is our jewel and our breakfast staff does its best to prepare every day an exellent buffet with so many fresh specialties .
Thanks for the time you spent for us ; we hope to welcome soon again .

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I took our first trip to Rapallo in June and spent three nights at Tigullio Royal Hotel. We will definitely go back. The staff is very helpful, cheerful and friendly. The location is excellent - walking distance to the train station and situated across from the beach. We upgraded to a slightly larger room with a balcony and an excellent view of the water. For an additional 40 Euro per night, it was worth it. Rapallo is now on our list of favorite vacation spots, along with Nantucket Island and Charleston, South Carolina and Sonoma, California.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_TigullioRoyal, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Karen ,
we want to thank you for the great review that you wanted to devote.
We are very happy that you had a good stay and that you definitely recommended our property .
A special thanks from our staff for your so kind words .
We wait to welcome you soon .

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed for three nights and absolutely loved this hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and willing to do whatever it takes for customer satisfaction. The rooms are quite large for Europe and we enjoyed our balcony overlooking the Bay of Tigullio. The included breakfast offered many options of hot and cold food, juices and coffee. The cappuccino was outstanding. Best of all, the hotel is located right around the corner from the promenade making this very convenient to restaurants and the ferry service to Portofino. Thursday is market day in the parking lot across from the hotel and along the promenade which created a minor inconvenience of having to move the car over night, but the market experience was a wonderful way to spend a morning.

We stayed in room 402, and found the half door on the bath tub to be too small to contain the water in the shower, despite our best efforts. This however, is the only negative of our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryFowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_TigullioRoyal, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Barry ,
first of all you desire to thank you for your great review concerning our hotel . Your comment is really enthusiastic , full of positive energy for all staff . The hotel has a wonderful position , just on the promenade , but really close to shopping area , restaurants , ferry boats , train station and on thursday , just in front of the hotel , there is the open market , full of colours and parfums .
About the parking , we always offer a solution , an open area ( on payment ) or an indoor parking space ( to be reserved ) -
We thank you for definitely recommending our property and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

The Management -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, Ohio
Level Contributor
201 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

After doing research around the area we honed in on the Tigullio Royal. What a great location overlooking the bay and the view of the hills above the city. The staff is THE best from the front desk and especially in the cafe. Alessandro is one of the most professional and friendly guys we've ever met, A true pleasure to be around. The included breakfast is a great buffet with all fresh foods and even champagne.
Rapallo is nicely located with access to the surrounding area. Portofino is a short drive and a wonderful destination. But by recommendation from Alessandro we popped over to Corniglia on another day. We parked, walked down the hill and it happened to be the Ferrari club meeting day >>> UNBELIVABLE.

Room Tip: Do take a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_TigullioRoyal, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Alan ,
we are delighted to hear thay you spent a great stay with us an that you enjoyed our hotel and services and particularly appreciating our Buffet Breakfast .
All products are choosen with special attention and prepared with care and , as you could see , our Guests can find also assorted fresh salads , smoked salmon , vegetable pie and also a fresh Prosecco wine .
A thank from the Staff and from Alessandro , who really enjoyed your comment !
Hoping to welcoming you soon again , best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked a Junior Suite and were very pleased with this choice, the room was really nice, it had two balconies and an awesome view over the bay. We found the bathroom a bit small and average for the category though. Parking space is available, but unfortunately not on Thursdays! Breakfast was really good, and the staff was very helpful and nice.
Beaches are nearby, as well as the train station to Cinque Terre and the boat stop. The hotel is near to the nice city of Rapallo, perfect for shopping and dining. Be sure to reserve restaurants in the city, especially at the weekends!
I missed a sun terrace or a pool (there are no sun beds at the beach before June).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_TigullioRoyal, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest ,
we have really appreciated your comment about our hotel . As you confirmed , the junior suite is really a very nice accomodation , full equipped , with two wonderful windows and balcony overlooking the sea and the promenade .
About the parking , on thursday , to avoid the problem of the open market , we always propose our guests to move their cars in a close parking area , always few meters from our hotel or to reserve an indoor private space .
The hotel is in the hearth of the town of Rapallo , really close to the shopping streets , the ferry boat departure point , few steps from the train station .
We thank you for the time devoted to our hotel and we hope to welcome you again soon .

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
586 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#5 of 29 in Rapallo
955 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
604 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal

Property: Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
Address: Piazza Quattro Novembre 3, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rapallo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
#1 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#1 Family Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Business Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rapallo is rightly considered the pearl of the Gulf of Tigullio, the Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal is its shining star in the hotel sector.A refined and elegant 4-star hotel, it stands on Rapallo's seafront, at the heart of the magnificent Italian Riviera. Santa Margherita, Portofino, Camogli and Sestri Levante can easily be reached by train or boat. The Tigullio Royal Hotel stands in Piazza IV Novembre, in the centre of Rapallo, very close to places of historic and cultural interest in the city. For business guests there is a Conventioned Meeting Centre, up to 50, next to Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal; Coffee Break and Lunch services available on reques ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tigullio Royal Hotel Rapallo
Tigullio Royal Rapallo
Tigullio Royal Hotel Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing