We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Nice hotel, but too expensive.
But I can explain it because it's the most normal, not old-fashioned hotel in Rapallo.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moby_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Kind Guest,
many thanks for Your feedback and to spend time to write about us.
We are grateful You consider us a nice Hotel; reading carefulness Your review, we have understood You have noticed we are "the most normal" Hotel in the area.
In the matter of fact the Grand Hotel Bristol has been completely renovated and the space for Guests, together with all services offered free of charge (entire wellness area/pull area) is, considered, actually, unique.
Due to the Portofino Coast destination, and Customer's comment in general, vs services offered, we are not considered expensive.
We do respect and treasure Your comment and we hope to have the possibility, in future, to welcome You again in our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    354
    121
    51
    24
See reviews for
124
593
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in early August and the hotel surpassed our expectations. The rooms were gracious in size and the bathroom was very well appointed. We've stayed in other four star hotels in italian resorts and we were more than pleased with the quality of the food and service of Grand Hotel Bristol. When we return to this area, we will definitely book at GHB again. As other reviewers have pointed out, the location is slightly outside the center of town and you do need a car to enjoy all the sights of the Italian Riviera. As such, the hotel offers a lovely affordable restaurant off the lobby and a Michelin quality restaurant on the rooftop and both of these options are much better than the dining in town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDoBaTien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Kindest Guests,
We wish to thank You for spending time reviewing our Grand Hotel Bristol.
It is such a pride to read the Hotel surpassed Your expectations!
Passion for hospitality is our leitmotif, Customer's satisfaction our primary mission.
Happy You would consider Grand Hotel Bristol a place to return; we are looking forward to welcoming You back, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Very nice hotel - but when you pay Euro 7,00 for one beer - you think again - but nothing to complain about - very nice rooms - seaview...nice personal.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2010
Dearest Guest,
we are delighted You have enjoyed Your stay, finding our Hotel very nice, with a nice Staff.
We are sorry You think our Beers range price is expensive, as we do have a list of these items (we do not like to advertise the names) , that offers a variety of products with different prices. We are probabely one of the very few places where You can find also find artisanal beers.
Thanking You for staying at the Grand Hotel Bristol, we wish You an happy summer.
kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Location: When the weather is as hot as it has been this week i.e 32 degrees, a walk into town becomes something to fear. We did this every day to get into town and it was sapping even though we are fit and like walking. The road outside the hotel is very dangerous with cars and mopeds flying around the bend even with a zebra crossing of sorts which they usually ignore. Obviously a hundred years ago it was gentler traffic. As the sun beats down, any shade is pounced upon and the return journey uphill is not good. We always stopped off at a beach watering hole before we made that last leg but even a quenching iced coke couldn't alleviate what was to come! Once inside however, the view from the breakfast terrace was stunning with Santa Margherita and Portofino just across the bay with yachts and cruise ships setting a gorgeous scene.

Rooms: We were on the 4th floor. Room not bad size but as others have said, the carpet could do with a good clean. The dressing table mirror was askew as one leg was broken - how about fixing it a simple job I would have thought? Just about okay wardrobe space. Had a TV but for goodness sake how about investing in at least a news channel in English - all other city hotels have had at least this. The iron balcony is so small that you can't really have a chair on it and only the wide corner balconies were afforded this comfort, this would have been a nice touch to sit out and watch the view as the evening cooled down a little. The bed (two pushed together to make a kingsize) was kind of comfortable but this was a superior room which the drapery on the bed didn't convey although sheets were clean and softer than some. The bathroom was nice and fresh towels replaced twice a day and any request for extra pillows etc were accepted graciously from the maids who worked well. Little stingy though on the toiletries and no slippers or bathrobes for the superior rooms- not ours anyway. All in all, room was just okay but I will say that the rainhead shower was great.

Dining: Breakfast was served on a large terrace with gorgeous view of Portofino and SM and the waiters were suitably dressed as if it was a 5 star hotel with good attention to people's needs however, and I am not a fussy eater and love all different kinds of food, but apart from the first night which raised our hopes, it was a bit downhill after that. Soups were good (except for the rather mud looking spinach soup) and the starters were nice but most of the main dishes were insipid and I would suggest cutting out one of the pretentious courses and serve 3 good courses. The worst was the Friday night buffet. Bits and bobs for starters and the most insipid to date main courses under two tureens - really disappointing. Dessert was the usual tirimasu but even that wasn't up to par, and fruit served at breakfast was made up as fruit salad for dinner and tarted up a bit with a fan of apple slices. No variation on the four desserts as said plus ice cream and a small creme caramel and I think this and the unvarying breakfast menu has been mentioned before. Nice soft scrambled eggs for breakfast but very fatty bacon and small hard rolls and no lovely soft cheese silver wedges lying cold on bowls of ice like in other hotels. The waiters work very hard and one especially was really good fun and interesting to converse with but the kitchen is the key and something needs to looked at seriously.

Ambience: Yes a grand atmosphere but lacking in any kind of entertainment in the evenings especially as it is quite isolated - and I don't mean a full swing band. Perhaps a card table, a piano player - it just lacks that classy touch. Full marks to the barman though - such a nice chap and he certainly knows his stuff and will try and comply with any combination of cocktail.

Amenities: Biggest downside to an otherwise lovely pool is it's depth. This pool is very deep as has been warned before and off putting for anyone who is not a great swimmer. It gives on no confidence as there are no wide circle of steps to approach it gently as there should be just a very rigid steel set. Nice jacuzzi which is free but I should have reported the chap who got in as I got there and whilst I was gone for a minute I came back to find his swimming trunks lying on the steps so no way was I going in there like that! He quickly got the message and left wrapping a towel around him, a definite no-no!
The spa was expensive but as your on holiday pick the cheaper ones and enjoy yourself - a nice head massage or pedicure.

Summary: Not bad hotel but lacking in a few things but mainly flat location and could do with a new menu and ditch the awful buffet. Some of the waiters run around too fast - be efficient but calmness is a prime requirement. Lastly, we required to be checked in for our return flight and were told the previous day by the chap at reception that this would be no problem. However, on the following afternoon we asked the girl at reception to do this and she just wasn't able to and I had to go into the back office and do it myself on their pc which I shouldn't have had to but thank goodness I did - and what an untidy office it was too. Oh well, needs must.

Rapallo: All Italian town, lively, rocky beaches but full of people enjoying themselves and friendly. No serious shopping to be done in this town so just enjoy the atmosphere. Great boat trips especially in hot weather to Santa Margherita: Pretty, quieter than Rapallo and Portofino: Nice experience, very pretty but too much of a rip off and an expensive lunch which was far too expensive for what it was and the bread was stale. However, suprisingly, my favourite boat trip was to San Fruttoso. Longer trip which was just lovely and beautiful scenery of rocks and trees until you approach a little bay full of Italian families enjoying a day out. Pebbly beach but lovely to sit in the cool water lapping your legs. Stayed for quite a time and my rather sore shoulders prove it. Had lunch at one of the handful of small rustic restaurants and I mean really basic but great having mussels caught fresh that morning. It was too hot to get up to the monastry and I was happy where I was. This holiday was definitely not for historical sight seeing. We could have but we didn't make it to Genoa - far too hot for city walking.

All in all a different kind of Italian experience and really beautiful coast but choose a hotel nearer the town. We were spoilt by the Baglioni in Bologna last year so maybe that's why we were somewhat disappointed by some aspects of this hotel and its location - stunning terrace view was the highlight.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

The guy on the bar was absolutely lovely and so attentive. Makes an excellent Belini!

We stayed in the Hemingway suite - this room is lovely. However, the spa in the room was not cleaned to the standards you would expect from a hotel of GBH standard.

Location is not great. We had to drive to go for dinner, which when you like a glass of italian wine or a nice lemoncello to finish the meal is not ideal.

Additionally, we asked the gentleman at the counter for a later checkout and unknowingly to the staff my partner and me are both italian speakers and there was some dicussion with the other lady on duty, which he started off saying we could stay for a few hours, however, she overrode him for no reason and said they can only have 1 hour even though as they discussed there was no one in the room that evening.

This dissapointed me tremedously as they presumed that we couldn't understand and additionally, after paying to stay in the most expensive room they had you think they would extend for a couple of hours to allow us to enjoy the hotel before leaving.

Unfortuantely for them, this resulted in us not returning to GBH when we returned for 5 nights a couple of weeks later and instead went for Location, Location, Location in a value for money BandB in Santa Margherita...and additionally, meant that we did not have anymore spa treatments that afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandaARead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2010
Gentle Customer,
we are deeply sorry we could not fully satisfy You expectations.
The Grand Hotel Bristol is not in the town centre and it has never been advertised differentely. This is one of the most seeked features by our Guests; as a matter of fact to be located at 1,5 Km from the chaotic centre, which is reachable through a scenic path, is considered a plus.
We feel right to apologize for the "non-standard" of cleaning in the Suite Spa even if our Guests and mistery guest give us duly a very high score on cleaning; we will be glad to solve all our Guest's problems, as we are at fully disposal, but we do need to learn about it during the stay, not after checked out.
I am sorry to be really surprised about what You contend on Reception Staff; they are well educated and above all in favor of Guests and, does not matter which kind of room, as all our Customers are "Guests" , a late check-out is permissible only if does not disatvantage the following one. The Hemingway Presidential Suite has been occupied that night.
We feel raised in reading Your satisfaction about Bar service and the excellent Bellini.
Absolutely "Guest oriented", we will treasure Your suggestion, for which we thank You.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

This is a really fantastic hotel in a perfect position 10-15 mins walk along a pedestrianised walkway from the centre of Ravello (mainly uphill). The views from the hotel terraces are really lovely with a view of Rapallo/Santa Margherita and Portofino. There is some traffic noise as the hotel is situated on the main road into Rapallo but this did not bother us. You can also hear the trains passing by from time to time but again this was not an issue. There is also a bus stop right outside the hotel if you don’t have a car or don’t fancy the walk (2 euro or 1 euro if you buy tickets in Rapallo from the bus station or tabachi shops)!! The staff through out the hotel are very friendly and professional and made us more than welcome. Our room was on the 2nd floor on the side of the hotel with a small balcony overlooking gardens and the sea – it was lovely to have the French doors open and have a nice breeze in the room. The rooms are kept very clean – the towels were changed 2 x daily and every evening fresh towels were left in the room for the morning. There is a safe in the room which is very easy to operate. There is also a mini bar in the room – we bought our own water/drinks in Rapallo and chilled them ourselves as they were very expensive from the mini bar/pool bar (5 euro for can coke or 3 euro for tiny water).

There is a large room where breakfast is served or you can have it outside on the beautiful terrace with an amazing sea view. Breakfast is a buffet – the only hot items are scrambled egg and bacon but there is a huge cold selection of cheese/meats/cereals/fruit/breads/yoghurts and juices – the staff serves you with tea/coffee or cappuchino. We never had dinner in the hotel as we prefer to eat out in the evening so can’t really comment on the food at dinner.

There is a lovely swimming pool and decked area with lots of sunloungers – there were always plenty available. We also used the “wellness centre” every day – there is no charge for this and it included a Jacuzzi/sauna/steam room/relaxation area and fancy showers. We never used the spa but you could have a full range of treatments if you wanted to. There is a pool bar but as mentioned earlier it was very expensive.

The hotel is in a great location on the Italian Riviera and it is really easy to visit anywhere on the coast by car/bus/train. We went to Santa Margherita/Portofino (by boat)/Camogli/Cinque Terre/Zoagli/Sestre Levante/Montallegro (cable car from Rapallo).

I will definitely be visiting the hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunhshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2010
Kindest Guest,
we are very glad You could enjoy completely our marvellous area, choosing us as Your perfect base for several sightseeing.
We would always like to be a special place to remember and, like You wrote, to visit again.
Many thanks,
our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

A most beautiful place to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, the views from our sea view junior suite were stunning. The standard of cleanliness was excellent both in the reception rooms and our suite, this included a turn down service in the evening.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the restaurant manager organised us a reservation for a special meal in Portofino on the night of our anniversary. The bar staff in the Chamberlain bar were excellent especially Carlos.However the drinks were very overpriced.The rooftop restaurant had amazing views , good food and service. Lovely pool ,terrace setting for breakfast was stunning but limited menu as was the poolside bar menu.However if you wish to order something different they will oblige.A car is essential if you have mobility problems as it is rather a long walk into Rapallo and not an easy one back ! However we liked the seclusion of the hotel as Rapallo is very busy.The area is so beautiful, there are so many interesting places to visit especially Portofino and The Cinque Terre villages and the staff are very helpful in recommending the best places to visit and giving directions. We stayed for ten days and had a wonderful time, our junior suite was elegant and spacious as was the rest of the hotel.We did not use the spa as it was incredibly expensive.This is a wonderful hotel for a romantic break .

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank milllerstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
Dearest Guests, thak You for taking time to write about Your experience. Grand Hotel Bristol cnd the Staff are thankful to read such a beautiful review.
We look forward to welcoming You for the following perpetual anniversaries; in the meantime thanks to Your comments we are already starting to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#5 of 29 in Rapallo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Address: Via Aurelia Orientale, 369, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning views, amazing service in one of the most beautiful corner in the world, Tigullio Gulf.In a 1908 Belle Epoque Hotel, completely refurbished, the atmosphere is always happy, colours are light, Staff is smiling.Perfect spot to visit Cinque Terre, Forte dei Marmi, Portofino, Genova and the entire Riviera Ligure.Amazing food, local and international, Staff attentive and pleased to be useful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rapallo
Nh Hotels Rapallo
Grand Hotel Bristol Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing