We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice in Rapallo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Krakow, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great choice in Rapallo”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very good choice for touristic stay at Rapallo and region in the range of ***. Hotel perfectly located, very close to marina and city center, but calm and quiet. Very nice building and interior design + elevator inside. Tasty breakfasts with fresh food and great coffee. Owners very friendly and helpful. Rooms well equipped. If needed - It is possible to keep your car in closed parking - although this service at price of 15 EUR/day is quite expensive.
We didn't use interent, so no comments about it.
We had been very happy with our three nights stay at "Giulio Cesare" and I can highly recommend this hotel as well as Rapallo, Portofino, Camogli and Cinque Terre as great destination of your holiday.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for room on the southern side. There is beautiful, panoramic view on the harbor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perpetum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    84
    72
    20
    21
See reviews for
28
128
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We got a room on the top floor with a wraparound balcony which gave great views. It was a good sized room with a modern bathroom & it was clean.Nice big towels. We enjoyed the variety at breakfast(choice of cappuchino,hot chocolate,latte,juice,fruit tarts,cakes,croissants,etc). It's a short walk to the shops, seafront, restaurants,cablecar and the open markets(Thursday). Free parking in the public carpark nearby which is safe & convenient.

Room Tip: Definitely the room at the top with penthouse views from the private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pstanslaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed in the hotel from July 23-24, and compare with other hotels later on during our trip in Italy, we have to say that having a 3 star rating, it corresponded well to our expectations and the price. We booked this hotel in a rush, without actually doing a thourough research, but the reviews from Tripadvisor helped. We did not expect great breakfast, so we were ok with that. And it is true, it was horrible in terms of choice of items and also quality. The coffee was no good, tea ok. Italian tradition eating sweet thing for the breakfast did not really appeal. However they had a sparesome variety of youghurts, breadrolls ( if any variety at all), jams, honey and butter. No musli, bacon, eggs etc..

We arrive in the evening of 23rd after 5 hours of travel, out room was well airconditionned, something that we appreciated very much. The room had also enough space and cupboards ( although we did not use them). Another good thing was that it was not facing the main street, which one have to take to go to St. Marguerita Ligure and Portofino.

We were very lucky with the parking, and managed to save few cents there. In front of the hotel, there is a big parking, which belongs to port users( we think), however, if you are lucky enough to find a spot there, you can park. Italian police did not really check out the cars which were not parked correctly during the weekend. Of course the best mean of transporation in the Italian Riviera is scooter.

As per other reviews, the hotel possess great terrasse on the roof, which provides you with excellent view.

We were quite happy with our stay in the hotel, and would recommend anyone to stay there, as it happened to us, we came back from Firenze to Rapallo and managed to get a room the same day as we called ( during the high season).

If you will stay in the hotel, ask for room nr. 35, as it is big enough, quite, and cool on hoht summer days. Room 27, was small, (bathroom and the room as well) although it had a terrasse which we did not really use...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LVI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We stayed during a recent trip through Italy. Compared to other hotels we stayed in off the same star rating, this one fell short of expectations. We weren't made to feel welcome on arrival, rooms and bathrooms are in need of some work and breakfast is very limited. Our room was cleaned every day and given fresh towels. Overall decor is old and a bit dirty looking. The sun terrace is nice and offers beautiful views of the port but if the sun isn't shining this hotel isn't where you would enjoy spending time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rapallo hotels

Oslo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We stayed four nights in this hotel and were generally very satisfied! The staff was nice and helpful, the central location was perfect and the view from the roof terasse was priceless. We asked for - and got - a room at the top floor near the roof terasse and we never missed having our own balcony. There were only a few small drawbacks. Our bed could have been better (it was a bit hard and "fell down" in the middle), there was no fridge and the traffic was loud at times. However, we forgot about that once we sat on the terasse looking at the boats coming in.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingvild77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

All the bad recentions- shame on you! I was there when the gentleman form Talinn was arguing about the price and noone was rude to him, the son's owner just said that he didn't know anything about 75 euro, everyonecan see the pricelist, that sais 85 euro. Anyway, we stayed there with our daughter (2 years) and dog and had a wonderfull time! The room was cleaned every day, clean towels and sheets, nice personnel! Maria Tesera (the owner) and het daughter Paula were so nice to us and our daughter and the dog! I would go again next year! Thank you all for the pleasant stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BorianaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

We were looking for hotels in Rapallo late in the evening. The hotel reception told us the price for double room is 75 EUR including a breakfast and 15 EUR extra for a parking space. I asked the price once more, it was confirmed 75 EUR and took room. In the morning during checkout there was a new person in reception who wanted to charge 85 EUR, as this should be their regular price. I told about our agreed price of 75 EUR and insisted they call the person working in reception last night, whom they "could not contact". So I had to pay 10 EUR extra, which is very bad as I double checked the price during check-in. The staff in reception was extremely rude to me during the check out process. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone if you would like to have a pleasant service and holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Waldec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapallo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#18 of 29 in Rapallo
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miro Hotel
Miro Hotel
#15 of 29 in Rapallo
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
L'Approdo
L'Approdo
#9 of 29 in Rapallo
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Portofino
Hotel Portofino
#13 of 29 in Rapallo
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Italia e Lido Hotel
Italia e Lido Hotel
#8 of 29 in Rapallo
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cavour
Hotel Cavour
#19 of 29 in Rapallo
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giulio Cesare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giulio Cesare

Property: Hotel Giulio Cesare
Address: Corso Cristoforo Colombo 52, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giulio Cesare 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Giulio Cesare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giulio Cesare Hotel
Giulio Cesare Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing