We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2006

We've just returned from Italy and spent 4 nights in the Guilio Cesare. I chose it on price and after reading reviews on tripadvisor, but I really wish we'd paid a bit more and chosen the Excelsior or Riviera which looked really nice.
Giulio Cesare is in a beautiful setting with views across the sea-and fantastic views from their (under-rated) rooftop terrace. BUT...very disappointing generally. The room was basic and small with a tiny bathroom. The breakfast consisted of 1(!) croissant each, plus a basket of uncovered bread; and coffee and (powdered) orange juice from a machine. How unitalian! Having just spent a couple of days at the Bristol Palace in Genoa this was a mighty comedown!
The worst bit was the staff. It was obviously run by a husband and wife team (who lived there too) who uttered a handful of words to us during our entire stay. We greeted them each morning and evening with a friendly Good Morning/Evening (in Italian) but never got a reply. How rude. Our EUR85 per night was gladly taken from us on check out, whilst the woman was talking on the phone. No 'thanks for your stay, hope you enjoyed it' - nothing!

Rapallo itself was lovely and a great base for Cinque Terre and Portofino etc. I would definitely return but not here!!

  • Liked — Rooftop terrace
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank murney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    80
    68
    20
    21
See reviews for
27
123
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leicester, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2006

We stayed for three nights. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable, bathrooms adequate (although water tended to dry up at busy times). Staff were mainly fine but did not go out of there way to help and inform. Great position in lovely town. On a busy road so noisy at peak times. Decent reasonably priced way of staying at this fantastic small seaside resort.

Helpful?
1 Thank nije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay area
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2004

This past July we stayed here on the top floor with a triple for our three teenagers and a double for my husband and I. It was great. What a view from the rooftop porch of the hills, town, harbor and ocean. It was beautiful Italy. We spent all evening up there. My husband and kids also walked to the beach which is only a block or two away and swam in the warm sea. We had a very good dinner at their restaurant which they kept open later for us. There was no traffic noise in our rooms, and both of our air conditioners worked fine.The older gentleman who was at the desk most of the time was very kind and helpful. The woman there is not friendly, so just try to deal with him and it will be great. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank N0rCalfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2004

This hotel was the lowest price hotel out of five that we stayed at on our recent vacation. We planned to use it as our base to visit Portofino. Not only was the hotel a great value, but the city of Rapallo was a pleasant surprise. The view from the rooftop solarium is excellent overlooking the bay. The hotel restaurant is good plus plenty of other choices. The hotel managers di Camisa Antonio & Maria Teresa were pleasant and efficient.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2003

This hotel combines the best of small hotel with the excellence of professional services. The staff, owners, and the local regulars, who come to the hotel for dining, make one's stay unforgettable. Whether you are stopping over night or staying on a monthly basis, this centrally located ( on bus line) hotel is a situated so you enjoy the best walks to and from town or to the Marina. Gentility, grace and hospitality and excellent cuisine are the order of the day, 24/7, in this wonderful domain.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2003

We found Giulio Cesare through the internet and had emailed the hotel for availability. We were quoted a very reasonable price - 93 Euro including light breakfast for a double. We were thrilled to get a room on the top floor with a fantastic view of the harbor and the sea. There's even a nice rooftop patio with tables and chairs to relax and enjoy the sea air. The staff was hospitable and does speak some English. Giulio Cesare is quaint- without the fuss, convenient to Santa Margherita, and reasonably priced. hotel-giulio-cesare.it

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapallo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#19 of 29 in Rapallo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.6 mi away
L'Approdo
L'Approdo
#9 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miro Hotel
Miro Hotel
#15 of 29 in Rapallo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#14 of 29 in Rapallo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Italia e Lido Hotel
Italia e Lido Hotel
#8 of 29 in Rapallo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Portofino
Hotel Portofino
#13 of 29 in Rapallo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giulio Cesare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giulio Cesare

Property: Hotel Giulio Cesare
Address: Corso Cristoforo Colombo 52, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giulio Cesare 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Giulio Cesare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giulio Cesare Hotel
Giulio Cesare Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing