We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view, a little bit of maintenance needed in bedroom” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, a little bit of maintenance needed in bedroom”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have just returned from Rapallo and would definitely return to this hotel. The hotel is about 20 minutes walk from the town centre so close to amenities but away from the hustle and bustle. The hotel is very impressive from the outside. Very clean inside. We had booked a garden room as we weren't prepared to pay the high supplement for a sea view room, however when we checked in we were allocated a sea view and the view was wonderful. Other reviewers have covered all aspects of the hotel so I wont repeat their comments but I will comment on a few things:
1. The reception staff at check in were not particularly welcoming and we weren't offered the services of a porter to help take our luggage to our room. This is standard in 3 star hotels so disappointing this was not offered. Check out was just as poor, we weren't asked if we enjoyed our stay or thanked for our custom.
2. Our room was in need of a little maintenance. The wall around the luggage rack was scuffed, as were some other areas. A mere detail but it would take minutes to tidy up. The carpet could do with a shampoo - not dirty but in need of a freshen up. The curtain over the bed head had hooks missing, again, no big deal but lacking attention to detail.
3. Getting in to the bath was like getting in to a formula one car, oddly shaped, short and narrow. Once in you couldn't move. The grouting round the bath was badly done and discolouring.
4. The mattress was as hard as a board.
5. We ate in the rooftop restaurant over a number of evenings and were amused that a request for a glass of coke meant the waiter had to travel down 4 or 5 floors, or the barman up 4 or 5 floors, to deliver this request.
So, apart from a few niggles, the hotel was lovley, The pool was a good size, plenty of sun loungers were available. The waiting staff were efficient and the roof garden restaurant, although expensive, is a must if only for the view.
So, all in all, I would recommend this hotel and would be happy to stay there in the future,

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view, pay the additional cost - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    346
    114
    52
    23
See reviews for
121
577
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have just run a business meeting here for three days with 12 people. We run events in many 5 star locations, and those hotels have often not matched the level of service we received at The Bristol. The manageress is a superstar, and her team are motivated and totally behind her. Some examples are:
1. One of our team had to leave at 6am for a flight home. The hotel automatically offered and prepared a boxed breakfast for him, with no extra charges or hassle.
2. We frequently changed the times when we needed coffee, lunch etc. Their team never complained, adapted to our needs and were always smiling.
3. The hotel front desk provided excellent concierge services, booking restaurants, arranging transfers, finding a private boat with us.
4. The wifi worked throughout the hotel, all day, every day.

Add this to the comments from other reviewers: great views of the sea, the pool, breakfast on the terrace and a modern feel in a classic building. if one thing could be improved it would be the quality of the coffee, which was quite up to Italian cafe standards. This hotel is a winner. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve1234576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We loved this hotel, the staff were very friendly the facilities were great although like previous reviewer we would have expected internet access as a free service. The rooftop restaurant has to be visited with stunning views across the ligurian coastal area it was memorable. The stroll down to the town centre was short and pleasurable with lots of good places to eat and drink.

Room Tip: Well worth having a sea view room on hotel front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crawford S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

There is no denying that what makes this hotel so fabulous is the location and the wonderful views. It is a 15min taxi ride from the train station (around 15 euro) but well worth it just for this. The hotel itself is impressive from the outside, and the common areas such as the reception area, breakfast room and terrace were clean & stylish. The pool was one of the best I’ve ever used, huge and with plenty of sun lounges (though expensive drinks at the bar). We had a wonderful dinner in the roof top restaurant, amazing food and amazing service and once again that view. Wow! However, I was taken aback by the room we stayed in. We were told we had been upgraded from the classic room we had booked to a superior room which was a nice surprise. However, on entering (room 402) the first thing we were greeted with was a carpet covered in big stains. It was a good size, with a large comfortable bed and a handy balcony, but there were signs of neglect that I wouldn’t expect to see in any 4* hotel - scuffed walls, stained tiles in the bathroom and mould in the very small shower. All issues that we felt could be easily rectified with minimal effort. Rather bizarrely, there was also some kind of creature (termite perhaps) munching away in one of the wooden bed side tables, so it had to be relegated to the balcony. To be fair, because my partner had planned the stay as a surprise for my birthday and I didn’t want to ruin it with complaints, we didn’t raise any of these issues with reception. I’m sure that if we had, they would have tried to be accommodating. But to be faced with it in the first place was really disappointing. Another small irritant was that they don’t provide an iron with a policy that all ironing must be sent away to the dry cleaners which takes days to return. This is just plain ridiculous, especially for those many guests staying for a short period. 9 euro per day for wifi also seemed steep (something we did raise). All in all, we had a wonderful stay but the lack of care showed by the room condition made us question whether we would return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We loved this place so much last year that we had to go back for a short stay this summer. Our sea facing 'Deluxe Room' was worth every penny for the breath-taking view. Our only minor criticisms are that there is still no free Wi-Fi provided. For a 4 Star it is expected these days. The €9 daily charge is minimal but its more the principle as you can just wander into the town and pick up free Wi-Fi at one of the many bars and restaurants. The other minor gripe relates to the extremely firm mattress (rock hard) - it might suit some but was just a bit to much for us.

Room Tip: go for a sea-facing Deluxe room which have stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearceperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The excellency of this hotel is undeniable, first the hotel itself is beautiful, perfect in everyday, the rooms, the views, the hallway...everything is beautiful & very elegant. But the plus is the excellency of staff, from the receptionist to restaurant manager, all did their best for us.
Perfect location to visit Portofino, we enjoyed as well the walk to Rapallo.
Thanks to all of them, we will come back with great pleasure.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are just amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in the middle of June and we were delighted with all the aspects of this hotel,from the minute we arrived at reception we were extremely well treated.We had a couple of extra ordinary requests,(a) Extra clothes hangers.(b) a kettle,as I need hot water to take some medication. The management went out of their way to look after us and fulfilled our needs,with a smile on their faces. Our room had a lovely view of the bay,was nicely equipped and very comfortable.The air conditioning worked well.There is a lovely swimming pool which had both sunny and shady areas. We found the restaurant very good,both for dinner and lunch.Breakfast was very well presented and enjoyable.
We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.
Well done! Grand Hotel Bristol, we had a very pleasurable stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AilbheDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#5 of 29 in Rapallo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Address: Via Aurelia Orientale, 369, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning views, amazing service in one of the most beautiful corner in the world, Tigullio Gulf.In a 1908 Belle Epoque Hotel, completely refurbished, the atmosphere is always happy, colours are light, Staff is smiling.Perfect spot to visit Cinque Terre, Forte dei Marmi, Portofino, Genova and the entire Riviera Ligure.Amazing food, local and international, Staff attentive and pleased to be useful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rapallo
Nh Hotels Rapallo
Grand Hotel Bristol Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing