We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended - exceeded our expectations!”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Highly recommended - exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I booked back in January for a 5 night stay in May... expecting a dated hotel going by the bargain price we paid, and the slightly jaded photos on the website we booked from. We arrived by train from Genoa, and the Europa is an easy 5 minute walk from the railway station in Rapallo. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the hotel; the public rooms are stylish and contemporary. The 1st and 2nd floor bedrooms have been refurbished but our 4th floor room was not; and given that we only paid £66 for a double room inc breakfast, I thought we would end up in a cupboard! We needn't have worried the bedroom was very comfortable and spacious with ensuite bathroom. We were at the back of the hotel and there was no noise (apart from 7am church bells). I don't expect the price we paid will be available now as I'm sure as the hotel continues to redesign (an outdoor pool is planned) it will become a premium hotel competing with those in Portofino. The hotel has a chic bar and restaurant, all designer white, and an even lovelier outdoor eating area. We ate 3 nights out of 5 at the hotel, the set 3 course dinner menu cost 20 euros. Breakfast was a continental buffet, which was lovely, my only small gripe was that the staff were a little slow in replenishing bread rolls, normal tea bags, hardboiled eggs etc. Some mornings there were plenty, sometimes there were simply none. Other than that we found the hotel receptionist and restaurant staff, friendly and efficient.

If you are considering which town to stay in to visit Portofino or the Cinque Terre, you will find that Rapallo is not only very central but a lovely town in its own right. And the Hotel Europa is ideally situated to get the boat or train to all these other very pretty places.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkjan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    422
    139
    42
    18
See reviews for
166
562
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koog aan de Zaan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2011

This hotel is renovating to a design hotel. The first and second floor are ready. The top 2 floors will be renovated next year. As a travel agent I've visited a lot of hotels in the world. This is what you expect from a hotel in a perfect surrounding like Rapallo

Room Tip: To get the perfect room? Just pay for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank De_Reis_Expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

The hotel is located right in the center of the town, ideal for strolling around. The rooms are of adequate size, very clean and although the fittings are not new, everything is in good working order. Very friendly staff and a nice breakfast buffet complete the very good impression

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edswi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

This was a great hotel in a fabulous location with excellent breakfast. Rooms were lovely and very clean. If I have to make a negative comment it was about one staff member who failed to acknowledge me at reception on my arrival. I felt that she frowned upon me for arriving on a motorbike. All the other staff and the service was excellent. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Stayed for one night. Decoration very outdated but correct in bedrooms. Bathrooms too small. Elevators totally disagreeable ,they need urgent decoration attention (made one think one had made a terrible choice before seeing the bedrooms) Breakfast was good. "Parking" is extremely small, fits maybe 6 cars. Staff is friendly in general, Matteo at reception is very polite and gave us very good tips for beaches on the way to Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fyvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Europa. If you are taking the train through out Italy, the hotel is a short walk from the train station and only a one block walk to the beach. While we were staying here, the trains were on strike and we were unable to visit the cinque terre but we made the best of it and visited portofino and santa margherita via the ferry. The hotel staff were helpful in guiding us throughout the area and although the breakfast was leaving a little to be desired, most of the breakfasts in Italy were about the same. Our room was clean, not too expensive, and had a good view of the hills above town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOIGGLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Situated between the main line railway along the coast and the beach promenade.
We went for a Christmas break with Page and Moy, the restaurant was a farce, the chef did not turn up some days, but the waiters did the best they could.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartinoPlymouthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapallo hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
612 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Canali
Hotel Canali
#12 of 29 in Rapallo
336 reviews
1.0 mi away
L'Approdo
L'Approdo
#9 of 29 in Rapallo
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Via Milite Ignoto 2, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#4 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#6 Family Hotel in Rapallo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Rapallo
Rapallo Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing