We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Celerina, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We just visited Rapallo recently and stayed at the lovely Grand Hotel Bristol. What we enjoyed most about the hotel were the spacious rooms, especially the bathroom space where it`s usually always difficult to place all toiletries. There was plenty closet space and the bay view is absolutely wonderful! The pool area is equally spacious with a massive pool. The staff were friendly and we especially appreciated the kind attention of the GM and Alessandra, who took great care of us and gave us some excellent tips on where to dine and roam around along the coast. We can`t wait to return again soon! Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gg7786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    349
    118
    52
    24
See reviews for
123
585
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

This hotel suprised us, unlike many hotels in Northern Italy, old fashioned and in need of a major refurb, this was very different. This hotel, although old but very attractive building, has been modernised throughout and standards kept very high. We had booked a delux room which was on the 5th floor of the hotel, although the room was small it had a wonderful terrace with sunbeds overlooking the Ligurian coast, the room itself was very modern but still charming and had everything you could wish for including a huge bed. The only fault I could make with our room was not so much the room but where it was situated, very close to the lifts and the lifts being very old made a very loud clunking sound everytime they were used!

The pool here at the hotel is one of the best we have come across, very large - good for laps and very well maintained with a lifeguard onsite. Luckily for the majority of our stay the hotel was pretty quiet so we managed to get a sunbed with ease, however as it got busier the day we left, I could see this may be an issue!

The restaurant on the top floor is very nice indeed, great views across the bays, the food was of a very high standard and well presented, very friendly and efficient staff, even if there were too few of them.

The staff at the hotel I have to mention as they are second to none, very pleasant and polite, nothing is too much trouble and they go out of their way to give you added attention and make you feel at ease at all times. The General Manager of the hotel 'Cinzia Montelli' was especially kind, always chatting to us and making sure we were enjoying our stay.

We loved this place and will definately be back.

Room Tip: Away from the clunky lift and a seaview is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seashore987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

It was our first visit in Rapallo and surrounding areas.
We arrived at the hotel at 1.00 pm in the afternoon.
No one was there to help us with the car or with the luggage. We asked for some help but no one was available.
So taking all our luggage on our own we arrive at the check-in desk.
The room was not ready yet. So we asked if we could put the luggage in storage in the meantime.
“Of course” was the answer…”that is the door of the storage room...go and put the luggage in the storage by your self!”
Can you believe that? We took all our luggage and we entered in this dirty storage room that had no surveillance…we could have walked away with the luggage of the other guests without anyone noticing!
Anyway…we decide to go to the beach waiting for the room and we therefore ask some advice on where to go to the reception.
The answer was: “we have no idea”! I replied: Don’t you have beaches that you could recommend or that you normally use or that we can book for the day? “No”, once again was the reply…”just drive down with your car and good luck!”
We had the impression of being in “candid camera” show!!
For dinner I organized on my own a restaurant in Portofino and to avoid any trouble with parking, I booked a car with the hotel reception to take us there. They confirmed saying that they booked their hotel driver. When we came down to leave for dinner there was no car waiting for us. When I asked the reception they replied to me not to worry and that everything was under control. After 15 minutes waiting in the hall I started complaining, so finally the receptionist decided to call the hotel driver and found out that he forgot about our service. A replacement taxi was called in substitution…no need to tell you that I arrived late for my dinner reservation!
The next day we ordered breakfast in the room calling room service at 9.50am. At 11.00am breakfast was not arrived…when we called the room service to find out where our breakfast was no one was answering the phone
We decided to leave…and obviously...no one was available to help us with our luggage!!
Please trust me…stay away from these people…service does not exist ant and courtesy is far from their mentality!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank potsino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Kind Guest,

we thank You for the time dedicated to comment on Your stay.

We do think each opinion has to be respected, and we will always be grateful to Guests who spend their time in our House, moreover ready to apologize as modest and obliging.

By the way we would like to suggest not to disrespect our Guest's opinion, inviting the people to stay away:

Wonderful hotel (July 8, 2012)
Wonderful stay (July 6, 2012)
Great Hotel with wonderful views (July 4, 2012)
Stunning Views. Excellent Service (July 1, 2012
Personal service, quiet location, amazing staff! (June 30, 2012)
Gorgeous View (June 28, 2012)
Elegant and relaxing (June 26, 2012)
Elegant and Friendly (June 3, 2012)
Nice welcome and friendly staff in a hotel with a magnificent view (March 6, 2012)

Qualità Cortesia e Panorama (10 luglio 2012)
Piatti liguri, vista su Portofino, elegante ed accogliente! (28 giugno 2012)
Un soggiorno di lusso (24 giugno 2012)
Grand Hotel Rapallo (18 giugno 2012)
Una vista bellissima! (10 giugno 2012)
“provare per credere" (28 maggio 2012
Da provare!!! (27 maggio 2012)
splendido fine settimana (23 maggio 2012)
Un albergo di raffinata e discreta eleganza. (14 maggio 2012)
week end da sogno (13 maggio 2012)
Un'emozione unica! (3 maggio 2012)
STUPENDA STRUTTURA E PERSONALE MOLTO QUALIFICATO!! (18 aprile 2012)
OLTRE LE STELLE A RAPALLO (12 aprile 2012)
Triple AAA Hotel+Spa+Ristorante (3 aprile 2012)
fantastico hotel (31 marzo 2012)
Non si sbaglia... (27 marzo 2012)

Those above are just few examples (and some in Your native Italian language) of very happy Guests of us, that deserve respect as well as our Staff, whose answers are never offensive or elusive.

With esteem,

Cinzia Montelli & the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

A bright ,spacious comfortable room, with stunning view over the sea and surround coast from our balcony.
Treated with courtesy by all staff at every contact.
It would be easy to not leave the tranquil surrounds of the hotel, taking breakfast and lunch on the balcony. This would allow time to enjoy the peaceful pool area, and then enjoy the quite stunning evening views over the bay, whilst dining in style in the La Cupola restaurant. This would not, however allow time to explore the beautiful town of Rapallo and surrounding area.
Maybe 4 days is just not enough time, and another tip needs to be planned.
A beautiful hotel. .

Room Tip: A sea view will only add to your experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddington32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dearest Guests,

thank You so much for the time spent in writing about Your stay at the Grand Hotel Bristol.

We are delighted You could appreciate all our services, from breakfast and lunch on the Alfresco Bistro terrace, to the dining experience at Le Cupole Restaurant, enjoying every moment of Your day around the peaceful swimming pool area.

Very happy Your whole vacation had been so positive, appreciating Staff courtesy and the spacious comfortable room, to think to return for a longer stay!

Waiting for You,

enjoy Your summer.

Cinzia Montelli & the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed at this location for three nights during our week in Italy. Rapallo is a beautiful town on the upper Italian mediterranean coast. The hotel is a short distance from the promenade, but there is a enjoyable paved footpath along the sea. The general manager (Cinzia) greeted us by name every day and all the staff were interested in assuring our comfort and pleasure. Dinner at the roof top restaurant la cupola is a must. The terrace looks over the bay and is an ideal romantic spot for an amazing dinner and wine. We had planned to visit Portofino, but had such a great time in Rapallo we decided to enjoy this quaint little seaside town. The beaches are pebbles and rock, but the water was amazing! Breakfast on the patio overlooking the ocean was trully a special way to start our days! It was difficult to leave. We will visit Rapallo and stay at the HGB again! Thank you for making our short trip so memorable!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Htpapaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dearest Guests,

it is so nice to read about our contribution on making Your trip memorable!

To give our Guests the best in term of quality, service and location, is our unique aim; here You will never have a lack of "service smile" in a place of extraordinary beauty.

Our terraces are so very well located, facing Portofino, that sometimes You do not even need to go there...it seems to be there already.

Thank You also for the appeciation on Le Cupole Restaurant (dining there is a must, for quality and for the exclusive, unique location: everybody should enjoy).

We will be honoured by your return visits and hope that memories you’ve made during this recent vacation will bring you back to our Tigullio Gulf.

Very happy summer,

Cinzia Montelli & the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had a light, bright, clean and comfortable room and a beautiful view of the sea from our balcony. Plenty of room even with an extra bed for our child. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Free parking. We had an decent breakfast each morning and thoroughly enjoyed the pool and spa area. Nice home base to explore other areas nearby. Only negative comment was that I like to swim laps early and the pool was not opened until 10:00am - although I suspect the staff would have allowed it had I requested.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 859MJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dearest Guest,

thank You for the time spent in reviewing our Grand Hotel Bristol.

We are delighted You had appreciate the light, bright clean and comfortable room, plenty of space; even more our Staff helpfulness.

It is our goal to be define the nice Home base to expolre surroundings.

We took good note about the suggestion on swimming pool schedule.

We wish You a peaceful and happy summer,

Cinzia Montelli & the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano Marittima, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is a really nice hotel, the rooms and bathroom are spacious and nicely decorated. I was also upgraded to a sea view room which was very much appreciated seeing as it was the second time I have stayed here. The pool facilities are very nice and the staff are really accommodating and friendly particularly Simona at the reception desk and the manager of the breakfast and dining area.

The spa is top notch, staff are very professional and nice, and the treatments are very relaxing. I had a massage given by a therapist named Marilyn and it was so relaxing, one of the best massages I have ever had. I would recommend anyone paying a visit to the hotel to make an appointment! Also the facial was very good, as are the products they use. The breakfast is nice but could be slightly improved upon given that the rest of the meals in this hotel are of a very high standard

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalianTravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dearest Guests,

thank You for the time spent in reviewing Your experience at the Grand Hotel Bristol.

We are glad You could appreciate all our services, room exposure included.
Any time Guests reserve a word for our Staff it is always a very nice, not due, gesture.

We are proud of our Staff as well as the choice we could make on Spa products; quality is the Hotel's least common denominator, service is our pleasure.

We took good note about Your opinion on our breakfast.

Simona and Marilyn thank You very much.

Wishing You an happy summer,

Cinzia Montelli & the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#5 of 29 in Rapallo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Address: Via Aurelia Orientale, 369, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning views, amazing service in one of the most beautiful corner in the world, Tigullio Gulf.In a 1908 Belle Epoque Hotel, completely refurbished, the atmosphere is always happy, colours are light, Staff is smiling.Perfect spot to visit Cinque Terre, Forte dei Marmi, Portofino, Genova and the entire Riviera Ligure.Amazing food, local and international, Staff attentive and pleased to be useful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rapallo
Nh Hotels Rapallo
Grand Hotel Bristol Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing