We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, great service, amazing view, highly recomended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We loved our stay at the Grand Hotel Bristol. The view of the bay was amazing, and the hotel itself was very charming. The rooms are not huge, but they are very nice and clean. The pool is fantastic also with a great view. The staff spoke good English and were very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfloyd98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed in the Bristol hotel as a wedding party of 8 people. We found that the hotel was in a beautiful location overlooking the small town of Portofino. The views from the rooms and the pool area were stunning. It was lovely to be able to eat our breakfast and have evening drinks on the terrace with these views in the background.

The pool was of a good size with clean pool towels every day. The pool area was quiet and very relaxing.

This hotel has been recently renovated and is of an excellent standard, with plenty of space and fresh, modern decor. Hotel cleanliness was 5 star. The rooms were cleaned twice a day with plenty of clean towels.
Hotel staff were extremely friendly, very efficient and helpful and they made us feel totally welcome.

The hotel is a short walk down to the town of Rapallo (about 15 minutes). My 82 year old gran was able to walk this every evening so you do not necessarily need transport to get around!
The day after our wedding we took a ferry ride over to Portofino (this is highly recommended). We would have done the same to travel to Santa Margarita but unfortunately we run out of time!!

We had our evening wedding meal at the very top of the hotel. Again the views were amazing and the food was excellent and plentiful. We couldn’t have picked a better hotel or location during our wedding in Italy.

I can thoroughly recommend this hotel (we had the time of our lives!); we will definitely be back in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2009

Kind Guest, we thank You very much for taking time to write Your feedback. We feel to be the lucky ones, as we have been choosed for such an important life stage as Your Wedding. With all the best for Your life together from all the Grand Hotel Bristol Staff, which is looking forward welcoming You back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed there last year with my wife and two year old and found it really good. The walk into town was very nice along the promenade. The staff were extremely helpful and assisted us with our son.

We also went to the Cinque Terre from there by train and its not too far. We had a sea view and the views over the bay were good.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corleonebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2009

Kind Guest, thanks for Your comments, and above all to remember us after long time. We hope You have had a great year, and we will be delighted to welcoming You back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Having read the reviews from TA before we went we were a bit bothered as to what we would find. We were greeted by friendly reception staff who continued all week with helpful information for us. The reception did not provide English papers but we had the news information sheet available to us (and to other languages) of topical news from home.

Our room was on the side of the hotel overlooking the bay and headland out to Portofino. I do agree that a room on the front would be well worth the extra. The housekeeping was superb, we showered in the morning and before we had returned from breakfast the towels had been changed and beds made. Again in the evening after having a shower and whilst we were out having an evening meal our towels were changed again.

Breakfast was on the open terrace every day with a variety of hot and the usual cold continental breakfasts of cereals, meats and cheeses, yoghurts and fresh fruit. All the usual drinks of juice, tea and coffee were available. There were a variety of breads, cakes and pastries as well. Having read in the TA reviews that the restaurant at the top of the hotel was expensive and poor service we were hesitant on trying it but on the first night, having driven from France, through Switzerland, we did not want to try anywhere else. We were very pleasantly surprised. We were given the table in the arched window which features on all the advertising. We did have a bottle of water while chosing our meal (this is not compulsory and diners are able to refuse as the water is 5 euros per bottle). We were then given an amuse bouche compliments of the chef and the waiter explained exactly what was in it. Our meal was superb, starter and main course, starters were varied, fish was local and fresh, a variety of meats. The local wine was also good. The main course was followed by a sorbet (free) and then we were asked if we wanted coffee or dessert. Even if we declined, a dish of shortbreads were brought to the table. Not once did we have to pour our own wine, very attentive and polite service. We did eat at lunchtime in Rapallo but found that, contrary to other reviews, the cost was no more that town restaurants therefore we did eat most nights upstairs.

The walk to Rapallo took approximately 20 minutes and, as with other areas of Italy, was no worse than anywhere else. Taxis and buses are available if anyone did not fancy the walk up.

The pool, although officially closed, was available to residents and fresh pool towels were available for use every day along with bar service.

The car parking was free, and there was a covered car park at a small charge available if required. Buses stopped at the gate entrance, trains were from Rapallo up/down the coast and boat trips were available from the main sea front.

I think some visitors like to complain about anything and I can thoroughly recommend the hotel, especially in May prior to the main season.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soolon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

We stayed as a group for 7 nights and were not allowed to eat breakfast on the lovely cool terrace but made to eat in the restaurant. The rooms were comfortable, lovely to have a balcony with a view but would have been better with a table and chairs. The swimming pool was lovely but for a poor swimmer like me no use at all as I couldn't stand in the shallow end. Maybe because of the exchange rate but everything in the hotel was terribly expensive. We couldn't even have tap water with our meal but had to buy expensive mineral water. The walk from the gates to the hotel reception was horrendous - they should make an entrance at ground level.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaydeeEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

The hotel has been recently renovated and is located in an area outside the city center of Rapallo. The view of the whole Portofino bay is stunning, but it's a little bit far from everything and you need transportation all the times.
The pool area is very nice and there is plenty of rooms for many people. Buffet breakfast id fine, but nothing to die for. Rooms are renovated and very nice (traditional style); booking a room with sea view really worth the extra money. Parking is available free of charge.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trip4visor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Caboto67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAOLO F, Direttore at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 28 in Rapallo
690 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#6 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
725 reviews
1.4 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
814 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa

Address: Via Aurelia Orientale, 369, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range: $105 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning views, amazing service in one of the most beautiful corner in the world, Tigullio Gulf.In a 1908 Belle Epoque Hotel, completely refurbished, the atmosphere is always happy, colours are light, Staff is smiling.Perfect spot to visit Cinque Terre, Forte dei Marmi, Portofino, Genova and the entire Riviera Ligure.Amazing food, local and international, Staff attentive and pleased to be useful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rapallo
Nh Hotels Rapallo
Grand Hotel Bristol Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing