We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Woman Owner in the Hotel Business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Rapallo
Reviewed October 21, 2008

If you don't want to spoil your day in Rapallo do not book this hotel. The Woman Hotel Owner, assume she is the owner, apparently does not like customers and shows it by mimic, gestures, words and behaviour. Her discomfort already spilled over to one of the restaurant staff, who in time may become a true copy. Unknown to me is the rating "Three" star. The room is small, even for the Italian Reviera. Half of the electrical lights worked, A/C did not work at all, nor any heating. Toilette seat "was hanging in there". On the only positive side: Hot water was HOT! Hotel services the minimum on breakfast and this out of prepared machines.
Rapallo otherwise is a charming place on the Italian Reviera and worth a visit, however, I will never come back to this hotel, nor would I recommend this place, not even to my enemy!
G.M. USA

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMUSA34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 259 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2008

I requested a room on the highest floor, i was given room 50 which had access to the roof terrace and had 2 windows one with a veiw of the mountains and the other of the port and beach. This hotel was is an ideal position 5 mins from beach and resort centre and the room was very well furnised. The only downside was the rude recpetion staff- who couldn't even manage a smile. The breakfast was a good variety.

The resort itself is lovely nicer than portofino, i can only recommend people to stay here. I loved this area of Italy and i will return in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loopylou1559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2007

Stayed at this hotel last fall. It is inexpensive, BUT, woman proprietor was nasty. Hospitality not in her vocabulary. Every question brought out her hostility. Everyone else at the hotel was very nice. Rooftop area and front room views are OK . Everything in this hotel is old and in need of updating, especially the bathrooms. Another caveat, the hotel is on a busy and noisy street-day and night. Even with windows closed sleeping is not easy. AC is difficult to get since owner won't give out remote without an altercation. Try for a back room without the view. At least you will sleep.

Stayed: October 2006
2  Thank ARJACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2007

What others said about the woman owner is not strong enough. She is the worst and should not be at the front desk. The late afternoon and evening workers are very nice and that helped make up for her rudeness. If you decide to stay here make sure you are not in rooms 24 or 40. The bathrooms in these rooms are the worst. I checked out other rooms and the bathrooms in them are much better. The one plus I will say is the air conditioning was very good. So, the bottom line is I would look around for another hotel where they make you feel welcomed.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jan1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2007

I stayed for four days at the hotel and found it to be clean and quiet but with no frills. The roof top terrace is fantastic and it has amazing views of the town.
Location: It's about a 5 minute walk from the train station. Try and get directions before you leave because we got lost trying to find it and went way out of the way. This hotel is not on the main strip but is still quite centrally located.
Room: No frills. They have great blinds that make the room really dark. The shower is in the bathtub which takes a little practice to perfect. There was a large wardrobe and the bed was fine. We had a triple room and the third bed was a cot which surprised us. There is no iron at this hotel as well so be warned! There was a hairdryer though.
Breakfast: It's a croissant and some bread and coffee from a machine. We found it adequate for us. It was included in our price but if it isn't, I would just walk up the block and grab a fresh croissant from one of the bakeries.
Reception: We found the staff fine and some were very friendly. None of us had any problems with anyone there.

Suggestions: We found very little information on the area is given from the hotel and even the information centre in town. Read some guide books of the area before you go to get a good idea.
The restaurants are great and you really can't go wrong. We went to a great restuaurant called Il Gardina which is at the very end of the promenade, one street back. The patio is beautiful and the food was great.
Take a day trip to Camogli..it's amazing!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ac1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2006

This hotel is a charming, well located facility. I believe it is family owned. The older woman (owner) was totally not friendly and not helpful. She offered no assistance or detail about the hotel. We had warm weather and was not told we needed to ask for the remote to turn the a/c on. The room was cleaned each day and no additional soap was left to use. Good thing I brought some of my own. Toiletries were minimal. Also when leaving the room all the hall lights were off and we had to find our way to the elevator. We booked thru hotels.com and the web site stated that breakfast was included. We were informed by the same woman that it was not with how we booked..Checking when we got home are reservation stated that it was. Not even a cup of coffee was offered. There is a friendly dog that hangs at the front desk and I presume the husband of this woman that was more cordial when she was not around..

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cttourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2006

Hotel is excellent value for Italian Riviera and proximity to Portofino and Cinque Terre. (which by the way are all very over-rated and some of the other towns like Rapallo and Santa Margherita are just as interesting but that's another topic I guess) Very clean and well-run operation. The rooms contain all the necessities you'll need including AC, satellite TV, comfortable beds, international phone (I made some check-in calls to the States and what they charged was very reasonable) No this is NOT a perfect hotel or a SPA hotel if that is what you are seeking, you will find a few extremely minor and tolerable knicks and dings, so minor that the low rate overcompensates, this hotel if anything is undervalued. If you are British or American and are looking for 5-star with a multi-lingual concierge and are expecting a full breakfast for 93 euros a night (I'm still in shock by that comment from a previous poster...) then this is NOT the place for you, not at this rate dearies. Time for a REALITY CHECK for you. Perhaps you should consider some of the boutique or luxury hotels and pay an additional 200 euro a night for a lovely Italian croissant, a boiled egg and an authentic capuccino or Earl Grey to get you going in the morning. However, if you are travel savvy then you will appreciate the excellent location and cleanliness that this hotel offers. Oh yes, the staff. I will agree that they could be a bit more engaging, but their attitudes are really not that different from what you will find in most of the tourist-heavy areas of Italy, where tourists are a lira a dozen and the hotel & restaurant operators are not as obsessed with profits and pandering to guests as what you'd find in some of the more capitalistic major cities in North America or northern Europa. Am sure you will find exceptions to this but you are also paying dearly for that extra attention. >smile< My only real gripe is that the hotel could have provided better literature about local sights, train schedules and procedures, etc. in languages other than Italian, so as to compensate for their lack of language skills. But now that you know this you will do your due diligence and bring along a decent guide book to help with these details in case you decide to stay here! Personally from what we saved by staying here, we were able to splurge on some fantastic meals and other memorable sight-seeing expeditions.... Highly recommend unless you are the pampered, fault-finding type who is afraid to learn a few basic Italian phrases to help you break the ice with the locals...

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P_Cheatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapallo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#16 of 28 in Rapallo
165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Delle Rose
Hotel Delle Rose
#8 of 28 in Rapallo
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miro Hotel
Miro Hotel
#17 of 28 in Rapallo
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
L'Approdo
L'Approdo
#9 of 28 in Rapallo
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vesuvio
Hotel Vesuvio
#5 of 28 in Rapallo
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#15 of 28 in Rapallo
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giulio Cesare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giulio Cesare

Address: Corso Cristoforo Colombo 52, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Rapallo
Price Range: $62 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giulio Cesare 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Giulio Cesare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giulio Cesare Hotel
Giulio Cesare Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing