We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and great staff”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The hotel itself is a beautiful building, it has enormous character and transports you to a bygone age. It has as you would expect with a building this old, some areas which may need a little tlc (some of the shutters need repair), but to be fair you wouldn't want the building to be absolutley perfect, the minor imperfections add to the character. The views from the sea view rooms are breathaking. The room we stayed in was a delux sea view and was bigger than expected and well decorated. The bathroom is large, well equipped with marble throughout. The safe is a fair size, large enough to fit a handbag, ipad, and jewellery. The aircon is a necessity at night but unusually did not keep me either awake or with a dry throat in the morning. The rest of the hotel from the lobby to the lounges, terrace and restaurant is very well decorated and the piano lounge in particular is a lovely place to sit and have a drink and enjoy the surroundings. The pool area is good. The pool size for me is just right, there are beds around and you can always find a shady space should you need it. There is a pool bar and whilst it serves the usual pool side drinks it could be more of a feature. The staff are if not the best, very close to it that I have experienced. I have seen some negative reviews about the staff which really surprises me as without fail every single day the general manager made a point of making sure we were happy and if there was anything we needed, offering advice on local transport, shopping areas, restaurants. The rest of the staff we found just as attentive and every one would say hello every time we saw them. And if at any time we wanted anything they made sure we got it. I have reviewed the roof top restaurant seperatly, but to just add here, it is a lovely restaurant with great food and amazing views. We will definately return to Rapallo at some point, and will be looking to stay again at the Grand Hotel Bristol.

Room Tip: Third floor sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairejude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dearest Ladies,

We are pleased and honored You had wished to express Your satisfaction at having stayed at the Grand Hotel Bristol.

It is great to hear You enjoyed the Hotel comfort and also from an aesthetic point of view; highly appreciated Your comment on our bar and restaurant.

We are grateful You had wanted to describe the Staff with so much admiration: nothing is more fulfilling for us then receive true compliments.

Needless to say, when You will want to come back, if we will not have an available room, we will built one!

Serene and happy summer to You and Family

Cinzia Montelli & the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    370
    124
    53
    26
See reviews for
132
613
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in July. Chose this hotel because of free parking (some others in Rapallo charge 25 euros a night). First impressions very good - smart hotel and beautiful sea-view Junior Suite with small balcony. Spotlessly clean room. Good air-con was a blessing. Fabulous shower. Then went to the bar for a drink and got stung for 23 euros for a beer and a glass of wine (I kid you not). They appear to have a contract with a local brewery and the only beer in the bar is 16 euros a bottle. Needless to say we didn't repeat this experience, although the beer was great. Breakfast disappointing, unless you like undercooked sausages, lukewarm coffee and cold scrambled egg. One morning we went to get some food and when we got back to our table it had been cleared, and other guests had been seated there. A bit chaotic really. We ate one night in the rooftop restaurant (we weren't half-board so we were allowed to sit outside). The food and service here was first-class. It was breezy and they even brought my wife a shawl - nice touch. Lovely pool. There were plenty of beds when we were there, though they are cramped as there isn't much space round the pool. Also they need more brollies as there isn't much shade, you'd think this sort of thing would be obvious. They charge 10 euros an hour (or 17 euros for 24 hours) for internet access - this was the only one of four hotels in Italy we stayed in that didn't have free wi-fi. No excuse for this these days.
Hotel is located south of the main town, reached by a short walk along the main road, then a 20-minute stroll along a coastal path, very safe and a pleasant walk, but if you don't like walking you'd be better staying in a more central place. Rapallo is pleasant though busy. Interesting market on Thursdays. Boat trip from the centre to Portofino and Santa Margherita is a must. Also we took a train to Genoa for the day - well worth it - amazing city. Would have explored Cinque Terre if we had more time (another boat trip).
In summary mixed feelings - lots of good things but lots of bad too. Would probably stay elsewhere if we return to this area.

Room Tip: Sea views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Rapallo and the surrounding areas are beautiful and unspoilt with lovely scenery and a pleasant boat trip to Santa Margarita and Portofino. There are plenty of restaurants and bars in Rapallo, some lovely shops and a good street market on Thursdays. At first we were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and its comforts, but unfortunately we were badly let down by the hotel and its 'rules'. We were booked in for Half Board and on our first evening the restaurant manager informed us that Half Board guests were not permitted to dine outside on the terrace as these tables were reserved for A La Carte guests. As it was July and a lovely evening, we were extremely disappointed to be seated behind glass in air conditioning, particularly as there were vacant tables on the terrace. When we complained to the restaurant manager, we were told that this was a new hotel policy and we should have been informed and under no circumstances were they prepared to relax the rules, (although they were prepared to relax the dress code for one particular A La Carte diner who was in shorts). We told him that nowhere on the hotel's own website does it mention this; if it had, we would not have booked Half Board or we would have booked another hotel. We returned to the restaurant later that evening to find that there were still vacant tables and we could easily have been accommodated, together with the 3 other British couples who found themselves in the same predicament. The hotel manager was not available for us to take our complaint further, but the assistant manager did his best to appease us. Unfortunately he was not able to change the 'rules' and when we asked for our money back for Half Board he said it was not possible, that we had to claim it back from the travel agent. Needless to say we did not eat at the hotel again and we are now in the process of trying to reclaim our money - this could take months or we may receive nothing at all. We felt very uncomfortable at the hotel after this, we were made to feel like 'second class citizens' and the hotel's attitude seemed to be that dining on the terrace was reserved for any possible 'passers by' and not hotel guests. What was also disappointing was that the general manager did not once approach us to say how sorry she was about the service we had received at her hotel. Perhaps she too only cared about the A La Carte guests. There were other examples of poor service that we witnessed at the hotel, but we are not surprised. All in all, we enjoyed our stay in Rapallo inspite of the Hotel Bristol, not because of it. I would certainly not recommend it unless they are prepared to be flexible to their own guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Templebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Kindest Guest,

Thanks for wanting to leave a comment, which will surely help us to improve our service.

All our guests are of series A, we could not otherwise receive so many positive accolades;
regarding the restaurant, our guests praise us expressing great quality and variety, even in the menu dedicated to the formula of half board. We are very sorry you want to give up this opportunity, because your choice was induced by reasoning in half: same view, same quality, same service, same comfort, but when the restaurant is fully booked, often, or outside it windy, very often, the same table, guaranteed, when you want, is reserved for those who have chosen the formula inclusive of dinner.

Represents a separate chapter for reimbursement of dinner not enjoyed, which will surely get from your agency, as we have already raised the amount to be paid in the future and we will, indeed make sure that is made quickly. The same agency that is responsible to give any information regarding the purchase of the holiday.

Our attitude is to solve our Guest's problems or discontent, and You know how hard we have tried (we also took care about Guest's complaints who reported to us You have tried fomenting and disturbing their holiday), informing Your agency and personally; we are truly sorry our attempts have proved futile all, and that the rigidity that ascribes us, it actually was Yours.

If and when You will give us confidence, we will be at your service with even greater desire to please You and give you a smile for all the holiday, like all our Guests.

We wish You an happy summer,

Cinzia Montelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel is a ten minute walk along a pleasant coastal path to the village of Rapello. Rapello is stunning, very friendly placewith great access to travel by boat, train or bus to other destinations along this amazing coastline, what a gem, North West Italy.
As for the hotel, we opted for half board, very disappointing, we were declined every evening to sit outside on the veranda overlooking the spectacular bay,we complained but to no abode, our request to sit Alfresco evenings was always NO. Imagine how we felt, so we chose not to eat here for the rest of our special holiday. We met other people confronted with same issues, so think first about going half board here. We found some wonderful restaurants around Rapello, caught a boat one evening to Portofino to dine Alfresco, really a MUST, and cost same price as hotel restaurant. Pool area was relaxing, although not enough umbrellas or sun loungers, requested an umbrella, again a firm No, very strange attititudes of staff, which let down our ratings of hotel. We shall return to North west Italy, but NOT at The Grand Hotel Bristol, Rapello.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a great place to use as a base if you are visiting the area.
we stayed for 2 nights, but regret not staying longer.

As reported in many other reviews:
Excellent rooms; pay extra for sea view.

Breakfast and lunch very good.

Do not miss the chance to have dinner at the roof top restaurant, great food and service, and stunning views. Ask for advice if unsure on dishes or wines.

We visited late June and the bar was pretty quiet in the evening. (If you walk into town follow the coastal path and not he road. a 10 to 15 minute stroll).

Very helpful staff. As with all hotel staff, different degrees of friendliness, but across the board good.

only minor point we had, is that there is quite a lot of noise from traffic with a sea view room. This starts early in the morning, so windows closed if you do not want to be disturbed.

Will we go back? Most without doubt

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave1NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Kindest Guests,

we would like to thank You for the time spent in reviewing our Grand Hotel Bristol.

We are delighted You could appreciate all our services, as breakfast and lunch, and thank you for having described so real our restaurant.
Quality and service is our premise and promise, the location our luck, that is so nice to be able to give.

We are grateful also for the words spent regarding our "very helpful" Staff.
It will be my pleasure to share your comments with our team and congratulate them.

We will be honoured by your return visits,

have a great, happy, summer.

Cinzia Montelli & the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Situated on the hilliside, some 15-20 mins pleasant stroll from Rapallo with beautiful views across the bay. Perfect location. Hotel facilities very good. Superior room a little snug. Slippers and bath robes provided as well as replenished supplies of toileteries etc. As the hotel became busier, the breakfast service deteriorated and was a little disappointing with a very limited food selection on offer - but adequate. Would definitely recommend this hotel and have every intention of returning soon.

Room Tip: the higher floors give a better view. side rooms (superior) are a little small but perfectly adequa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearceperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dearest Guests,

thank You for Your willingness to share such a nice comment on our Grand Hotel Bristol.

To be define the "perfect location" and a place to recommend and to return, soon, is our unique aim.

Waiting for the day of welcome back,

we wish You a very happy summer.

Cinzia Montelli & the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, County Durham
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Just finished a two week stay at this hotel, so would like to think we found out most of the positive and negative points for any future traveller thinking about staying here.
Rapallo is stunning and in our opinion the best, or at least one of the best resort towns to consider for any Ligurian Riviera stay. It has that special mix of stunning setting - sea, coastline, old & new town blended together, ideally situated for further exploring, having good bus & train connections. A good compliment and variety in both eating options or simple hostelries to sit, drink (coffee or something stronger) whilst watching the world go by
The Hotel itself - well, that would depend upon what you are looking for - Are you using this hotel as part of a stop-over in a wider travel itinerary (2-3 days perhaps) or are you basing yourself here for a week or two with the aim of a wider exploration of this part of Italy?
if the former, looking for a 4-star hotel with fabulous facilities, stunning view, fabulous pool then this is one to consider.
If the latter on the other hand and looking for atmosphere, value, good location (relative to Rapallo), then some of our observations might help your choice:
Alot of reviews make reference to the staff, our experience would suggest it is mixed depending upon which of the staff you refer to - if the Maitre'd at breakfast then certainly not, if the poolside assistant then definitely yes. On the whole this is not a point I would personally raise as a positive experience.
Distance relative to Rapallo - some reviews say 10 mins, some 25 mins whilst walking. Our experience would suggest somewhere in the middle depending upon the point you refer to as "Rapallo" - to the Lido (10 mins), into the centre of Rapallo (25 mins). We started off by walking (as you would naturally do without any other option presented) down in the morning, back again in mid-afternoon, use of the pool, well-being centre, sunbath etc; shower, change and back out again walking down for that true Italian experience and back again afterwards - by the 3rd day believe me, especially in 30 degree + heat; it needs stamina and a certain level of fitness. We decided to explore alternatives: Taxi 14-15 euros per trip (thats 15 euros there & another 15 euros back) Bus (stop directly outside of Hotel gate) 1.50 euros per person per trip (3.00 euros per person if bought on bus) 18.00 euros per person for a "7-day Giorno" We opted for the latter which gave us other options to explore closer towns (Chiavari, Santa Margherita) Please Note: The Bus schedule is limited (circa every hour) and finishes at 8.00pm - so unless you wish to return early to enjoy the hotel, you either come back via taxi or walk! Oh! Dont forget to pick up a bus schedule!
Rooms - very comfortable, clean, regularly services, great views - small point but the balcony's are for show not for sitting (have no balcony furniture)
Breakfast- Typical Italian fare, well presented - bonus: including scrambled egg & proscuitto bacon. Eaten on the "Terrace" over looking Portofino, the Marina & Rapallo town (a personal highlight!)
Well-being Centre - A pleasant bonus for the use by guests (Gym, Steam room, sauna, jacuzzi & relaxation area) Please Note: Sauna, Steam room & jacuzzi note available until 3pm
Train Station - Central location (next to Bus Station) - fabulous value for wider exploration (Cinque Terra for example cost 25 euros for the both of us (return)
Would I go back to Rapallo - Absolutely yes!
Back to this hotel No!

Room Tip: Seaview rooms at the side of hotel with balcony offer best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MJGDARL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
L'Approdo
L'Approdo
#9 of 29 in Rapallo
317 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
887 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Canali
Hotel Canali
#12 of 29 in Rapallo
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Address: Via Aurelia Orientale, 369, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning views, amazing service in one of the most beautiful corner in the world, Tigullio Gulf.In a 1908 Belle Epoque Hotel, completely refurbished, the atmosphere is always happy, colours are light, Staff is smiling.Perfect spot to visit Cinque Terre, Forte dei Marmi, Portofino, Genova and the entire Riviera Ligure.Amazing food, local and international, Staff attentive and pleased to be useful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rapallo
Nh Hotels Rapallo
Grand Hotel Bristol Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing