We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rather luxury hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
294 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Rather luxury hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Rather luxury. Located far from the sea shore, but got an opened swimming pool decorated with natural wood - available free of charge. Breakfast is expensive but plentiful and tasty. Lobby is decorated with high quality materials. Small parking space. Rooms are big enough. Bath and shower gel, soap supplied by Etro - smell is perfect, wanted to buy it but not available. All in all this hotel seems to be a nice place to stay for couple of days.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DmitryStPetersburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Kindest Guests,

we thank You very much for sharing Your experience at the Grand Hotel Bristol.

Special shampoo and bath foam is not sellable, as it is Etro for Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, but if You do not mind in keeping in touch directly with me, I would like to send You some samples.

We hope You did not have problems in parking Your car, as we are frequently completely booked, but we should have enough space for everybody as parking spaces are around 140.

We are happy You had appreciated our Buffet breakfast, which is actually always included.

Kindest regards from a sunny and beautiful Tigullio Gulf,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    351
    118
    52
    24
See reviews for
124
587
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

This was a lovely hotel, just on the edge of Rapallo and a short walk along the sea front into the town.

The rooms were very spacious and the view from the balcony was beautiful taking in the whole bay across to Portofino. The same view was there from the terrace having dinner alfresco - superb.

All the staff were friendly and helpful, speaking a range of languages and nothing was too much for them. The restaurant food was very good and prepared to a high standard.

The pool was absolutely excellent and 25m long, just the right temperature to cool off in with a bar beyond the poolside decking for drinks and delicious food.

The only slight issue was the electrics in one of our rooms. The cutoff went off most nights causing a loss of power and the hotel did not do much to stop it happening. In the end I ended up switching the trip off myself to get the air conditioning back.

All in all, an excellent hotel!

Room Tip: Book a sea view room, the view is not to be missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WindsurferAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Dearest Guests,

thank You for spending time in reviewing our House.

We are very happy Yours has been an unforgettable experience. Pleased You had appreciated the rooms and its view, Le Cupole Restaurant and the alfresco dinner.

We are willing to Keep on improving and working to put together "the Staff" , so we are delighted to learn we are on the right way.

The pool is the largest in the area and we are more then meticolous to keep it sanitized and clean and the outlet Bistro with high food level is a good idea to give a complete comfort.

We apologize for the eletric matter, due to a fuse block problem.

Wishing You an happy end of summer, we hope to welcome You again at the Grand Hotel Bristol,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

very far from the beach(15 minutes by walk) and not even easy with a stroller or kids....this place is not exactly kids friendly!!
no kids menu,no kids games or playground......
the place is nice but too far from the beach or even for shoping or just to buy a magazine!
rooms are kind of old and with old windows( lights come in at 5 am) and the noises too( trains are running very close and all night)
Food good but very expensive

Room Tip: only 5th floor has new windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anna018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Kind Guest,

we are deeply sorry You did not find our Hotel the right place for Your kids.
The Hotel we have the privilege to work for, is a complex with three Restaurants a semi-olympic pool, a park and 950 sq m Spa, and could not be located in any centre town.
We would like to suggest, before booking, to read information about location and distance, on the Hotel description published everywere.
Anyway a shuttle bus service is available every day and the town bus stop is just in front of our entrance gate; our Reception is at disposal for newspapers to be ordered the evening before.

All rooms, which are completely renovated, are equipped with dimming curtains to protect from day light as we are so lucky to be in the sun all the day long.

Regarding the train, this is a low traffic and secondary line and we do have efficient window insulation.

Guests who are used to travel in our wonderful Tigullio, always notice we do have the best money for value in the Restaurant.

We thank You for Your comment
kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed there for 8 nights and it was just ok I would think. The hotel is very nice and clean. Front desk are helpful subject to the person you end up speaking with. The best thing is the breakfast and the patio view in the morning.
We had two young children, 10 & 12 and this hotel is not ideal for this age group. The swimming pool area is small and no jumping or diving is allowed. Furthermore when swimming and you splash water as you normally do it will annoy people sitting on the sides. Very uncomfortable environmnet. To add to this formalities, all waiters are wearing black overalls in this hot weather and felt sorry for them. My kids were scared to use the pool as they will be told off by staff and guests.
The gym is nice and quiet. Very adequate I must say and did use it 4 times. The only issues I had on the last day when no gym towels were available and when I asked for some they simply told me that (if nothing is available then nothing we can do !!!).
The real issue for us was e quality of the room (103) and the shower. I couldn't believe how can this be acceptable in such a hotel specially we did pay quite a bit for the rooms. The shower was tiny but that can be lived with. The shower doors are a temporary piece of plastic and won't close. Water is all over the bathroom and the drain can cope with the water flow. Kept turning on and off the water to let the dirty water flow out.....hrrr. On top of that it was full of lime scales all over the shower. Very annoying specially we reported this upon our arrival but nothing was rectified.
They try hard but only on the surface really. We asked for connected rooms but we were told they were not available so we ended up with room 102 and 103. Towards the end we realised that the next room 101 is connected to 102 and even can share the same entrance. We booked 5 months before our arrival and surely they could have accommodated this simple request.
Last but not least, on night 7 the fire alarm went off at 4.40am with no clue what to do. We called the reception and they said it was a false alarm but took them a good 45mins to sort it out. It did ruin our night sleep. I was expecting an apology note explaining what went wrong but nothing was available of this sort.
I think this hotel is ideal of a. Ouple for couple of days no more nd be prepared to pay premiums for everything. It is about 15mins walk to Rapallo and it's up and down hill. We had a hire car so didn't walk too many times.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilali65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Kindest Guests,

we would like, first of all, to thank You for spending time in reviewing our Hotel; we are happy You could enjoy the cleanliness and the Staff kindness.

On the other hand we are very sorry You can even imagine we are not "Child friendly" as, like in these weeks we are taking care about many children; we have to set well behavior rules in respect of everybody, as we want and need all Guests to be happy in the Hotel, and in the pool area, and no one Guest is expecting to be annoyed by other Guests. You should know that "no diving" rules are established by European law, in order to avoid accident (so in the full interest of Your children).

Regarding uniforms, usually, depending on Hotel categories, waiters has to wear black color and textile fabrics we provide are appropriate.
We strongly doubt about the lack of towels answer, but I am happy to apologize anyway.

We are sorry to contradict You as the indicated rooms are non connecting, but just next door, as the ones assigned.

Fire night alarm: it was due to a couple of rooms on different floors that switched on a cigarette on the bed under the fire sensor. A technical misundestanding between the junction boxes, prevented us switching it off immediately. Very sorry for that, and I think I personally apologize and give You an explanation in the Lobby, the following day.

You could think the Hotel is more suitable to couples, but we think (and all our Guests) we are suitable to everyone who wants to enjoy a relaxing vacation in a magic atmosphere, in full respect of all the other Guests, who keep in privileging our House.

Thanking You for the attention payed, we wish You all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

The Grand Bristol Hotel was luxury itself, with a nostalgic twist to it. Apart from the room we stayed in needing a serving of serious maintainance (Wobbly furniture, no lamp light bulb, sticking french door and not enough hot water pressure) the service was first class. The sea view from our room was wonderful. Breakfast was Fabulous, with the sea view and an excellent choice of cereals, fruit, bread and pastries. The staff were very friendly, especially the breakfast staff.
Rapallo was lovely with lots of things to do and easy access to the neighbouring resorts, by boat, bus (or 3 mile walk to Santa Margherita Liguria). The walk into rapallo was ok, as we didn't mind working off the breakfast, but the shuttle bus service needs to start earlier and finish later. 10-2pm was just too limiting!!!
Overall though, we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Kindest Guest,

thank You for spending time in writing about Your experience at the Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa.

We owe You, and we like to give You some explanations about water pressure and french doors. Even if the Hotel has very modern plants, we actually are almost always completely booked and sometimes Guests are taking shower or using water at the same time; but the situation return all of a sudden back to normality. About french doors we are compelled to preserve the Liberty style facade and to keep the wooden doors till the end of this year; a complete renovation of the outside doors is already in project.

We are delighted You had enjoyed Your stay, which is our main goal, and the service as well as the faboulous sea view breakfast.

We treasure Your comment as any of our Guest' s comments in order to improve.

We wish You all the best, and we hope to have the pleasure in welcoming You back in our Tigullio Gulf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosendaal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Our first time at the Italian Rivera and it seemed that Grand Hotel Bristol in Rapallo was a wonderful choive. When we arrived in Rapallo we liked what we saw, charming city, not too big but full of live. Very good food in the local restaurants and our Hotel was situated just perfect. From the room a wonderful vieuw on the sea welcomed us every morning. We made a trip on the boot a long the coast to Portofino and also had some morning walks down the hill from the Hotel into the city market. Very charming!

Room Tip: most rooms have the vieuw on the sea, but to be sure ask about it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Kindest Guests,

we would like to thank You, first of all, for taking time in reviewing our Grand Hotel Bristol Reort & Spa.

We are so proud we have been choosen for Your "Ligurian baptism", and to be considered a wonderful choice; delighted You had appreciated the breathtaking view form Your room and the surroundings.

Our charming Hotel and the Tigullio area are ready to welcome You back, soon; in the meantime, we wish You all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed in Hotel Bristol for two full weeks.We arrived by air so we did not have a car to our disposal.This was no problem 15 min walk or we used the bus (stop in front of the hotel)to Rapallo and station.Trains, boats and busses were easy to use,and we visited lots of places.
The room in our hotel was great airy and nicely decorated,with a fantastic view and a balcony.It would be nice to have two small folding chairs,so you could sit on your balcony.
The restaurant Coupole was of high quality and the view is breathtaking.Breakfast was good,the selection to choose from was enough.
The pool area is not so big (the pool is)so it is important that the rule no diving is implemented.This was overall not the case,we and our books were splashed at several occasions ,also the guests with teenage children were overtaking the pool lots of times,making a lot of noise and diving so we could not go for a swim.If parents choose to go to a 4 star hotel with there children .they should consider,that they are not alone!!If the parent fail to show some respect for the other guests,the pool assistant should say something about it.
We had a great holiday and enjoyed the area very much.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Dearest Guests,

thank You for time spent in reviewing our Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa.

We are delighted in receiving such positive comment from a "long staying" Guests; very happy You had enjoyed Your vacation, the accommodation, the Restaurant's quality and the breakfast.

Thank You also for the appreciated comment regarding our Staff as concrete service is our primary goal.

I feel to apologize for the splash in the pool, as usually even the few children who are in Hotel, behave with good manners.

Looking forward welcoming You again, we wish all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#5 of 29 in Rapallo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Address: Via Aurelia Orientale, 369, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning views, amazing service in one of the most beautiful corner in the world, Tigullio Gulf.In a 1908 Belle Epoque Hotel, completely refurbished, the atmosphere is always happy, colours are light, Staff is smiling.Perfect spot to visit Cinque Terre, Forte dei Marmi, Portofino, Genova and the entire Riviera Ligure.Amazing food, local and international, Staff attentive and pleased to be useful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rapallo
Nh Hotels Rapallo
Grand Hotel Bristol Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing